We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location in Well Maintained 1930 Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location in Well Maintained 1930 Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Borg. The location is perfect with excellent walking distance to most restaurants, bars and shopping. I was a bit apprehensive because of other reviews regarding noise. However, of the four nights, I heard noise only one night and it did not keep me awake. The double paned windows really help mitigate the sound. The staff is professional and helpful with tour and/or airport arrangements. The art decco decor is quaint and well maintained. The bar area is nice but the staff is a bit stiff. One word of caution: Do not bother with the breakfast buffet. It is over-priced and not very good. Instead, walk directly across the street to the Cafe Paris for the best breakfast you'll have in Iceland...or anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    379
    112
    41
    27
See reviews for
160
469
63
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

While we really love the location, our room was disappointing. We were in room 302 and although it was larger than the first one they showed us, we did not like having to go up the decrepit old elevator. The room itself was pretty stark. Also, they need to do a better job at blackout curtains.
The staff in the restaurant was terrific, very personable and attentive.

Room Tip: Not sure how to choose a good room at the Borg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneMuntzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights during November and we had a lovely stay. We were in a deluxe room on the 5th floor, which was very comfortable and elegantly furnished in art deco style. The hotel is very conveniently located in central Reykjavik and its perfect base to explore the city where all the restaurants and shops are located. I was disappointed that a hotel in this price range should include breakfast as standard. When not included, one would expect something better than the standard continental breakfast because of the 18€ price tag. I also did experience a problem once home as the hotel double charged me a large bill (which had been settled in the hotel) by taking this out of my bank account before checking with me…it took almost three months between many emails and phone calls some of which were not returned before my account was refunded, so please be careful.

Room Tip: deluxe room very Spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddymay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. Hotel Borg is in a perfect location in downtown Rejkayvik. There are plenty of great restaurants and pubs within walking distance. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in the art deco style and the staff were very friendly. Parking on the street or right up the road in a big parking lot is very convenient since it is free overnight and you only have to pay at the meter from 10am on. Breakfast was very good as well although at 18 euro per person (unless you book a room that includes free breakfast) we did opt for the cheaper option of coffee and a Danish around the corner a few times

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsJitterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

So here's the deal. I recognize that this review will not be for everyone. In fact, if you are planning on visiting Reykjavik with your family or significant other or something like that, then The Borg Hotel will probably suit your purposes just fine, and you can stop reading this now.

If on the other hand you are single, visiting with friends, and interested in experiencing the highly-touted Reykjavik party scene by "mingling" with local ladies and/or fellas then DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES STAY AT THE BORG HOTEL!

The issue is this, the hotel has an unwritten policy about guests: IT DOESN'T ALLOW THEM. The problem with this policy, and specifically the fact that it is unwritten, is that, short of posts like this, you are unlikely to find out about it until you stumble through the doors of the hotel at 6am, arm in arm with the companion you met during the course of the evening's adventures, wearing the self-assured smile of someone who is undoubtedly on the home stretch. At that point you will be greeted - briskly I might add - by a burly front desk attendant, who will inform you in no uncertain terms that the person you have with you is not crossing the threshold.

At first you will assume he is joking, that won't last long. You will attempt to reason with this person, you will argue, bribe, threaten and eventually beg. None of it will do you any good. This singular individual will have the resolve of mule and the personality to match.

You may be reading this and thinking that this is just the disgruntled post of some guy who got c*ck-blocked by a desk attendant, and you know what? You're 100% correct. That has absolutely no bearing, however, on the fact that the information in this post is information I wish I'd had before I booked a room at The Borg.

Also, get down from Mount Pious and stop pretending that I am the only person who visited Iceland with more on his mind than glaciers and hot springs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank CT-1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herk-de-Stad, Limburg, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Right in the centre of Reykjavik, on the main square, this is the perfect taste of luxury before heading into the wilds of Iceland. Everything about it is excellent, if pricey - rooms, cocktails, breakfast. The staff are friendly and the bathrobes are fluffy and I'd recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Can be noisy on the side facing the square, although the windows are triple glazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to express how magnificent this hotel is - beautifully restored with Art Deco features and furniture that's achingly beautiful coupled with service of the very highest standards. This is the standard to stay by. Thankyou to all the staff and the terrific reception team.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kungfuchoirboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#11 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
CenterHotel Thingholt
#19 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#13 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Property: Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified and imposing, Hotel Borg overlooks the beautiful square of Austurvöllur, in the heart of Reykjavík, across from Althingi, the Icelandic parliament and the cathedral. The Borg, which has become one of Reykjavik's landmarks, is conveniently located within walking distance of variety of restaurants, businesses, art galleries and specialty shops. The hotel's 99 rooms and suites, with Art Deco style throughout, are elegantly appointed yet offer an extensive array of modern amenities. Enjoy a drink or cocktail in the hotel bar. Relax in the sauna, steam bath or hot pool. Massages and treatments available by appointment. Full service gym with free weights, state-of-the art treadmill, exercise bike, rowing machine, and more is available for guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Borg by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing