We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$209
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$307
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$209
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$302
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$290
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$214
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$227
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$360
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$302
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$307
$269
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveler rating
561
496
145
65
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
496
145
65
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decooverlooking the squarenew wingbeautiful hotelcafe parisparliament buildingperfect locationroom was largeunderfloor heatingthe heart of the citybreakfast buffetwithin easy walking distancerestaurants and barscentral reykjavikblackout curtainsblue lagoonnorthern lights
Filter
Updating list...
1,021 - 1,026 of 1,297 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We spent 2 nights in the middle of our vacation and then one night before we departed. Unfortunately the last night was a Friday and the noise from the downstairs bar and the square in front of the hotel was unbearable.

The hotel is gorgeous and we had splurged for some of the best rooms (311 and 411). They were spacious and well outfitted. Bathroom was huge in 311. Balcony but small bath in 411.

Service was very good. Breakfast was traditional continental fare.

No onsite gym. Had to use Radisson facilities 2 blocks away but that required a fee.

Room Tip: Book 311 (if you have the $ and on a special trip)
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Borg Hotel
This is the first review for Trip Advisor I have ever written. Before you read the details of our tale of woe, let me just say, do not waste your money, your dollar, your Euro or your Krona. We booked a total of five days in November. The first three were June 3,4, and 5. The second two were June 21 and 22. I received confirmation for all five days. The first three days we spent at the hotel, we felt the price was not indicative of the quality of the room and the service (there was a piece of broken glass on the floor when we checked in and there it remained until we left). However this was the best Reykjavik had to offer, or so said the guidebooks. Hotel was okay, deluxe double room was small. I had requested a quiet room but was given one right over the noisiest part of the square. After requesting a change to a quieter corner the hotel accommodated. Traveling around the Icelandic countryside, WiFi service was intermittent. As we were nearing the end of our trip and planning to head back to Reykjavik I checked email and discovered that we had an email from the concierge at the Borg advising us that two big groups had booked in December and the Hotel’s Global Distribution System had failed and overbooked the hotel. Therefore, there was no room for us at the inn. It did not matter that we booked for a total of five nights in November ahead of the reservation snafu.
The Borg Hotel booked us a room at the Hotel 101, as they believe it is a comparable hotel. They booked us a lesser room than we had booked at the Borg. Their email provided no confirmation number for the Hotel 101, no price information, nothing except an offer for a free dinner at the Hotel’s restaurant.
You need not read further if you are out of time. If the manager of the hotel believes the 101 is comparable, stay there, it is cheaper and more modern with a very good location. And after having spent two nights at the 101, we can verify it is a better hotel and that the staff is very helpful and friendly.
If you have chosen to read on the saga does get better. We called the hotel and complained bitterly. Ava, a trainee was the only person who would speak to us and try and help us. She assured us the 101 was a good hotel. I explained that we had researched through Trip Advisor and four travel books to choose the Borg Hotel and if we wanted to stay at another hotel we could have managed that on our own. I asked why we were moved and what was the process for deciding who gets a room and who does not and in fairness to Ava, she did not know or have any authority to change anything.
Because it was Independence Day, the hotel manager was not available and I was told to call back Monday. I suggested that perhaps the manager should call us and I said that if she did not I would be calling her at 8 a.m.
I also explained that that we had dinner reservations at two restaurants already and I did not want to miss those dining experiences just to accept the hotel's offer to pay for our dinner at their own restaurant.
Being New Yorkers, we knew better than to trust an email that said we had a room and we called the 101, who had no record of a room under our name and only had three rooms left.
I called Ava back and she was kind enough to contact the Borg Hotel’s manager at home and then the 101 to make sure they showed a confirmation of a room for us.
When we arrived at the Hotel 101 they had no info on what our room rate would be and no info on whether or not the Borg was going to honor their commitment to provide us with dinner at one of the restaurants we had chosen as opposed to their hotel restaurant. After some back and forth, the management of the 101 indicated we needed to resolve the details with the Borg Hotel. We walked over to the Borg and spoke to the manager, who told us how sorry she was and that we did not need to pay anything to the Hotel 101.
We went back to the 101 and advised the staff of what we had been told and asked them what the cost of the room would be. There are apparently two rates, an Internet rate and a walk in rate. The 101 did not know what rate we were being charged but thought that the Borg Hotel was going to charge us the same rate we would have paid had we stayed at the Borg at our “confirmed” rate. They were kind enough to call the Borg for us and were advised that the Borg Hotel would give us something off the room rate. We looked at each other and said “something” does not cut it. So off we went back to the Borg and caught up with the manager just as she was leaving for the day. We asked her exactly what the Borg Hotel was charging us for our stay at the 101 and she gave us a figure that was more than the Internet rate of 101 and more than the equivalent rack rate room at the Borg, for which they had booked us at the 101. We told the manager that the difference in the rates and she went online to verify that we were telling her the truth and then agreed to charge us what we would have paid at the 101 had we simply booked the room the Borg had booked for us there, ourselves. I requested something in writing from her indicating what we would have charged to our credit card so that when the bill comes in we can verify the correct amount was charged. She was kind enough to print something out and sign it for us. And they did pay for our dinner at one of the other restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the square.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zapata50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel offers a great location and comfortable accommodations. It’s a very small hotel, yet our room was huge and comfortable, with large windows overlooking the square in front of the hotel. It’s conveniently located to many dining options, and the concierge was more than happy to provide some recommendations.

Being easily entertained, we got a kick out of their “old school” elevator, which can only hold about two people and looks just like a doorway to another room. The hotel water was a bit sulphuric and their queen beds were two smaller mattresses pushed together, but it’s Iceland, so that wasn’t entirely unexpected.

As others have noted, the hotel rooms do not have very good sound insulation, and you can easily hear the conversations and activities that take place outside. The one night that we were there, a protest took place outside of Parliament, which is across the courtyard from the hotel. While we had an excellent view of the festivities (large crowds and fireworks displays), the yelling and drum banging kept us up all night. Even with ear plugs, there was no escaping the acoustics. Obviously, such protests are not a nightly occurrence, but I would imagine that even without a mob of people below, you can still hear just about everything that takes place outside.

The parking situation was another drawback, and you have to find public/metered parking on the street as the hotel does not offer any parking lots. Nevertheless, if you’re looking for a good home base in Reykjavik where you can be close the scene, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank LizMcLure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very disappointed in this hotel.I booked it for our first night in Iceland because I wanted to start the holiday on a high note but having travelled all day and with another flight north the next day we were lucky to get 3 or 4 hours sleep.Our room faced the back at the end nearest to an all night open air club and the noise was terrible.We asked when the noise would stop and reception couldnt really tell us and trying to be reasonable we waited and thought 1am?...2am,,,,3am? Finally we were given keys to aroom on the front and stumbled in to it absolutely shattered.
My point is that as a couple well past the partying age ,why on earth did the receptionist allocate that room to us in the first place when she must have known that noise would be a problem on a friday night.I can only assume that it was because we were only there for one night and that they really couldn't give a monkey's.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank isabella2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Hotel Borg is the old classic place in Reykjavik, across from the Parliament building in the heart of downtown. It has been very nicely refurbished, but is extremely expensive compared to other options in the area. Breakfast was not included in the room charge and at 2500 kroner ($25) per person for a small and tired buffet was grossly overpriced. The area gets very noisy on weekends, as the bars stay open most of the night and loud drunks spill in and out until
morning--and you hear them quite clearly!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juneauite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews