We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sooooo nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kex Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kex Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sooooo nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We live in Iceland and stayed there twice after having a night out in the city, both times great. The first time I had been to Kex was to meet friends in the bar, which is not exactly cheap, but the decoration is so amazing and the place so cosy and everything is just so cool that it really doesn't matter. So since being there a few times I was very curious about the rooms.

You can either share a room with other people, or book a double room. We stayed in one of the double rooms, I loved the economic vintagey decoration, the view right in front of the sea... and the bed... ohhhh just amazing. From all the hotels I've stayed in Iceland so far that was the best bed ever. New and confortable. I slept so well!!

The bathrooms are all shared, but there are many on each floor, so I never had to wait. They were very clean.

They also have a laundry room and the staff were very, very helpful on the 2nd time we stayed there - we found ourselves in the middle of a tempest and almost all clothes we had were drenched. It was around midnight but they opened the room for us and let us use the drier.

It's very well located. You can walk everywhere from there, well everywhere in the city center. It's near some very nice restaurants.

This was my very first experience staying in a hostel, and must say there can't possibly be any other better than that. I strongly recommend staying here, even if you've never stayed in a hostel before. It's way better than many regular hotels.

Did I mention it was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on here?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ncrln81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    267
    80
    20
    10
See reviews for
30
143
258
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

KEX has it all: supreme location, loads of character, super-clean, great staff, etc. etc. We got here on a Friday night and there was a happy hour going on in the bar/cafe, which was quite busy--although the travelers were a little underdressed compared to the Reyjavik locals in attendance, which were most of the people. The rooms are really cool, though, especially on the side facing the water. Plus, KEX is only about three blocks from the main strips of shops and restaurants in Reykjavik. Seriously, stay at KEX. We stayed in the June, which I'm guessing is the busy season, so price was a bit steep for what I'm used to at a hostel, but this place was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room with a view of the water. It's better than most hotel views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amjeffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Affordable place. Cute rooms. Awesome staff. Bar on the third floor. Not far from everything. Could you ask for more? We ended up moving accommodations to be closer to the Harbor. But for the first few nights, this hostel offered a great intro to Reykjavik!

Room Tip: We loved the bar - a lot of locals enjoyed their time there as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slay5er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

My stay at Kex really exceeded my expectations. It was clean, modern and comfortable and had more of a feel of a hotel than a typical hostel. The staff was very helpful and friendly and were always available to offer advice, book transport or just chat. The bed, which in my opinion is the most important factor in a hostel, was amazingly comfortable with a down comforter (rented for about 3 USD). I'm almost a little mad it was so comfortable because it really set the bar high for the next two hostels I stayed in throughout my 3 country tour...and they fell way below Kex's standard. Security lockers (which were just that, school lockers) were large and roomy, but bring your own padlock! Location was great as well. About two blocks from some stunning water views and not much farther to shops and restaurants. Now finally, let's talk price. Kex is the most exceptional value for your buck! I paid 20 USD a night for what originally was a 16 bed room, but it was undergoing some construction so I was "upgraded" to a 6 bed room which was fantastic. Overall, I will definitely return to Kex when I come back to Iceland, which is a must -- beautiful country, people and culture.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Best hostel I ever been. Staff was very helpful all time. Clean rooms, beautiful and happy place. Big and comfortable kitchen. Absolutely recommendable. I hope to comeback someday here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Fantastic hostel. Very modern the staff were really helpful and it was a great place to meet people, either downstairs in the bar/restaurant or up in the kitchen. Extremely comfy beds, big lockers and hot showers. And for those on a budget the free food shelf was stocked to the rafters! Plus plenty of free leftover gas cylinders for all types of camp stoves so don't buy your own. KEX thankyou!

Room Tip: 16 bed dorm is the cheapest and still good as its divided into two sections. Fills up quick though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff was friendly, fun, and had great suggestions for what to do in Reykjavik. The linens were clean and the beds were warm and comfortable. The lobby area is really cool, too - nice decorations. The floors have communal kitchens - good places to meet people. Anyone going to Reykjavik on a budget should definitely stay at this place - it's worth much more than the price. Stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kex Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kex Hostel

Property: Kex Hostel
Address: Skulagata 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It' s the Icelandic word for "biscuit" and a social hostel in Reykjavik. What's not to love? Housed in an old biscuit factory in the heart of Reykjavik, KEX is just steps from all the bars, clubs, and music venues that give this city its legendary reputation. It's also a painless distance from late night munchies and a mind-boggling array of coffee houses, shops, and tourist attractions. Of course, you might not even want to venture outside of the hostel with all its features: a cafe and bar, lounge area, heated outdoor patio, tourist information desk, laundry room, and free Wi-Fi. Two guest kitchenettes and private laundry facilities are also available. And with a variety of rooms for up to 214 guests, you'll have no problem meeting interesting, new travel buddies from exotic places. KEX oozes with personality and soul-just like our guests. Every piece of decor has a story to tell. Using salvaged materials and found objects from various sources, KEX is an organic concept blending Iceland' s past with a modern, international twist. The raw industrial spaces and vintage furnishings combine to give it a homey, eclectic feel. With the affordable nightly rates, you'll still have enough cash left over to enjoy a few pints of Viking beer or sample some local delicacies like hakarl and Brennivin. In addition to our dormitory rooms we offer three different double rooms: 1. Double Plus - 1 double bed, 1 private bathroom, linens and towels, and 1 fantastic seaside view. 2. Double Standard - 1 double bed (of the most clever convertible design in case you get tired of being so close to your travel partner), shared bathrooms, linens and towels, and if you are lucky the same fantastic view. 3. Twin - 2 single beds, linens and towels, and a better than average chance of making your friends back home quite jealous indeed. LOCATION: KEX is located in the center of Reykjavik, with a view across the sea to Mt. Esja across the bay. The old factory that houses KEX is also home to The Living Art Museum and studios of various artists, dancers, and fashion designers. KEX is within an easy walking distance to the city's interesting nightlife, restaurants, shopping streets, cultural attractions, and other points of interest in the city center. To reach those places a little further afield, the hostel is well connected to the city's public bus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kex Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kex Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing