We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Uno

Uno
Ranked #82 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: As an artisan bistro we care about quality ingredients. We get up early to bake bread and all our sauces, hot and cold, are made from scratch.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Friendly”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a wonderful place. The food was delicious and the service warm and inviting.
We enjoyed our meal very much and would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    300
    91
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not as good as it looks”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Uno looks wonderful. The specialties are Italian dishes but we ordered the seafood soup and what seemed to be a delightful salad with chicken as main courses. Bad mistake. The seafood soup was creamy with a nice variety of seafoods but much of it was in the shell. OK for mussels but questionable for langostino. There was no side dish served to receive the shells. We emptied the bread basket (extra cost item) onto a napkin and used the basket. The salad had plenty of nicely sliced white chicken breast that was neither cold nor hot; just room temperature. It was accompanied by blobs of cheese that tasted somewhere between feta and mozzarella and a small amount of sesame ginger dressing that could not be called robust.

Service was marginal at best. We were told as we complained upon leaving that the waiter was new. It was clear that no time had been wasted on training. The soup was served sans spoon and the waiter had to hailed from across the room. The bread basket ordered to accompany the soup arrived after the soup had cooled. The check was long delayed; we finally had to hail another server who went in search of the original.

On the plus side one of our party ordered the house white wine which was of excellent quality. The waiter brought a carafe intended for two but when corrected did not exchange it but left the quantity delivered but adjusted the price to reflect the ONE that had been ordered.

We likely would not try it again but if we did might have ordered a traditional Italian dish as those we saw being served to others looked quite appetizing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RevBillAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Frar from authentic italian”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Staff friendy, location perfect, The bruschetta/crostini portion - not the best possible. Cold, tasteless! The cod lacked salt but otherwise was good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled across Uno after arriving into town late on business, and am so thankful I did. The food is great, portions are plentiful, and the staff is very attentive. The owner Hrefna is a wonderful person, and makes everyone feel home and welcomed. I have the privilege of dining all over the world with my job, and Hrefna's welcoming hospitality is a rare find. Definitely recommended, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dining in Reykjavik”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The food was very good, service even better. The waitresses were cheerful and attentive. Portions were above average in size. Local Icelandic beer better than most American brands. Cost was in line with other venues in Reykjavik. Would certainly return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank polsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uno also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Uno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing