We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the many reasons to come back to iceland!”

Mountaineers of Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$201.77*
and up
Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the many reasons to come back to iceland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked the golden circle super jeep tour plus snowmobiling on Langjokull glacier with Mountineers of Iceland. Sven our guide was amazing, such a friendly, knowledgeable and passionate guy who really made the trip the experience it was! I cannot praise him enough.

Highlights were the stunning volcanic crater (not usually included in the standard bus tours), the lamb soup at gulfoss, the story of the night trolls (saw loads!), the "detour" on the road up to Langjokull (what an amazing driver Sven is) and the most fantastic hour snowmobiling across the glacier (stunning views I would give anything to go back there!).

It is 100% worth the money for the memories you'll take home with you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    66
    18
    9
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Snowmobiling with Mountaineers.is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We pre-booked this tour in the UK before arriving in Reykjavik. We had our own rental 4x4 from Bluecar Rental so we did not require a hotel pickup. So it was agreed with the guys from Mountaineers that we would meet them at the Gullfoss Cafe at 12.30 on the 28/1/13 (Our guide Gholly turned up in his truck at 11.30 nice and early) After the initial introductions and paperwork check we left the Cafe car park. Our guide was very imformative and answered all our questions, his driving ability in sometimes complete "whiteout" was excellent and exciting. We eventually got to the snowmobile centre in a reasonable time and once a pathway was dug out we entered the changing room. all the necessary gear for the experience was hanging up including snow overalls, helmet, gloves. I had a Northface McMurdo Coat which I wore on top of their gear for extra warmth (if you want you can leave your coat on and put their gear over it). We then moved to the area for an induction on snowmobiling. Then we were shown to our snowmobiles and we set off! There is always a member of the team at the front and rear, we were 3rd in line and had no problems (some people behind us came off or had problems so we had to stop and wait until they were sorted. We arrived at the glacier in a blizzard so walking around was a bit tricky but fun. Plenty of photograph time and then a return journey to the centre. Plenty of time to remove all snow gear and a chance to talk to other people from different tours. Then we were taken back to the Gullfoss Cafe. We decided a bowl of homemade soup was required . The team at Mountaineers really impressed us - Thank you!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fourleafDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super jeep and snowmobiling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fantastic day, super jeep was great fun and comfortable, driver funny and informative (mr tattoo hand). What an awesome day. snowmobiling was excellent. I would recomend this trip dont delay bok it, well worth the money to book the super jeep as opposed to travelling in a coach. The best day x

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindsey125690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PearlTour (with Snowmobiling)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went on this trip yesterday (04/02/13) - it is knock out!

Everything was excellent on this trip. Yes it was about £200 each, but well worth it. I'm really glad we went for the whole thing. Only 6 people on the trip + driver, so it was very smooth going, no waiting for ages whilst people queue for the loo or shopping for trinkets.
Massive jeep (46" Wheels") was awesome, National Park was great, walking by the edge of tectonic plate etc, Geysir was pretty amazing (got a double blast on vid), Gullfoss was impressive, but I guess I was too excited about the snowmobiling. After Gullfoss we went up to the glacier, sometimes off-roading in the jeep :D, and then got all the oversuits, overshoes, over-gloves etc on and jumped on some snowmobiles. It was snowing when we set off, and yes it was cold, but it was incredible. When we got to the top of our route, the sun had come out and shone a brilliant light over the untouched snowscape. Truly a sight to remember. Beautiful. We then took our time getting back to the hut, about 25-30 mins - giving it a rip here and there. Loved it. Snowmobiling trip was easily over an hour long.
Stop for a welcome coffee at Gulsfoss on the down the glacier, then off to a Volcanic Crater (again, beautiful) before heading back to Reykjavik.

A long day, an amazing day, a day to remember. If you're going to do the Golden Circle, then I whole-heartedly recommend this trip. Wear thermals under your clothes though. Don't "Ummm and Ahhh" - just book it.

Lastly, I'd like to say what a top guide Alfreth was. Intelligent, knowledgeable, funny and clearly enjoying what he does for a living. He made the road trip parts much more interesting, all the way there and back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank H33L4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“golden circle with snowmobilling tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was an amazing trip we were looked after from begining to end the driver Sven kept us entertained and was very knowledgeable on the country and scenery any questions we asked he answered and we were able to find out a lot about the country and its history. The lamp soup at the gulfoss waterfall was delicious. Yes it was cold snowmobiling but there were lots of gloves hats etc., to choose from and the suits provided were very warm. We found the trip good value for money considering what we did and the area we visted that would not be available to a normal coach etc., All in all an amazing day and a wonderful addition to our trip to Iceland....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dazalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountaineers of Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Mountaineers of Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing