We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$284
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$377
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$194
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$282
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$195
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$352
$319
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$299
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,297)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveler rating
561
496
145
65
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
496
145
65
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decooverlooking the squarenew wingbeautiful hotelcafe parisparliament buildingperfect locationroom was largeearly hoursunderfloor heatingthe heart of the citybreakfast buffetwithin easy walking distancerestaurants and barscentral reykjavikblackout curtainsblue lagoon
Filter
Updating list...
985 - 990 of 1,297 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Iceland was never on my list of places to go, but upon arrival here I knew I would love it. The hotel is in the middle of EVERYTHING. The staff and accommodations were great. The stores, restaurants and bars were all within walking distance. And walking is what you want to do. It's a great way to see the city. Even though we were there in February and the weather changes almost every 15 minutes, it was enjoyable walking around in a down coat and sometimes my hat which covered by ears! I didn't expect to love this place, but I do. I came home with such a nice feeling and now have a true warmth for the capital city. Enjoy yourself and expect to eat the best seafood in the world. Oh, also try the hot dogs....yes they are very good!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu2877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Excellent, central location. Close to bars & restaurants and easy walking to main parts of town. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Borg in every respect.

The hotel has been recently and stylishly re-vamped but retains Iceland's quintessential charm . Bedroom extremely comfortable, lovely restaurant with great food and service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The decor at the Hotel Borg is all fresh and new, yet it also has old-fashioned charm, with early 20th century design elements. If other rooms in this hotel are like the one I stayed in, you'd find extremely comfortable beds and a bathroom with a large, deep tub (perfect for people like me, who like to take baths), heated floors and heated towel racks. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. And the location couldn't be more perfect - being located in the city center, within easy walking distance to many fantastic shops, restaurants, bars, and touristy hot spots. (BTW - Reykjavik is a very walkable city.) I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTBeeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at the Borg Hotel this September, and the hotel is absolutely beautiful and in a perfect location. The beds were extremely comfy and the decor was stylish, the heated towel racks were great! The only beef was we stayed on a Saturday night and the drunk people were hollering outside our window until 5am! We did know about this before we booked, so I bought earplugs. Not that big a deal, it's great the hotel is right in the middle of town. Breakfast is buffet style, very large, but just OK.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in a suite for 1 night (29th January 2012). Check in was quite rushed; we weren't asked if we wanted our luggage taking to our room. It was noted that we'd not booked breakfast and were given details (7-10am) but as we were leaving for the airport at 5am, said we didn't want it. We were offered a breakfast bag for early departure but didn't clarify how much it was before agreeing to it. The next morning, our brekkie bags were waiting for us which consisted of a ham and cheese sandwich, an orange, small carton of apple juice (from concentrate) and a small yoghurt. The cost of each bag was 2,800kr (roughly £15 each) so I recommend you avoid this as it was definitely not worth the money.

We were also a little peeved by the note on the reception desk saying you could upgrade to the next room up for €20/night - wish we'd have known that as we'd pre-paid!

The hotel is Art Deco style throughout. Our room on the 4th floor (Rm 414) was spacious enough, parquet flooring in the room and under floor heating in the bathroom. The room could have done with a good airing; the smell was like it had been slept in for a week without any windows having ever been opened. Also, remember to lock your door when you leave the room as it doesn't lock behind you - we noticed only when we got back from our walk! We had a balcony which overlooked the square and the windows are quadruple glazed so you don't hear any noise from down below.

Good tip if driving as parking is free all day Sunday until 10am Monday morning so pull up to the hotel, unload your bags, then park on street where you can.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was fantastic. The highlight being the carrot cake dessert which had popping candy on it!! Like everywhere else in Iceland, the food and drink was expensive but was of a high standard.

Overall, a nice hotel and centrally located. I think the staff could have done a little better to justify the star rating

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews