We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could you not visit?”

Icelandic Phallological Museum
Ranked #40 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum is in a 250 square meters location on the ground floor on the upper part of the main shopping street in Reykjavik. Good accessability for wheelchairs. Bathroom facilities. A small giftstore with souvenirs related to the museums chosen theme. Online store at website.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“How could you not visit?”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A brilliant and entertaining museum which showcase the male appendage. There are loads of specimens, including human.

It is very interesting and one of the better £5 I've spent.

Make sure you read the guestbook - it's a hoot!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hood_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    399
    358
    90
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Not really for me”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent an hour or so in the museum and that covered everything.
From a personal point of view I didn’t find it terribly interesting and some of the exhibits preserved in glass jars turned my stomach. Still it’s a defiantly a one off and I dare say will remain a talking point for a long time

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ukoneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weird but how can you not go?”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

So, not surprisingly this museum has weiners of all kinds of animals.

They even have a room with folklore creature dongs. So if you want to see an elf, troll, ghost, or zombie cow member, this is the place to go.

Gift shop isn't great. Wish they had magnets that weren't condoms.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BrettBriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth it if you have a spare hour”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is just around the corner from the public bus station where every bus in Reykjavik stops at so if you have a spare hour or even a half hour.. it is an interesting way to get out of the cold.
I took my 16 year old daughter and she didn't seem at all fazed by anything on display.
It is certainly the most unusual museum I have ever been in but I am glad I took the time to visit. Depending on the exchange rate at 1000 ISK its between £4.50 and £5 entry fee

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottishlassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“You have to go!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Brilliant for a visit to lighten your spirits, all kinds of articles! Also very factual, many whale specimans and animals of other kinds although sadly minus the human addition :( The museum is quite small but very easy to get around, they have quide books in many languages which you hand back when you leave. Also a small gift shop where buying a souvenir is a must! First time I've seen a collective thimble of this kind ha ha :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suki29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Phallological Museum also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Phallological Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing