We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$193
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$282
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$194
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$285
$261
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$376
$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$282
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
$317
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$250
$207
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,297)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveler rating
561
496
145
65
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
496
145
65
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decooverlooking the squarenew wingbeautiful hotelcafe parisparliament buildingperfect locationroom was largeearly hoursunderfloor heatingthe heart of the citybreakfast buffetwithin easy walking distancerestaurants and barscentral reykjavikblackout curtainsblue lagoon
Filter
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 1,297 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I love the look of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Even before I arrived they helped me by organizing tours. The location is great for walking around. I would love to go back. Really, one of my favorite all time hotels.

Room Tip: Do not book a small single room. Too tiny by American standards. The next step up is lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location was superb, but then that is the case for most downtown hotels since the main attractions and restaurants are all within walking distance.

The room was spacious, clean and kept so by the housekeeping. The minibar was either broken or switched off because all the beverages were warm. I also did not manage to lock the safe so I suppose it was faulty as well. Since I had no use for either of the equipment I did not complain, so I have no idea how the staff had responded in case I had asked to fix the minibar and the safe.

Apart from the breakfast, the hotel no other services. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, it costs extra ISK 2800 per person, day. If you want to fix your own breakfast, there is a small store selling food open 24h just round the corner.

I checked all the usual booking sites for a reasonable rate. To my surprise, CWT Kaleva (Finland) had the best deal for accommodation + airfare.

P.S For transfer from/to Keflavik, you may want to consider Gray Lines (www.airportexpress.is), as their terminal is less than 100 meters from the hotel. In case you use the apparently more popular Flybus, you need to change to/from coach to a minibus at the BSI bus terminal.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Welcome to Reykjavik's well-located zero-service hotel, where the Art Deco stylings are quite attractive and the 1 or 2 customer-facing staff on duty don't do much. This is a boutique hotel so we can forgive the absence of a doorman, but there's no hint of luggage assist upon check-in or turn-down service here despite its four-star status and price. Should you have need for an extra towel, expect to be challenged and then wait over an hour. If you request ice, call the front desk to inquire again after 30 minutes, because they will have forgotten about it. Don't leave important written messages for fellow guests, because they will neither be delivered to the room nor handed out when those guests drop off or pick up their room keys. Upon arrival at the breakfast buffet the grace-less greeting consists of "room number?" Don't expect inquiries into your satisfaction or needs here. This is a hotel that makes customers feel like they are a bother, so unlike all our other service experiences (hotel, restaurant and touring) on this trip.

Room Tip: There's a big and noisy construction project going on at the rear of hotel, so bring earplugs if you expect daytime naps.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jordancorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice room and great accessibility to the town. They have fantastic bacon and you will enjoy breakfast there with a great variety.
It is near café and bars just downstairs and it can be pretty noisy at night when windows are not closed fully.

The room is very comfortable and the bath tub is quite big for 1 person. Good for soaking in the slightly sulphuric water for a faux hotspring experience.

Take a walk and head to the harbour area. Find your way to Sea Baron Restaurant for a perfect lunch /tea / dinner. We strongly recommend the Lobstersoup and the Halibut. You can also find convenient stores and many food joints near hotel Borg. Café Paris is also quite good and it’s just downstairs!

Room Tip: Facing the park is nice but the cafe downstairs may be quite noisy
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great hotel, room was very spacious and bed was comfortable! Loved the decor. The heating was easy to turn on and off and heated the large room very well. Staff on front desk made it easy to arrange all our tours and excursions for the week. Ate in the borg restaurant one night and it was gorgeous (a lot better than the Grillmarkadurin restaurant). Only downside was noise from nearby bars; this didn't bother us but might be an issue for light sleepers

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews