We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guide, very accommodating”

Green Energy Travel
Ranked #140 of 348 Tours in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GET Iceland is a an environmentally friendly touring company. Our aim is to show you the wonders of Iceland without unnecessary environmental stress. We offer tours in small groups, by knowledgeable and highly motivated guides. We have a passion for taking different paths. Although we include all the well known and famous destinations, we also want to show you hidden gems and secret stops along the way. Places the crowded tourist buses pass by; the true wonders of Iceland. We pride ourselves in working only with guides that have extensive experience, when it comes to tour guiding and tour operations.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful guide, very accommodating”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were just traveling in a group of two, but Green Energy Tours were wonderful with planning tours, accommodations, and being flexible with changes in weather, etc.

Magnus (our guide) was wonderfully sweet and funny, and picked us up (at our apartment) in the middle of the night to drive us around to try and see the Northern Lights.

They set us up with great hotels and apartments at very reasonable rates.

Would highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip in every way!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went a group of twelve, with GET to the southern coast of Iceland. The trip took two days and was really well organized and fun. Magnus, the group leader knows every inch of the country and filled in the blanks with local folklore and ghost stories. Great trip and highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisasoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic, personal, and informative tour!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our G.E.T. tour of Snæfellsnes, skillfully hosted by Hadi was wonderful and a great experience. I would recommend Hadi and GET to anyone looking for a chance to explore Iceland. She was so informed and full of interesting information and facts and was open to answering any questions. We really learned a lot on this tour about the Snæfellsnes area as well as the history of and the geology and politics of Iceland. Hadi took us to many amazing and stunningly beautiful sights, as well as the best restaurant for a terrific lunch on the cliffs overlooking the Atlantic. A cave tour with a guide who sang a lovely Icelandic folk song in the resonant blackness of the cave was an unforgettable highlight. I am so happy that we chose Green Energy Travel for our tour and I would recommend it highly to anybody. 5 stars!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small company with a big heart”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Last October I went to Iceland for the second time with 3 other friends. We stayed 6 days in Reykjavik, joining different day tours. Via internet and email I contacted Magnus Kjartanson of Green Energy Travel. I decided to book 3 tours with him on the 2nd day of our arrival. The prices are reasonable since we can travel in a small van or jeep with only 4 of us! Magnus and his partner Erla are both professional tour guides, telling history of Iceland, stories about elves, dwarfs and a lot of interesting information! The tours can be flexible just like them. They take us to places where the big companies don't go, so we can have more space and freedom. And you can ask a little extra programs if they can do it. We are all satisfied with the tours and 2 great people with a huge warm heart! Thanks Magnus and Erla!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Best Tour of Trip”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Magnus Kjartansson made our trip. The tour is a bit more expensive than most and we were concerned about that at first but Leon, our hotel attendant kept telling us it was 'worth every penny and a high quality tour.' HE WAS RIGHT! Magnus is lovely. He is a local that knows Iceland like the back of his hand. We not only saw the obligatory sights, such as all the amazing waterfalls, glacier lagoon etc, even getting to walk behind one... but he also took us up a hill to a lighthouse to look over miles of black beaches, took us to see a giant cave lined with basalt columns, up to one of the edge of one of the glaciers and to see, up close one of the enormous bore holes releasing steam. Plus much more. He was fun, informative and when we came across a tour bus, at lunch time, we had already made 4 or 5 stops and they had made only 2. SO BOOK WITH MAGNUS! He is worth every penny! There were four of us and we were all in total agreement that all the special stops he made for us were what made it the best tour of our week. Thanks Magnus.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank WhereToNextThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Energy Travel also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Green Energy Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing