We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kex Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kex Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Kex Hostel for the beginning and end of our trip to Iceland and were really satisfied with this hostel. The rooms are nice and very good service. The atmosphere at the restaurant/bar was great, which we really enjoyed when we got back from our trip around Iceland. A lot of locals go out in that bar, and are very open and willing to talk with us, and guide us where to go next, as the bar at Kex closes at 11 o'clock (which is good, for those who want to sleep).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    267
    80
    20
    10
See reviews for
30
143
258
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's a hostel, so there are inevitably going to be aspects of it that aren't as nice as staying in a hotel (sharing a room with strangers, not having a bathroom in the room, etc.) but if you're going to stay in a hostel, this one is an excellent choice. They go out of their way to make it cool and fun, and not feel like it's a bad thing that you're staying there. I feel like a lot of these places have the attitude of "You're not paying much to stay here, so we're not going to put any effort into making it a nice place to stay," but KEX has a totally different vibe. It felt clean, hip, and comfortable and they're attached to a bar/restaurant with couches throughout.. The view is beautiful, and tour buses/airport transfer buses come right to the hostel to pick you up. The only reason I didn't give it 5 out of 5 was that the outdoor bar stays open late and was very loud. The noise combined with the fact that the sun doesn't really go down in Iceland in the summer made it feel like it was the middle of the day when it was really 1:00 a.m. I guess that's a good thing if you want to stay up and party, but if you're exhausted from traveling and just want to sleep at 1:00 a.m., that part wasn't fun. Overall though, it was a great experience, and SO MUCH BETTER than the hostel I stayed at a few days before in London, so I was happy.

Room Tip: I stayed in an all female dorm, which feels safer. However, I was on the side closest to the bar, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in the hostel for 5 nights. Since it was my first time staying in a hostel, I was kind of apprehensive. It was wonderful though. Thank goodness my bus dropped me right off at the door or I don't think I would have found it :/ The first thing you see when you walk in is the bar area (which has wonderful breakfasts) with check-in around the corner. The staff were WONDERFUL. No joke. They answered all of my questions, and were so helpful. I was on the first floor right between the bar and another room where they had some concerts, so it did get a little loud at times. Since I brought my earplugs, I slept wonderfully though. I'm already planning my trip back :)

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kak_rugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed one night in this hostel and left with mixed feelings. There was a noisy and busy bar where locals meet, however, if you are looking for an accomodation, this might not be an enjoyable place. The staff was friendly and relaxed, however, we had to wait for them to come before we check in.
We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom facilities, but, they were dirty and full of hairs during our whole stay. There is no hanger or place where to leave stuff in the bathroom, so you have to put it at the toilet. Normally, I like vintage desing, however, I did not enjoyed the style of the room and floor we stayed in.
There is a kitchen, but, we did not use it. On the other hand, the hostel serves rich breakfast, probably the best we had during the whole stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the "tiny room" which was really clean and nice with its own bathroom. It was also on the top floor at the end of the hall so there was no noise (that we could hear). The staff is friendly and the environment is great. It just so happened that we stayed the night of KEXPort and it was so much fun to be able to hear live music all night right where we were staying. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JucyFanousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

When you enter the Kex lobby, you immediately feel this is a special place. The bar/restaurant is beautiful and cosy, locals hang around, great concerts and good food. We rent a 4-persons room with a splendid view on the Reykjavik bay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Go! Delicious breakfast (unexpected in a hostel), all guest between 25-40 years, relaxed atmosphere. You can chose between dormatories and exclusive rooms (which we need) that have their own bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kex Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kex Hostel

Property: Kex Hostel
Address: Skulagata 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It' s the Icelandic word for "biscuit" and a social hostel in Reykjavik. What's not to love? Housed in an old biscuit factory in the heart of Reykjavik, KEX is just steps from all the bars, clubs, and music venues that give this city its legendary reputation. It's also a painless distance from late night munchies and a mind-boggling array of coffee houses, shops, and tourist attractions. Of course, you might not even want to venture outside of the hostel with all its features: a cafe and bar, lounge area, heated outdoor patio, tourist information desk, laundry room, and free Wi-Fi. Two guest kitchenettes and private laundry facilities are also available. And with a variety of rooms for up to 214 guests, you'll have no problem meeting interesting, new travel buddies from exotic places. KEX oozes with personality and soul-just like our guests. Every piece of decor has a story to tell. Using salvaged materials and found objects from various sources, KEX is an organic concept blending Iceland' s past with a modern, international twist. The raw industrial spaces and vintage furnishings combine to give it a homey, eclectic feel. With the affordable nightly rates, you'll still have enough cash left over to enjoy a few pints of Viking beer or sample some local delicacies like hakarl and Brennivin. In addition to our dormitory rooms we offer three different double rooms: 1. Double Plus - 1 double bed, 1 private bathroom, linens and towels, and 1 fantastic seaside view. 2. Double Standard - 1 double bed (of the most clever convertible design in case you get tired of being so close to your travel partner), shared bathrooms, linens and towels, and if you are lucky the same fantastic view. 3. Twin - 2 single beds, linens and towels, and a better than average chance of making your friends back home quite jealous indeed. LOCATION: KEX is located in the center of Reykjavik, with a view across the sea to Mt. Esja across the bay. The old factory that houses KEX is also home to The Living Art Museum and studios of various artists, dancers, and fashion designers. KEX is within an easy walking distance to the city's interesting nightlife, restaurants, shopping streets, cultural attractions, and other points of interest in the city center. To reach those places a little further afield, the hostel is well connected to the city's public bus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kex Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kex Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing