We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, comfortable, convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located near restaurants, shops and other attractions. The staff was extremely KNOWLEDGABLE, helpful in booking tours and transportation and were friendly throughout. The rooms were surprising large for Europe, with comfortable beds, nice showers, room safe large enough for a laptop (and with an outlet in it). The breakfast buffet was very nice, but a bit pricey.

On a vaguely related note, EVERYBODY we met in Reykjavik was friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Borg by Keahotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

A well preserved art deco hotel, carefully modernised, beautifully designed down to small details like the headboards of beds, with all amenities you would expect, centrally located on Austurvöllur and so within easy walking distance to the old town, the port and the shopping and entertainment areas. Breakfast is buffet-style in the restaurant (which otherwise was closed during our stay, unfortunately), quite a good choice with some Icelandic specialities including cod liver oil and excellent skyr. Reception and concierge were friendly but in a Scandinavian sort of way, that is to say even though we had a large number of suitcases and bags no one offered any assistance. Never mind - we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. The concierge was helpful with arranging tours as well. Free (and pretty good) wi-fi.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms looking out onto the square are best; traffic notwithstanding our room was quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamburgguy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night, and barring an incident with an allergy (more our fault than the hotel's), it was thouroghly enjoyable. The art deco design was eye catching and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were very luxurious and spacious- we particularly liked the addition of the sliding door into the parents' room! The food was exquisite, and well deserving of its high status, but the pudding clearly had nuts in where we had forewarned the staff- this put a considerable downer on the trip, but it was by no means entirely the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I love the look of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Even before I arrived they helped me by organizing tours. The location is great for walking around. I would love to go back. Really, one of my favorite all time hotels.

Room Tip: Do not book a small single room. Too tiny by American standards. The next step up is lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location was superb, but then that is the case for most downtown hotels since the main attractions and restaurants are all within walking distance.

The room was spacious, clean and kept so by the housekeeping. The minibar was either broken or switched off because all the beverages were warm. I also did not manage to lock the safe so I suppose it was faulty as well. Since I had no use for either of the equipment I did not complain, so I have no idea how the staff had responded in case I had asked to fix the minibar and the safe.

Apart from the breakfast, the hotel no other services. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, it costs extra ISK 2800 per person, day. If you want to fix your own breakfast, there is a small store selling food open 24h just round the corner.

I checked all the usual booking sites for a reasonable rate. To my surprise, CWT Kaleva (Finland) had the best deal for accommodation + airfare.

P.S For transfer from/to Keflavik, you may want to consider Gray Lines (www.airportexpress.is), as their terminal is less than 100 meters from the hotel. In case you use the apparently more popular Flybus, you need to change to/from coach to a minibus at the BSI bus terminal.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Welcome to Reykjavik's well-located zero-service hotel, where the Art Deco stylings are quite attractive and the 1 or 2 customer-facing staff on duty don't do much. This is a boutique hotel so we can forgive the absence of a doorman, but there's no hint of luggage assist upon check-in or turn-down service here despite its four-star status and price. Should you have need for an extra towel, expect to be challenged and then wait over an hour. If you request ice, call the front desk to inquire again after 30 minutes, because they will have forgotten about it. Don't leave important written messages for fellow guests, because they will neither be delivered to the room nor handed out when those guests drop off or pick up their room keys. Upon arrival at the breakfast buffet the grace-less greeting consists of "room number?" Don't expect inquiries into your satisfaction or needs here. This is a hotel that makes customers feel like they are a bother, so unlike all our other service experiences (hotel, restaurant and touring) on this trip.

Room Tip: There's a big and noisy construction project going on at the rear of hotel, so bring earplugs if...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jordancorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice room and great accessibility to the town. They have fantastic bacon and you will enjoy breakfast there with a great variety.
It is near café and bars just downstairs and it can be pretty noisy at night when windows are not closed fully.

The room is very comfortable and the bath tub is quite big for 1 person. Good for soaking in the slightly sulphuric water for a faux hotspring experience.

Take a walk and head to the harbour area. Find your way to Sea Baron Restaurant for a perfect lunch /tea / dinner. We strongly recommend the Lobstersoup and the Halibut. You can also find convenient stores and many food joints near hotel Borg. Café Paris is also quite good and it’s just downstairs!

Room Tip: Facing the park is nice but the cafe downstairs may be quite noisy
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
397 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Holt
#10 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $256 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified and imposing, Hotel Borg overlooks the beautiful square of Austurvöllur, in the heart of Reykjavík, across from Althingi, the Icelandic parliament and the cathedral. The Borg, which has become one of Reykjavik's landmarks, is conveniently located within walking distance of variety of restaurants, businesses, art galleries and specialty shops. The hotel's 99 rooms and suites, with Art Deco style throughout, are elegantly appointed yet offer an extensive array of modern amenities. Enjoy a drink or cocktail in the hotel bar. Relax in the sauna, steam bath or hot pool. Massages and treatments available by appointment. Full service gym with free weights, state-of-the art treadmill, exercise bike, rowing machine, and more is available for guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borg by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing