We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay here, but would not return”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I were visiting Iceland for 8 nights/9 days, and we found this hotel just average at best, which, as a three star hotel, one should expect. I think for a shorter stay (maybe a weekend) it would be fine, but for a long trip there were many downsides.

CHECK IN/RECEPTION
We booked this hotel through Expedia and requested a "Double" room which promises a king sized bed. When we checked in, we were very early, but only had to wait about an hour for a room which was nice. I confirmed that we had a room with a king bed with the front desk. However, when we walked into room 504, there were two twin beds, and a VERY small room. We immediately went back to the front desk, and were told that the "beds could be pushed together" and that a twin room and double room were the same size. I explained that the website makes it seem like the double is a bigger room, but she said this wasn't the case, but that they did have rooms that were slightly bigger. I told her since we booked the room assuming it was larger, that we would like to wait for a bigger room with a king bed. The front desk told us to return in 45 minutes and a new larger room would be waiting.

About an hour later, we came back and were told that the manager refused to provide us with a larger room, and the best they could do was put the the beds together in room 504. I requested to speak directly to the manager, but the front desk person insisted that we go look at the room since the beds had been changed. The front desk person was getting pretty unfriendly with us at this point. We decided to appease her and go back to the original room. After traveling all night, we decided to just let it go - it just wasn't worth an argument for a few square feet more. About two hours later, the manager knocked on the door to make sure the room was satisfactory. Again, we were so tired, we just let it go. If I wasn't so jetlagged, I would have pushed for a larger room at that point. It was nice that he came to follow up, although I am not fully convinced that they would have changed the room anyway since they refused to budge earlier in the day.

Room 504
The room itself lacked sufficient closet space to put 9 days worth of clothes for two people, and was so small, storing our two suitcases was an issue. Then we turned on the water...and got the lovely smell of rotten eggs. We found out that some places in Iceland filter their water and some don't. Those that don't have an awful smell, and ladies, if you wear any silver jewlery - take it off - it will tarnish badly! Anyway, the sulfur/egg smell was overwhelming in the small room. Also, if we took a shower one right after each other, it would set the fire alarm off - it happened three times.

The rooms were also extremely warm even when turning off the heat (and it was cold outside). We had a small balcony and we basically kept it open anytime we were in the room which would cool it down. HOWEVER, on the weekends, as others have noted, it is EXTREMELY loud on the streets with people literally yelling until 4am. So, it was either be very hot when sleeping, or here the loud street noise amplified and cool the room off. During the week, the street noise was not an issue.

The TV never worked, but we didn't complain about it because we were not in Iceland to watch TV, but yet another detail that this hotel didn't get.

The beds were very comfortable to sleep on; however, with the two beds pushed together, there was a large dip in the middle of it, so it was difficult to sleep close together because you would end up in the crevasse - not the most romantic set-up for a couples vacation.

LOCATION
The location was great. It truly is in the center of the city, hence the name, and in walking distance to everything you would want. The location of the hotel can't be beat, but with that comes the noise on the weekends.

MICROBAR
The hotel has daily breakfast, which was very expensive - about 15 US dollars per person. The staff was very friendly and explained the buffet style meal. The breakfast was just so-so, not worth the money. We ended up finding a little place that all the locals frequent that was fantastic and just around the corner called Bergsson mathús - it was EXCELLENT and much cheaper than microbar. At night, the microbar turns into a bar, and they have some excellent beers.

Overall, the hotel was just ok. The rooms were modern and clean with a comfy bed, but for a stay longer than two or three days, I would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Book a superior room to get extra space. Im convinced no matter where you are in the hotel, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sian421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 813 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

I just stopped here for 3 notes, I had read the other reviews and not sure what to expect!
What a fantastic little hotel in the best location you could ask for. I was expecting it to be not that great as it was cheaper than the other hotels and a few of the hostels.

The rooms were great and a good size and nice soft bed. I stayed over the weekend and the noise that people go on about is not as bad as any other hotel in any other city center.

The staff were fantastic with nothing being to much trouble, every nite we would ask I our tour was on and they would find out and if I was cancelled they tried other companies for you.

Definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exfaxcter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a smashing wee hotel - the staff are very friendly and ultra helpful, rooms are fresh, clean and well appointed and the Micro Bar downstairs (which doubles as the breakfast room) is always busy, with a great atmosphere.

Although our room was located facing the front (6th floor), we stayed here mid-week so can't really comment on how noisy or otherwise it appears to get at the weekends. However, the street itself has many bars, together with late opening pizza house & kebab shop, which would appear to cater for the party animals.

The staff couldn't be more helpful, arranging for airport & Blue Lagoon pick-ups and giving us an early check-in when we arrived bleary-eyed from Boston. Breakfasts were buffet style, with a selection of breads, cheeses, cereals etc, along with the hot option of bacon/sausages/scrambled eggs - not an extensive choice TBH but an elegant sufficiency to set yourself up for the day ahead.

Our room itself was pretty good - bed & pillows comfy, the room was light & airy, satellite telly to wind down in front of, before retiring for the evening. En suite was large enough, and the shower was plenty warm, albeit the sulphurous smell of he hot water takes some getting used to...

Plenty of excellent restaurants nearby and within easy walking distance to the shops - even easier walking distance to the pubs and clubs, which may be an issue for non party animals, as indicated in other reviews. Any issues re lack of sleep due to this can always be remedied with a trip to the Blue Lagoon (sigh)....

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Alun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late August 2012. The location is excellent, the staff are great and the rooms are very nice. The only downside to the location is that the noise on weekends is quite bad in the evenings. We knew this going in based on previous reviews, and came prepared with earplugs, but it wasn't enough as on Saturday night, the bar in the main floor of the hotel was extremely busy and the repeated slamming of the door reverberated through the back alley constantly. If you are in town to party or if you are not staying over the weekend, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We found this hotel really nice and welcoming. We spent there two nights at the beginning of july 2012 and really liked it, in particular the location. Breakfast (for extra 10 Euro per person) is most recommended. We would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

For two friends traveling together, this room (#404) was just right. High enough above the street, it was reasonably quiet, the beds were comfy and there were a few extra square feet compared to some other reasonably-priced hotels here and in Europe. What it lacks in closet space it makes up for in value and location.

Although our IE bus driver couldn't find the hotel or its street, the location is ideal. It makes walking around town so easy. We both agree that we would make this our regular stop in Reykjavik for future trips.

Room Tip: Floors 4-6 are better for noise and views down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoladeTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here during the last week of May 2012. We found the staff to be very helpful, and they even let us check in at 8:00 a.m.! I really have nothing but good things to say about the hotel itself.

HOWEVER, it is located directly next to some very loud clubs, which meant our room was filled with pounding bass sounds on the weekends--up until 5:00 a.m.! The hotel really can't do anything about this (I think), but it really detracts from the hotel's appeal.

Don't stay here on a weekend if you want to get a good night's sleep! :(

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
171 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,217 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,815 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,925 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $137 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing