We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Exciting Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours

Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The horse rental in Reykjavík, Iceland. Small family firm with personal service.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Exciting Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We participated in a horse ride on a cool Saturday morning in the middle of September.
After researching several riding companies on Trip Advisor, I chose Islenski because of the glowing reviews. I made our reservation on line months ahead and everything went smoothly.
We were picked up very promptly right at our hotel in Reykjavik.

Begga & Sven were both VERY friendly. They were knowledgeable and patient with everyone (especially those of us with little riding experience).

We arrived at their barn and Begga sat us all down and gave riding tips & instructions. She is very fun, enthusiastic, and entertaining, all the while being informative.

You can really tell they all love their job & the horses (HORSES, not ponies. Make sure you don’t call them ponies. :)

Helmets, buffs & gloves were supplied for protection. They also had rain pants, jackets and boots in various sizes – which we all pretty much took advantage of once we saw the possibility of rain.

Begga assigned each person a horse based on skill level/experience, we were assisted in mounting up and “test rode” the horse in the small pen before we all rode off. Sven even was very encouraging to me when I had doubts about getting on the horse and being comfortable to ride on my own. And, I did it!

The actual ride was about an hour. We got to experience the Icelandic Horse tolt and Begga took photos & video during the trip – which, she made available to us for download to remember our day.

Overall, this company and adventure exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend them. You should have no hesitation to book with this group! We would love to go back and do this again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank autumncat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    39
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Trip of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked with Becca before we came to Iceland after reading reviews on here, and they were not wrong.

We had ridden in the UK a very long time ago, so are really complete beginners, not that this mattered one bit. Becca went through everything with us, and was so patient and knowledgeable.

We booked a morning trip and were surprised to find it was only the 2 of us riding that morning. They picked us up from our hotel.

You get to know your horse before you ride out.
I had Isabella and to start with at the stables, she was a bit stubborn, but Becca and co were all so helpful giving me tips to get her moving.

About 5 minutes into the trip me and Isabella were firm friends. she really is the best horse I have ever meet. She didn't like walking or tolting through the many puddles of water, she instead went around the outside of them - it was quite funny.
It was an absolutely fantastic ride through the lava fields.

Becca took photos during the trip so we didn't need to take our camera with us and could focus on enjoying the ride more.

Becca and co are all so enthusiastic about their horses and the beautiful country, and who can blame them?!
We constantly had a smile on our face for the entire ride. I just wish I could either take Isabella home with me or I could stay forever and ride her more often.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pengul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go with any other company. Seriously.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This family-run horseback riding company is the only one you need to visit. Begga's enthusiasm is palpable and you can't help but smile and love every minute of it. They teach you all you need to know and take the time with every person to make sure they're entirely comfortable with your assigned horse before heading out into the beautiful Reykjavik volcanic landscape. This company was the first one started in Reykjavik 2 years ago and so EVERYONE after this one is a replica. They've been doing this for years throughout Iceland and the world. Begga knows her s**t! We had beginners and intermediates on the tour and we were all assigned a horse according to our needs. Super friendly, super happy and super team. Do this right now. Don't read another review. MJ - Ottawa, Canada

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunmoonstarz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The horse back trip was the highlight of our trip to Iceland. When going horse backing abroad, it`s really important to me that the horses are being cared for properly. The owners genuinly cares for the horses (and guests) and gives everybody a royal treatment. It was great trying the tolt and learning more about the Icelandic landscape . Whether you`re a good rider or not, you will have lots of fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip - ya have to try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The horses are great, but the people made this a memorable experience. The owner Bagga (Beck-a) and her helper, Inga were amazing; such friendly, positive people. Regardless of your riding experience, they take plenty of time to educate you about this wonderful breed of horse. You'll have plenty of time to get to know your horse before heading out on the trail. And they'll furnish all the gear you'll need to ride with comfort in the unpredictable Icelandic weather.

The trail goes through a beautiful park and you have numerous opportunities to experience the Icelandic horse's famous "tolt". It's so fun. Two members of our group hadn't ridden in over 30 years and they were able to completely enjoy every aspect of the ride.

Bagga and Inga are passionate about their work & they love sharing that passion with others. Oh and they take pictures of everyone and the surrounding area (complete with a beautiful rainbow for us). They offer the pictures as part of the experience, no extra charge.

A fabulous experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing