We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and this cozy hotel served as a wonderful base for exploring downtown -- within walking distance of the main shopping street to one side, the marina to the other, and the symphony hall straight ahead. The famous hotdog stand is a mere 2 short blocks away. The main BSI bus terminal is about a 15 minute walk away. The cathedral is about an 8 minute walk up the hill. There is a micro bar downstairs that is very popular at night & serves a good variety of beers.
Breakfast (extra charge) is available in the same space from 7-10am.

Pros:
Fantastic location, close to the bus stop, tours will pick you up from the front door, LOTS of places to eat & shop nearby, convenience store pretty much across the street, good continental-type buffet breakfast (I really enjoyed the fresh baked bread from the local bakery), Free wifi, clean room decorated in a modern fashion, comfy bed, good value for what you get, friendly & helpful staff

Cons:
Not much of a view outside the rooms, light sleepers might be bothered by the noise from weekend bar hoppers

All in all, I would recommend staying here. There are only 30 rooms, so book right away or you could miss out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandoodie :
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    251
    58
    19
    10
See reviews for
89
296
73
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a fantastic stay here.

The good:

Great hotel in a great location, close to pretty much everything downtown
Lovely staff, super helpful.
Great bar downstairs
Great water pressure and showers, despite the sulphur smell.
Free parking out the front if you rent a car. Name another hotel in a capital city where you can park for free outside the front door.... :)
Free wifi - always a winner..

The not so good.

Can be a little noisy on Friday & Saturday night as there are a couple of bars/clubs nearby and these guys go for it.
Beds were maybe a little soft, but no big deal really.

All in all though, would totally recommend staying here though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As the name suggests, the hotel is centrally located in Reykjavik. There are no parking space available by the hotel but there's some parking space around the hotel - if you are lucky. There are plenty restaurants, bars and night clubs just next the hotel, which is nice in general. However on weekends this will mean noise caused by people having good time and also by the music played in bars. If your room is facing the street and is at low floors it will disturb your sleep. I'm not a light sleeper and usually the noise is not a problem for me, but I propose to check where you room is when you are staying over weekend. Hotel has it's own bar downstairs and it offer probably the best foreign beer selection in the city. Bar closes at 23:00 already and it is used for simple breakfast buffet serving at morning. Even if the selection is simple it is quite nice and I didn't really miss any basics. Stuff seems to be quite young and I believe that at least some of them are foreign students or similar. In any case they where providing good service topped with smiles. The room itself was not too large, as you can expect from a city hotel with this price level. Comfy bed is taking most of the space in room itself. Bathroom was nice and well cleaned. If you like to stay at center with couple of steps from restaurant and bars, this is your choice. Stayed for 3 nights.

Room Tip: If you are staying during weekend I would avoid street side rooms due the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved the location, the staff (especially Heiðrún Harðardóttir and the servers for the breakfast buffet), the price and the breakfast buffet. Extremely resonable price! The staff were so, so, so helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Modi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This stylish and modern hotel lives up to its name, making it an ideal choice for a traveler looking to participate in the vibrant nightlife in Reykjavik. The rooms, like most places in the country, are compact, but comfortable. And the staff was tremendously helpful. And the price was remarkably reasonable for what you get.

On arrival, someone had been accidentally moved into my room, without proper logging into the computer. The manager came back in at 1 am to resolve the issue, which shows some true desire to do right by the customer. By the time my friend and I had wrapped up our Friday evening out, my room was set.

However, if you don't plan to be out and about on Friday or Saturday night, you best have a deep love of thumping base coming through the walls from the adjacent clubs, or you're not going to be especially happy.

Regardless, this is my favorite hotel in Iceland amongst the seven I've tried.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alands66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Gotta say, though we were moved from another hotel into this one, I think we lucked out, gaining a great view of the city and a prime location in the middle of everything. The room was a little on the small side, but it was a great experience and the free breakfast was solid. They did a great job taking care of us. The only downside is that it was slightly rougher around the edges than the hotel we originally planned on staying in, particularly around the elevator — nothing a little renovation couldn't fix. Either way, we totally would recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortformernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Right in the center of town. Staff is wonderful and really go out of their way. I can understand that front facing rooms would be noisy and my friend did have one and it was noisy. However I had a back facing room and it was incredibly quiet....just perfect. Very good breakfast with great bread and baked products. Very good choice close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#10 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing