We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a great location”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in a great location”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The City Center Hotel is very aptly named - for that's exactly where it is: a perfect location surrounded by cozy restaurants, shops, tourist information, and really anything that you could need in Reykjavik. Walking around the area is very pleasant both day and night.

As for the hotel itself, it's charming and has lots of character. This isn't a big-box chain hotel - it's a small little place that looks like it could be an apartment building from the outside. But once inside, there's a small but nice lobby area, all the info you could need on tours and activities, and a bar/breakfast area (we didn't try it out but it was bustling at night and breakfast looked simple but nice for 10 euro). The room we had was very nice - we had a balcony (though a bit too cold to use it), wooden floors, minibar, bathrobes and slippers, and free wifi (Iceland is general is very well connected and you can get free wifi in a lot of places - but it's very nice to have it included in the hotel). The water does smell like sulfur - but it's not terrible and it is part of the location. If there's anything to be aware of, it's just that the room can get noisy at night (especially Friday/Saturday) as Reykjavik nightlife doesn't end early!

Reception was very friendly and helpful in booking tours for us. Blue Lagoon is a must - it's so beautiful and relaxing (and the buses leave every hour back into the city so your return is flexible). We also went on the Northern Lights tour with Iceland Adventures (great jeeps and guides, unfortunately we didn't see any lights though, so it ended up being a very expensive - and cold - tour without seeing much) and with Iceland Excursions/Greyline for the Golden Circle (typical big bus tour, but the Golden Circle itself is a must). We also tried out several restaurants - Buddha Cafe, Austur Indian, and Uno. We'd been cautioned ahead of time that Iceland isn't a place to find great food - but everything we tried was really great - mild tastes, but very clean fresh ingredients cooked quite well.

Overall, a really nice stay. This would be my first choice for a return trip to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may want to ask for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    307
    83
    24
    17
See reviews for
111
349
97
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Location - couldn't be better, in the centre close to harbour and everything although Reykjavik is so small you can walk most places!

Rooms - we stayed in a superior room (502) amazing space and balcony. Clean, tidy, really comfy bed. Only thing to highlight is water smells - this is natural for all of Iceland due to sulphuric / geothermal water. It's almost an eggy smell when you run taps but understand this is normal!

Breakfast - fantastic lovely breakfast in the micro bar, fills you up all day. Great pastries, continental and eggs/bacon. All simple but good food.

Service - the team can't do enough for you. Icelandic people are lovely.

Northern lights - we were lucky to see them from our balcony one night.

Recommendations - do the overnight trip to Jokulsarlon with Extreme Iceland, http://www.extremeiceland.is/day-tours-iceland/jokulsarlon - best thing we've ever done.

Eating out - Also eating out can be expensive but the kebabhuish over the road offers cheap eats. That said there's so many great restaurants nearby yours spoilt for choice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesBigAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Was here last week on a work trip. The place was Ok and the location excellent. My room was clean and nice and the breakfast was ok. It wasn't too fancy, but just enough for my need. The lobby bar was nice; a beer on happy hour costed 500 crowns.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel is directly located in the centre of Reykjavik. Harbour front, Harpa and town ... all very close and within walking distance.
Staff and front desk were very nice, helped with everything and have good tips for our stay in Reykjavik during the Iceland Airwaves festival.
We had a twin room, which was immaculate and clean. Beds were comfy, several international TV channels, mini bar and coffeemaker in the rooms.
The only thing that we did not like was the fact, that the hot water in the bathroom had a sulphurous smell.

Breakfast buffet was good with scrambled egg, bacon, sausages, cereal, fresh fruit. Really good.

We enjoyed our stay - and would definitely come

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel I stayed at one night, flight was cancelled and I needed to stay another night. The single room is tiny! The one on the fourth floor is facing the street and yes it was noisy. It was fairly clean. I'm giving this 4 stars because after 5 nights of no tv channels and no wifi in my room it was glorious to have it! Also free coffee in the lobby was nice. The girl in the lobby was very nice and accommodating I preferred her over the other hotels reception. I would recommend city center hotel for a short stay 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alixson86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in October and had a really lovely time. From the minute you walk in the door you are greeted by friendly staff and nothing is too much trouble for them. We were given our room key but when we got to the room found out we had been given twin beds when we had booked a double; I went back to reception and explained that we were on holiday to celebrate out birthdays and we had booked a double room, the receptionist was lovely and quickly had a look at her computer and swapped our room for one with a very large bed...and a balcony! The room was beautifully furnished with a flat screen TV, desk, mini bar and they have bathrobes and slippers and gorgeous big fluffy bath towels. The bed was definitely the comfiest one I have ever slept in. We turned the mini bar off as it was a little noisy and we put our drinks out on the balcony to keep them cold. Breakfast was very nice with tea, coffee, and 2 types of juice, 3 kinds of cereal, toast, fresh fruit, lots of different breads, they also served scrambled or boiled eggs, bacon and sausages, and the staff were always on hand with friendly advice of things to see and do during your stay. The reception staff booked tickets for our Blue Lagoon trip, checked our return times for our airport transfer and also printed out our check-in details for the flight home, they were all really amazing and we felt very well looked after; they even provide ear plugs in case you are disturbed by the noise on a weekend, but we thought the room was well sound-proofed. And just a word of advice.....when the lift stops you have to open the door yourself, it doesn't open automatically - I ended up on the wrong floor once or twice when someone else pushed the button for the lift and I'd forgotten to open the door so ended up going back up!
We went to Iceland mainly to see the Northern Lights and even though we had booked the trip for the second night we were there we actually saw them the first night from our balcony. Iceland is pretty expensive to visit but worth every penny. Everyone we met was friendly and we ate in some lovely restaurants. The Blue Lagoon is amazing and I would 100% recommend a visit there. I have never come back from a holiday feeling so relaxed and refreshed. Thank you everyone at the City Center Hotel for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had room 505 - lovely, quiet, very comfortable and if you're lucky you get to see the Norther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loobyloo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Having just returned from 3 days at this lovely hotel in downtown Reykjavik, I wanted to share my experience with everyone. I travel approx 100 days a year and I have stayed in better hotels than the city center hotel, BUT I have also paid a whole lot more for those hotels. I find it important to compare value for money, and with this in mind, I have never stayed anywhere better! We paid 115 euro for 3 nights, breakfast included. YES, the 115 euro was for all 3 nights, not the daily rate. We booked through olotels.com.

What was good about the hotel?
Location was excellent, difficult to beat in Reykjavik as it was right in the city center.
Room was very nice, with wooden floor, and very clean. The bed was perfect. We were in room 601 on the top floor overlooking the city center. We stayed over the weekend and noice was not a big issue.
Staff was very helpful and polite.
Breakfast was fine. Not a lot to choose from, but what was there was good.

What could have been better?
I can only mention small details that actually did not mean a lot to us...
The hot water does smell, but it is Iceland, so consider it part of the experience.
The room only had one small closet. It was ok for us, but if staying more than 3 days, it could be tricky to store all your things.

All in all a wonderful stay, and the first time I have given a hotel 5 "stars" on trip advisor. If we return to Reykjavik, we would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelljensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,734 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,156 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,643 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,752 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing