We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review of Borg Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We rented rooms for three nights, including the night before we arrived at 6:30 am, so that we would have a place to get some sleep the morning we arrived. They put us in rooms next to an adjoining building where construction was taking place, so that we got no sleep. They were unable or unwilling to move us. This construction was not notified on their website when we made reservations. The construction continued for our entire stay, starting fairly early in the morning. There is also a great deal of noise at night in the square in front of the hotel from people visiting the restaurants and bars in the area. The rooms were spacious and nice. It has an excellent location. The front desk staff was not very friendly.

Room Tip: I would ask about construction. Rooms on the front of the hotel facing the square are noisy at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Can't say enough about the front office staff, just wonderful. I checked in at last minute as I hated hotel I had reserved. They were able to give me two nights but were booked for 3 night. They helped me find hotel for 3 night, without me asking. Hotels here are often fully booked. Room large airy , comply beds, I was sorry to leave

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0rinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our suite had a beautiful view over the square. The finishes/furniture/bathroom were very high quality. The art deco style of everything was unique.

This is a small hotel by US standards. There is no gym.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the park, higher up if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunsd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at the Borg Hotel for two days and was so impressed with the service I got on my arrival. I had left a bracelet at airport security and I asked if they would call. The woman called, located my jewellery and made arrangements for their driver to pick it up. Within an hour I had it back. Thank you Rekal.
The hotel room was very comfortable, the bed was great, it was clean and the shower was wonderful and was in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you want to stay in a boutique type hotel in the heart of town this is the place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, great location and breakfast included. Short walk to the Harbor, Flea market, great restaurants and downtown shopping. Down side, no parking and can get noisy on the weekend from the bars and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor, can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at the Borg Hotel - hotel is stylish, with friendly staff and very well situated with many rooms overlooking the pretty square. The room we had was a huge suite with very comfortable bed and sitting area, large lobby area, spotless bathroom with bath tub and wet room/shower and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast had good choice of hot and cold food , with prompt and efficient service. The restaurant was closed during our stay, and there is a bar next door which is connected to the hotel. There is some building work nearby that will be going on for some time, but the noise did not bother us at all, and the hotel will also be undergoing some improvements, to be completed by 2015, including more rooms, a gym and sauna, mainly at the back of the hotel,so it may be best to ask for rooms overlooking the square. Would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a 5 night stay in this hotel and although it had many positive points in terms of location, it's decor and the quality of the rooms and we also thought breakfast was good too although a little more choice would be good.
Our main gripe that during our stay this was basically a B&B, no concierge , no room service, no bar but we paid a hotel rate. Their is a bar/restaurant next to the hotel which I think is part of it but you can't access it from the hotel nor does it fit in with its overall decor. When we stayed the website was not advertising the restaurant was closed.
Also, like the previous review we had an issue with the drilling from the hotel net door, although our room (402) was one room separated from the noise. We weren't overly bothered by it but the hotels misinformation said it would finish at 6 and no work at the weekend, on both counts they were wrong.
The room we had was lovely with big windows overlooking the square and all modern facilities, we were not effected by outside noise.
Iceland and reykjavik are magnificent and hopefully we will return but not sure if we will stay at the Borg.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank grinch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
418 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,843 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $260 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified and imposing, Hotel Borg overlooks the beautiful square of Austurvöllur, in the heart of Reykjavík, across from Althingi, the Icelandic parliament and the cathedral. The Borg, which has become one of Reykjavik's landmarks, is conveniently located within walking distance of variety of restaurants, businesses, art galleries and specialty shops. The hotel's 99 rooms and suites, with Art Deco style throughout, are elegantly appointed yet offer an extensive array of modern amenities. Enjoy a drink or cocktail in the hotel bar. Relax in the sauna, steam bath or hot pool. Massages and treatments available by appointment. Full service gym with free weights, state-of-the art treadmill, exercise bike, rowing machine, and more is available for guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Borg by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing