We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fan of the Borg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA, USA
1 review
“Fan of the Borg”
Reviewed February 17, 2009

My daughter won an all-expenses paid trip to iceland. It was a promotion. We were put up at the Borg.

Our rooms were gorgeous. One of them had a fabulous jacuzzi tub (great after horsebackriding!). The beds were comfortable. King size with two separate duvets so no fighting over covers!

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, from the front desk to Housekeeping. They knew we were not paying our way and they still treated us like the highest paying of guests.

The breakfast buffet was sumptuous. Something for every taste under the sun. From cereals, fresh fruit, and yogurt all the way to pates, smoked fish, fancy cheeses, bacon, eggs, and sausages. Aside from mini croissants and mini chocolate croissants, there was a sinfully delicious multi-grain bread always freshly baked with the perfect crustiness on top.

My one complaint was room service. Too tired after a busy day to venture out again, we ordered room service and were bitterly disappointed. Oh, it looked pretty enough, a lot of care taken to make presentation make up for the lack of substance. Cheeses, fruit and sad sad sad soggy white slice toasted bread. We shared what was meant to be a dish for one at the cost of $36! Ironically the coffee we got with room service was far better than the breakfast coffee. Probably made in the dining room where the espresso machines are!

Even so, if I come back to Iceland on my own dime, I will no doubt stay at the Borg again!
OOhAh

  • Liked — The room was lovely, the bed comfortable, the duvets cloudy and comfy, the shower head divine!
  • Disliked — Room service fare and cost, and bad bathroom sink design. Water splashes all over the place.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OohAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    422
    122
    49
    27
See reviews for
181
531
68
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife and I (both 39 years old / no children) had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Borg during a weekend trip from New York. We arrived early on the overnight flight and had no problems checking immediately into the room (bus from airport then switch to a van on to the hotel). Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Comfortable bed, nice linens, heated floor in the bathroom along with heated towel racks.

Very centrally located - bars and restaurants are literally around the corner.

The breakfast was average and overpriced as other reviewers have noted - we ate there once. There must be 15 places to eat within a 5 minute walk.

Another reviewer noted the lack of parking. We did not have a car (absolutely no problem) but the hotel is located on a central square and there seemed to be many places on the streets in the area (do not know the parking rules / etiquette), though admittedly less convenient than hotel parking.

We would recommend this hotel to a friend and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean and Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Hotel Borg is situated in the center area of Reykjavik. The rooms are big, clean and nice, but the reception area is small and the service at the time of my stay could have been better. At night you must be prepared for quite a lot of noice from the night club.
Great restaurant though.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holsfjorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We just returned from a six night break at Hotel Borg and had a VERY memorable experience.

ROOM: Our Room was a standard double facing over the Square - third floor. We note that several reviews mention problems with noise from the various Bars that line the Square (Cafe Paris, English Pub etc) but we did not encounter any problems, despite it being the festive season. Reykjavik certainly likes to party late at the weekends (there were still lots of people in the Square at 5am last Sunday morning) but it wasn't overly noisy.

We read some notes about the temperature in the rooms. We didn't have any such issues, despite it being mid-December. There is no thermostat in the room, and occasionally we would have liked to turn the heat up a notch, but it it was pretty much bang-on most of the time.

TV - We had BBC1, Sky News and (bizarrely) ITV2. Really didn't expect to be watching Gavin and Stacey and Doctor Who Xmas specials while out there, but hey..

Most Reykjavik Hotels (there aren't many..) are functional and look a bit sterile - but Hotel Borg was the most attractive building of the lot. It's a converted 1920's Art Deco structure.

LOCATION: We had initially considered the Hilton Nordica but decided to go for Hotel Borg due to it's central location. We were very glad that we did - perfect, best location in Reykjavik and close to all Restaurants, Shopping and Museums in the Centre of town.

Close proximity to Cafe Paris on the corner (recommended for Breakfast/Lunch) and a Supermarket next to the Post Office came in useful.

STAFF: Were always really helpful throughout the day and night. It was definitely 24-hour service.

FOOD: Room Service had a limited menu but food was of a high standard. We tried the Silfur Restaurant downstairs (related to the nearby Seafood Cellar) and had a very enjoyable experience. The Maitre De was a tad miserable, but could have been that he was having to work over Christmas..

Nearby Restaurants that we tried and recommend - all within 10 minutes of Hotel Borg..

*Silfur - downstairs in Hotel Borg

*Seafood Cellar - best meal in Reykjavik - essential

*Einar Ben - traditional Icelandic food, classic restaurant (enjoyed the Christmas Traditional Menu on Boxing Day) - essential

*Indian Mango - OK (though there are a couple of other rated Indian restaurants nearby..)

*Hornid - inexpensive but reliable Pizza/Italian food on Posthussstraet. Barely a 2 minute walk when take a right out of reception. Quick easy meal.

Hotel Borg reception booked these for us.

EXCURSIONS: Reception can arrange these for you - but we arrived in Reykjavik already armed with our choice of excursions and operator. We were very happy with the service of Reykjavik Excursions (including their FlyBus service..very smoothly delivered transport from Hotel to BSI Bus Terminal to Hotel) who would arrange a Hotel pick-up for each excursion.

We did the Golden Circle, Northern Lights and Blue Lagoon trips - all essential.

Other walking trips - took a 30 minute walk down to the Hallgrimskirkja Church (you can't miss it) and over to Perlan - with it's Saga Museum and revolving restaurant. Grab a snack at Cafe Loki opposite the Church for it's homemade Icelandic food - great Herring and Eggs on Soda Bread.

Do check-out the Reyjavik 871+/-2 museum for the 'Long Hall' - it's 2 minutes walk from Hotel Borg on Adalstreti.

Take a walk down by the harbour on a clear day - stunning views of the peak Esja across the sea.

Our December visit limited us on some excursions - there were barely 6 hours of light each day.

Would we return to Borg? Certainly, if staying in Reykjavik again - but having seen most of this relatively small city we would probably venture into the interior or up to Stykissholmur on a future visit.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Strippel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Borg. Totally elegant, chic, modern, old, all of the above. The rooms are nicely appointed, try and get a room with the “square” view. You WILL NOT regret staying here. The staff is very welcoming and helpful; the location is in the middle of everything. We actually looked forward to coming back to the room, after a day out.
The breakfast buffet in the morning was fine, enough to hold you over till lunch. They had breads, cereals, cheese, hams, sausage, eggs, fruits, yogurts, and juices.
The Silfur Bar has to be seen. It’s deep dark colours have a very burlesque feeling.

We definitely NOT disappointed

  • Liked — Decor, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spunge411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musicben
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

This is a great Art Deco place with a lot of character.
I was especially fond of the Christmas buffet dinners that they lay on.
Definetly the place to stay in Reykjavik if your wallet can stretch to it.

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
Thank musicben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My husband and I and another couple recently stayed at The Borg for 5 nights. We loved the location - right on the square near lots of restaurants and clubs. It does get a bit noisy on weekends late at night if you face the front but with the windows closed it was not too bad. It did get a little warm with the windows closed and we never located the thermostat. The rooms are very sleek and updated, and ours (on the 4th floor) was very spacious and comfortable (except they have a closet and two shelves but no dresser). The Breakfast buffet was adequate- breads, fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal, and eggs and bacon.. We weren't thrilled with the housekeeping service -- you have to ask for extra towels and there is no turndown service. The daytime concierge was quite helpful with getting reservations at restaurants and making calls for us to confirm our expeditions. I would recommend you eat at FishMarket and Orange restaurant and try the tasting menus. THey were very special meals.

  • Liked — Location and style
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
360 reviews
Miõborg
101 hotel
101 hotel
#43 of 52 in Reykjavik
455 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,606 reviews
Hotel Holt
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,010 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Property: Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified and imposing, Hotel Borg overlooks the beautiful square of Austurvöllur, in the heart of Reykjavík, across from Althingi, the Icelandic parliament and the cathedral. The Borg, which has become one of Reykjavik's landmarks, is conveniently located within walking distance of variety of restaurants, businesses, art galleries and specialty shops. The hotel's 99 rooms and suites, with Art Deco style throughout, are elegantly appointed yet offer an extensive array of modern amenities. Enjoy a drink or cocktail in the hotel bar. Relax in the sauna, steam bath or hot pool. Massages and treatments available by appointment. Full service gym with free weights, state-of-the art treadmill, exercise bike, rowing machine, and more is available for guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borg by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing