We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is situated very centrally to everything i.e. the local harbour, restaurants, town centre and bars etc.

We stayed there for 5 nights including the weekend and agree with other reviews in that the room we had was very warm despite turning down the radiator. We had a room overlooking the square which is very nice but due to the room being too warm, had to open the windows. Unfortunately the local nightlife can also be heard with loud music pumping out till 3 or 4 in the morning, so the windows had to be closed again!

We declined on the offer of the breakfast which was €18 p/p. There is a very good cafe called Laundromat just a minute down the road for breakfast.

Room was large with heated bathroom floors and cleaned daily with free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgetheseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    412
    118
    47
    27
See reviews for
179
514
65
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked a suite here (room 314) for 2 nights at the end of our 5 day trip to Iceland having spent 3 nights at Hotel Ranga (see separate review). The trip was a celebration of my wife's birthday. I mentioned this on my notes to the hotel when I made the booking and whilst one shouldn't expect anything for free from a hotel, I admit to being slightly disappointed that there was note even a card of congratulations or mention of it when we checked in.

Parking - the hotel doesn't have any formal parking, however it is possible to park right outside the hotel, where there are probably about 10 spaces. However, the parking is metered and is only free from about 6pm to 10am weekdays (not sure about weekends). Outside of those times, it is roughly £1.25 per hour. The parking charges are different depending upon location. The hotel area is 'P1', but only a short walk away, you will find 'P2' parking, which is about half the price. Anyway, not a huge problem at all, but worth knowing. Back to the hotel......

The hotel is beautiful in design. It dates from the 1930s and has been very nicely restored in recent years and there are lovely Art Deco touches throughout. Our room was large with a seating area, desk and of course bed. There is a small lobby area to store the luggage and wardrobe space including mini bar (with room for one or two of your own small drinks) and safe. The bathroom was great with nice bath and lovely walk-in shower. Toiletries were good,but nothing special. Again the room has lovely Art Deco features, but still has a lovely modern feel. 

The room overlooked the square, which was nice and although I had some concerns about potential noise, the double glazing fitted to the windows works well and although there was some raucousness from a nearby pub, it really didn't bother us at all. It may be a little different on lower floors or maybe in the Summer, if you need to keep the windows open for fresh air. Having a view from the window also turned out to be very lucky because on our first night, the sky cleared (for the first time at night) and we saw the Northern Lights for well over an hour. The windows don't open fully, but they opened enough for us to take lots of pictures, and avoid stepping out into the cold at 1am in the morning!

There is a Bang & Olufson TV and music system. Neither had very good reception, so although they looked nice, I wouldn't rely on them, if you intend to stay in the room a lot. We didn't use the TV very much so it wasn't a problem for us.

The hotel, like most of Iceland (I hear) had immediate free Wi-Fi - no passwords or hassle.

There are coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

There are a few negatives about the hotel:

1. The breakfast isn't great considering it is €18 each. The range of options is ok, but we've had much better and my recommendation would be to go to Cafe Paris or other places very near by and have breakfast there instead.
2. After a long day travelling, we decided on having room service on our first night. There wasn't a menu in the room. We called for one and were advised that there wasn't a menu in English (being printed apparently), but someone from room service did come up and run through he options available, which were limited, because there was a problem with the kitchen. When the food did arrive, it was actually pretty good, although there was an extra charge for it which we weren't advised of.
3. Housekeeping - although our bed was made and the towels changed, I wasn't convinced that the room was properly cleaned after our first night. Our plates etc from room service the first night were still there along with the crumbs! I also had the feeling that the bathroom only got a very light going over, rather than a proper clean. When we asked for someone to come up to clean the room service away, they do so and cleaned up the area. No apology.
4. We were considering trying the restaurant in the hotel, but it was closed for refurbishment.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and the points above didn't detract hugely, although for a 4 star hotel, they are disappointing. I do think that they need to hire more or better quality staff - it just seemed a little light on quality and attentiveness, especially given how much we paid.

I'm rating this hotel 4 out of 5 because of location, style and quality of room and probably a little extra because we saw the Northern Lights from our room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPEXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We recently had two 1-night stays at Hotel Borg. The first night we had a small room with a large bed, and the second night they were overbooked so we ended up in a suite! The small room was cramped but adequate for two, typical size for a European room. The suite was very large, with two easy chairs, a desk, B&O TV and stereo system, large closet and large bathroom. Both rooms had bathrooms with heated floors and towel warmers (a nice touch in the winter). I agree that it was tricky to set the radiators to get the room temperature right. Both rooms were very quiet. The buffet breakfast was typical of all the ones we had in Iceland, but once we discovered skyr and Icelandic butter (smjor) we were hooked. We were within a couple of blocks of the main restaurant/tourist district in Reykjavik, which was very convenient. Overall we had two enjoyable stays, and we would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great 4* hotel in a fantastic location. Restaurants and bars are all within walking distance.
The recepion staff were very friendly. We paid extra for the buffet breakfast and for the cost I didnt think it was worth it to be honest. I like to have a wide selection to choose from, but it was very limited. Not what I expected at all.
We booked the 08:15 Iceland Air return flight home and asked the hotel to provide us with a breakfast box, seeing as we would miss breakfast and had already paid for it.
I wish I hadnt bothered, it consisted of a ham and cheese sandwich, a huge orange, a small pot of warm fresh yogurt and a carton of orange juice. These are things you don't really want to be eating this early in the morning. This was a bit of a let down to say the least!

I also wasn't impressed that I had emailed the hotel prior to visiting to mention we were celebrating a special birthday whilst away and the reason for our trip, and they replied advising a bottle of sparkling wine will be in the room for us.... This was not waiting for us, nor any other day of our stay.

I agree with other reviewers that the rooms are too hot! You can turn the thermostat down, but it really didnt seem to make a difference. It was very uncomfortable sleeping in such a warm room.
For a 4* hotel I would have expected a complimentary small bottle of water on the bedside cabinet, but this wasnt offered at all. If you wanted this from the mini bar it would cost you ISK500 (approx £3.00).

I would be careful using the elevator up to your room, there isn't actually an internal door to the lift. This surely must be a health and safety issue!

I was very happy with the room, bathroom and the comfort of the bed, the view was nice - overlooking Asuturvollur Square.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Borg Hotel. After dropping off other holidaymakers on different excursions we went on, I definitely think this is one of the best in Reykjavik!
We would definitely return to this hotel if we were ever to go back to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Room 303 - overlooking 'Asuturvollur' Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELWilko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in room 118 at the Hotel Borg. It was a nice room. The room they initially put me in was large enough for a twin bed and that's it. I was happy they were able to put in a larger room.
The staff was sometimes friendly and sometime rude. It made me nervous going to the front desk, I didn't know how they would react to a question.
I realize I paid a lot of money to stay here for the location, which was just amazing. But the cost did not seem equal for the rest of the amenities.
Overall, it was a nice hotel. If you stay there, just plan to only use the front desk for checking in and out. Don't bother them with questions about where to go for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenHouston1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you are looking for luxury in Reykjavik, Hotel Borg will undoubtedly be one of your options. The hotel radiates style & character and is perfectly situated in Austurvöllur square, close to Tjörnin (a lake that, if you visit in the winter, will be frozen enough to walk across), the harbour and shops of the old town.

We stayed in a Superior room for two nights mid-week. Whilst it was clear that the hotel management had made efforts to sound-proof the rooms - the extra window glazing and sound-proof door proved very valuable - there was no way to block out the sound from the room above us. Unfortunately we stayed below a couple who felt the need to walk around in shoes on the wooden floor throughout the early hours! Not entirely the hotel's fault, but it did affect our sleep quality. More significant was the lingering smoke smell in our room. We were reassured that all rooms were non-smoking and so either the rules were disobeyed by the previous guest, or having a room directly above the hotel entrance was not necessarily to our advantage.

The breakfast selection and quality was fantastic and I cannot fault the hotel's attention to detail. Perhaps a room on a higher level would have improved our stay. We were lucky enough to witness the Northern Lights vividly outside the hotel, so don't think that staying in the city will necessarily prevent you from witnessing the spectacle - remember to look up!

Room Tip: Front-facing rooms offer a lovely view of the square and if you are staying midweek, should not make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ixorias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for a week, large room, everything worked and it was very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The location was excellent, lots of fabulous restaurants nearby.
Only downside was that it was a bit noisy at night from the bars in the square.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velvet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Miõborg
101 hotel
101 hotel
#43 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Property: Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified and imposing, Hotel Borg overlooks the beautiful square of Austurvöllur, in the heart of Reykjavík, across from Althingi, the Icelandic parliament and the cathedral. The Borg, which has become one of Reykjavik's landmarks, is conveniently located within walking distance of variety of restaurants, businesses, art galleries and specialty shops. The hotel's 99 rooms and suites, with Art Deco style throughout, are elegantly appointed yet offer an extensive array of modern amenities. Enjoy a drink or cocktail in the hotel bar. Relax in the sauna, steam bath or hot pool. Massages and treatments available by appointment. Full service gym with free weights, state-of-the art treadmill, exercise bike, rowing machine, and more is available for guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borg by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing