We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year, 2013/14”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year, 2013/14”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect because it was billed as 2*/3* but had no need to worry. I'm a bit late in writing this but doing it now after booking it for my daughter and son-in-law, then realising myself just how good it was. They're going in during the schools' October week and will see more daylight than we did, but that's not a complaint. People in the hotel were genuinely interested in hearing about where we came from and knew the answer to every question we had. The New Year experience will NEVER be forgotten for all the right reasons. Icelanders and straight-forward bonkers and the view of the non-stop 5 hour fireworks display was made all the better from our private balcony. Fully intend returning sometime but maybe in the summer to see more of the island in daylight.

Room Tip: If going again I would ask for a room at the rear of the property. They have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    297
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
341
94
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have to start by saying that everyone working for this hotel was super-nice and professional. That being said, the location has problems. There are three nightclubs on the street and if you have the misfortune of taking a room above it you're listening to the thump-thump-thump of them all night long. Also, they're not only the smallest rooms in Iceland, but of any hotel in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This city is one for walking so stay in the center of the city. Staff was helpful and very pleasant. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Looked like it designed by IKEA! We were directed to every place was wanted plus some suggestions.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vbflgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the City Center Hotel in Reykjavik. We hadn't been to Iceland before and had no idea what to expect; we arrived early in the morning after an all-night flight.

We anticipated that our room wouldn't be ready and so planned to drop off our bags and go to the Blue Lagoon. However, when we arrived, our room was ready for us and we were invited to enjoy breakfast! It was nice to be able to leave our bags in a secure place and dig out what we needed for our excursion.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, giving us good advice about where to find dinners and what to see in the time we had. Breakfast was good, too. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. The room was a bit tight for two people beginning a month-long trip (2 large suitcases and a carry-on each), but we were able to maneuver through the room without bruising ourselves.

We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dulle_noted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Right in the middle of downtown Reykjavik, this no frills hotel is great value. Rooms are good size, breakfast is ok. Our bathroom flooded but they fixed it right away. Handy with a small supermarket next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main street. Those Icelanders are known for their partying skill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Farouk really made our stay in Iceland comfortable and easy. He really provided us with a great experience and gave us a lot of guidance on the best sightseeing. When our plans fell through one day, he even wrote down a walking-tour on a map for us to follow. Him and his coworker gave great suggestions for food and tours. The microbrewery downstairs is an added plus and must-try. Friday and Saturday nights can be loud on the street itself due to the bar scene, but the rooms were great and sound didn't bother us at all. The City Center hotel is in a great location. It's down the street from the most popular bars, and is walking distance to most of the major tour groups meeting points, as well as the best restaurants in Reykjavik. We were very pleased with the location and our stay overall. It made traveling to Iceland memorable and we will definitely stay at City Center again. We had friends who stayed either out of Reykjavik or outskirts of the city, but since we also wanted good selection for food, City Center was a perfect choice for it's location. But Farouk and his coworkers made the experience just that much more awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADinh705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We loved this hotel. Very good value for what you get. The rooms are very modern, clean, and a fairly large size. Big bathrooms, excellent showers, nice flat screen with satellite television. And the location downtown is perfect. We had a rental car and parking was very limited because of construction on the streets, but we found cheap parking at a very near lot. The hotel staff was very friendly. There is also a nice bar called the Micro Bar on the first level. It seemed to be very popular during happy hour. Our room was on the backside of the hotel and there was a bit of noice from the bar at about 3 am. We were there on the weekend and I guess that Icelanders are known for having fun on the weekends! Good for them! We didn't opt for breakfast but that is where they serve it if you do. We highly recommend this hotel. Keep in mind that the International airport is in Keflavik which is about 25 miles away. But from this hotel it was fairly easy to get there.

Room Tip: There are rooms both on the front and back of this hotel. You may want a room higher up if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing