We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alternative Christmas”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having never been away for Christmas we chose Iceland and in particular Reykjavik for our break. We were not disappointed. The hotel Borg is in a fantastic location right on the main square and within walking distance to everything. Our room was lovely overlooking the square on the 4th floor. It was clean, warm and very pleasant, The staff in the hotel were always polite and happy to help. The only down sides to our trip were that we hadn't booked a meal on Christmas Eve and everything, and I mean everything, closes at 6pm Christmas Eve, and we still failed to see the Northern Lights. Apart from that we had an excellent time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior - its worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    422
    122
    49
    28
See reviews for
181
531
69
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

On our last night at Hotel Borg and just wanted to add to the many positive reviews already published. This hotel has a superb location within easy access of almost everything you will need. We were placed on the 5th floor(the top floor) as requested and found the room spacious and extremely clean. The hotel is only four stars, but if you are used to five stars you will probably only miss the room service. Great B&O tv and sound system and fantastic view over the square. We are in room 511 and if anything a little close to the lift which is a little noisy, and the windows don't open more than a quarter which I assume is for safety reasons. We arrived on a Saturday and I must admit that we could still hear the partying outside which has been written about often on many Reykjavik Hotel reviews but this is only one night, the rest has been very peaceful. The front desk staff are very pleasant and extremely helpful and if they don't know something they will find out and get back to you. Also compared to other hotels on this trip we found it extremely good value at 160 euro per night. A really good addition to the hotel is the free WiFi that most five star hotels around the world unbelievably still charge for.
THE BREAKFAST IS NOT INCLUDED and is VERY AVERAGE with a limited choice. You can find much better around the corner at half the price. If the hotel made the breakfast part of the accommodation expense and improved the quality of the selection then this would be a SENSATIONAL hotel and would have definitely received 5 stars.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice, large rooms in a boutiquey hotel in the best location! Nice staff. Great Breakfast! And,the hotel also has a great, fun beer bar as part of the hotel right downstairs. Only complaint, it was warm when we were in Iceland - yes, warm! And, we like the room cool at night and they don't have air conditioning (of course, I don't think anywhere in Iceland does) and they had trouble locating fans at first and when they did, they were pretty small an ineffective. Otherwise, great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrdNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Located at city centre, reykjavik was fun to explore due to my stay at Borg. The staff was courteous and ready to help all the time. Due to my hectic travelling, I always pressed them for tit bits at odd hours, but they also provided all the assistance with a smile. The food was excellent and restaurant was artfully decorated with a fireplace. The room was clean, spacious and bathrooms were big with all desried amenities. I had a great stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PravalUpadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A great hotel to stay at, we really enjoyed its city centre location which makes everything in Reykjavik within walking distance. The staff were lovely and provided excellent service. The bedroom was huge and very well furnished, making a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Hotel Borg for 3 nights in early December 2012. We arrived at about 8:00 AM, and the front desk kindly had our room available & upgraded us from a deluxe room to a junior suite (thank you!!!). Our room was on the 4th floor, and had a view of the square. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable, and we absolutely loved the seperate duvets. We would highly recommend Hotel Borg!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee-Marie1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a four night stay for our wedding anniversary at this wonderful Art Deco designed hotel. The furniture and fittings throughout the hotel were true to the era in every respect, from door handels, lift doors, lamps and hinges. The breakfasts were buffet style with both hot and cold options. We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the square and had no problem with noise ( the bars open until 5:00 on the weekends only). The staff were excellent and very friendly, I had the impression that Icelanders are naturally helpful and are exceptionally proud of their beautiful country. We had good weather during our stay but if you feel the cold you must dress in layers. The location is very central with all good bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PD_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
360 reviews
Miõborg
101 hotel
101 hotel
#43 of 52 in Reykjavik
455 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,607 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,012 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg by Keahotels

Property: Hotel Borg by Keahotels
Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg by Keahotels 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dignified and imposing, Hotel Borg overlooks the beautiful square of Austurvöllur, in the heart of Reykjavík, across from Althingi, the Icelandic parliament and the cathedral. The Borg, which has become one of Reykjavik's landmarks, is conveniently located within walking distance of variety of restaurants, businesses, art galleries and specialty shops. The hotel's 99 rooms and suites, with Art Deco style throughout, are elegantly appointed yet offer an extensive array of modern amenities. Enjoy a drink or cocktail in the hotel bar. Relax in the sauna, steam bath or hot pool. Massages and treatments available by appointment. Full service gym with free weights, state-of-the art treadmill, exercise bike, rowing machine, and more is available for guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borg by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing