We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We found this hotel really nice and welcoming. We spent there two nights at the beginning of july 2012 and really liked it, in particular the location. Breakfast (for extra 10 Euro per person) is most recommended. We would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    297
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
341
94
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
275 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

For two friends traveling together, this room (#404) was just right. High enough above the street, it was reasonably quiet, the beds were comfy and there were a few extra square feet compared to some other reasonably-priced hotels here and in Europe. What it lacks in closet space it makes up for in value and location.

Although our IE bus driver couldn't find the hotel or its street, the location is ideal. It makes walking around town so easy. We both agree that we would make this our regular stop in Reykjavik for future trips.

Room Tip: Floors 4-6 are better for noise and views down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoladeTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here during the last week of May 2012. We found the staff to be very helpful, and they even let us check in at 8:00 a.m.! I really have nothing but good things to say about the hotel itself.

HOWEVER, it is located directly next to some very loud clubs, which meant our room was filled with pounding bass sounds on the weekends--up until 5:00 a.m.! The hotel really can't do anything about this (I think), but it really detracts from the hotel's appeal.

Don't stay here on a weekend if you want to get a good night's sleep! :(

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Good quality hotel for a few days. Perfect location with tourist information 2 minutes walk away. Just very dissapointed when asked for a fan as a special request and was told there was A\C however when arrived no a/c was in the rooms.

Also requested a room with a nice view but instead received a view of a wall on a street which got noisy at times but bearable.

BAD points

- inconvenient location of loo roll holder near floor which we found quite in hygienic as the tissue roll always touché the floor. We ending up having to move this.

- no a/c

- No safe

- rooms got quite noisy at times


GOOD points

- city centre location

- friendly/helpful staff

-3min walk from airport shuttle/bus drop off

- clean refurbished rooms with excellent selection of bathroom amenities.

- powerful 2 type shower



  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the City Center while on vacation in Iceland. The hotel was in a great location and the staff was very helpful. Others have mentioned that the rooms are small which they are but they were similar in size to many other hotels I've stayed at in Europe.

It is quite noisy there on the weekends. We were there on a Saturday, Sunday, and Monday night and Saturday was noisy until 5AM. However, we were so tired from our flight we slept through the noise even with our windows open. Sunday and Monday were much quieter.

We arrived during a huge festival and the streets were blocked off. We had to walk nearly a mile with our luggage after finding street parking for our rental car. However, this was somewhat our fault for not paying more attention.

Overall, I would stay at City Center again although maybe during the week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We, a family of three, stayed in the hotel on August 2nd-August 5th. The major plus is the location. The hotel is within walking distance to most of the city’s attractions and there are plenty of choices for restaurants and snacks.

Our room was in the rear of the hotel and was very quiet although I personally didn’t hear extensive street noise from the front when we were out late in the evening. The room was clean and furnished nicely but was a bit small when you added in the additional cot for our son. We made it work and the cot was surprisingly comfortable. I booked a king room. I would not compare the size of the bed to an American standard king but it was larger than a queen size bed.

The shower had a nice “rain-like” showerhead and the pressure, temperature of the water was good.

The staff were pleasant and very helpful. We were always greeted with a warm welcome.
My only complaint would be that the room was a bit too warm even when we shut off the heater. I cannot even fault that since an open window solved that issue.

I would recommend the hotel and would be happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I am going to start with the positives of this hotel, which is the location and the comfortable bed. Other than that, it's just downhill all the way.

Upon check in, I enquired with the Front Desk about the famed Viking structure in the form of a boat on the coast of Reykjavik but the Front Desk returned a blank look. A search on the google maps provided me directions to the Sun Voyager. The room I was in gets the sun a lot and housekeeping had to keep my windows open to keep the room from heating up. My room was also facing the street and you can hear the music thumping away even at 5am in the morning. Pick ups/drop-offs by the shuttles and tour companies are also not in front of the hotel but at Center Plaza Hotel across the park. Besides, the bathroom in the hotel room gets flooded every night after a shower and to be honest, all these could be overlooked if not for the following.

On the day before my departure, I approached the Front Desk to book my airport transfer shuttle. I saw the Front Desk speaking to the shuttle company in Icelandic and I assumed the reservations were made. On the day of departure, I waited at Plaza Hotel for my pickup since no shuttles could stop in front of City Center Hotel.

After waiting for half an hour, no one was picking me up and I was getting anxious. With 3 luggages in tow, I had to pop into the nearby Tourist Information Center for assistance instead of returning to my hotel since that is the most viable option. The Tourist Information Center helped call Reykjavik Excursions with my name and they were not able to find a reservation. Upon hearing that, I immediately made my way to the airport but it was too late and the gate had closed. I was unable to get on my Delta flight and this is the only flight back to New York City. With a connecting flight to catch the next day, I had no other choice but to purchase another same-day ticket from Icelandair.

Upon my return, I dropped an email to City Center Hotel highlighting to them what happened in the hope that we can reach a resolution. The General Manager, Birnir Orri Petursson, replied that reservations were indeed made with Iceland Excursions, not Reykjavik Excursions, but my name had been misspelled. To quote him: “Your name does seem to have been spelled wrong, the order of your first and last name got reversed, therefore you are under the name of xxxxxxx (names are usually written down by sound, the spelling is not requested).”

I replied the hotel asking them how the passenger could expect to be picked up with the wrong name and they replied that it is usual not to have the exact spelling of name. If it was an Icelandic or Scandinavian name, it may not be a huge challenge for the staff to get it right just purely by pronunciation. It should be pretty obvious that I am of Asian heritage and I am from halfway round the world where my name looks and sounds very different from Scandinavian names. To top it off, the hotel was suggesting how the Tourist Information and Iceland Excursions could have helped instead of suggesting how they themselves could prevent this from happening again.

This speaks volume about the level of service from the hotel and you would do well to stay away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank orangemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CchIceland, General Manager at City Center Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to begin by apologizing for the problem you had with your shower, I hope that you contacted us immediately after it happened to give us a chance to fix this issue. I would also like to clarify that I do not request it of my staff that they be aware of all monuments or pieces of art present in the greater Reykjavik area. I do however insist that they do everything they can think of to search for any information they may not have themselves and that they aid all of our guests to the full extent of their abilities. I am given to understand that they in fact did this and would have continued to happily do so, if given the chance.

We currently send most of our guests for a pick-up at the hotel Plaza since the city authorities change our street, the city center main street, into a pedestrian only street for most of the summer. The Plaza hotel is across the square from us or about 75 meters from our front door (according to the Icelandic map website at ja.is). There is no park in the way.

As to your own airport transportation issue: I have already confirmed with you in our e-mail communication that the bus had been booked and was at the Hotel Plaza at some point within the half an hour pick-up time. This was confirmed by the Iceland Excursion company and verified by their GPS data.

We always recommend to all of our guests that they should book transportation to the airport early enough so as to give themselves two hours at the airport, this is the recommended time advertised by the airport authorities themselves. In our reception we have detailed information available which is quite clear regarding what time a guest needs to take the bus so as to be at the airport at a specific hour. This includes the half hour pick-up period as well as the 45 min drive to the airport. If you in fact left directly for the airport after waiting 30 minutes for the pick-up shuttle, you would have left at the same time as the Airport Express bus itself.

I also pointed out to you in our e-mail communication that you had other viable options then leaving the hotel Plaza (your designated pick-up place) to go to the Information Center (another building). The reception at the hotel Plaza should have been able to help you and there is also a taxi line right outside the Plaza hotel which you could have used to travel either directly to the bus terminal, to take the next bus from the city, or directly to the airport if you were already running late. At any time you could also have asked someone at the Information Center (or the hotel Plaza) to contact our reception and we would have done everything we could to get you to the airport in time for your flight. Instead, as we have already discussed, the Information Center called the wrong bus company, only checking with one of them apparently, after which you left, somehow, for the airport and arrived too late.

As I have already stated to you directly, it is due to these factors that I did not belief that you could lay the blame for your unfortunate experience at our feet and insist on a full payment from us for your airplane ticket. I am in fact a little unclear as to why you contacted us because of your dissatisfaction with a service which we booked for you, rather than the management of the service in question, especially after that company has fully confirmed that they did receive an airport transportation booking from us (I have already sent you the confirmation itself).

As to the mistake with your name, following is all I said to you in my first e-mail to you on the subject:

“Attached is the confirmation from the Iceland Excursion company. Your name does seem to have been spelled wrong, the order of your first and last name got reversed”
Names are usually written down by sound through the phone, the spelling is not requested by the Iceland Excursion company. Having you name reversed however should not have adversely affected the pick-up in any way since your name should still have been clear and the bus driver (should) always clarified for which service he is picking up for, as well as from which hotel the company received the reservation from. Furthermore the Iceland Excursion company has fully confirmed (based on GPS data) that the Airport Express bus was outside of the Hotel Plaza on the day in question from 9:36 to 9:40.

Finally, I resent the following insinuation: “To top it off, the hotel was suggesting how the Tourist Information and Iceland Excursions could have helped instead of suggesting how they themselves could prevent this from happening again”. I have only attempted to clarify that there were other factors involved than the part the City Center Hotel played. During this time you received services and aid from other companies as well as making your own decisions. I did not point these things out to lay blame but simply to defend my decision not to pay in full your airplane ticket as you insisted on when you contacted us first. As far as I am aware yours is the only case that I have heard of, since the hotel opened more than a year ago, where one of our guests has missed their flight due to problems with their airport transportation service. Therefore I feel that there is not necessarily much that needs to be improved with the service itself but rather that there are some aspects of this case in particular which need reviewing.

We will always do our best to assist all of our guests with any difficulties or questions which they may have so that everyone that stays with us can have the best possible holiday while in Iceland. This has been our policy from the start and I am truly sorry that we did not have the chance to fully do so in your case.

I hope this fully covers all the particulars of the incident that you were dissatisfied with. Please feel free to contact me at any time if you have any further thoughts or questions about this matter.


Best regards

Birnir Orri Pétursson
General Manager
City Center Hotel
birnir@citycenterhotel.is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel seafood restaurant "Wine and Shell" specialises in Icelandic mussels and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing