We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We staying at Reykjavik Residence Hotel in the last week of February 2014 and we were extremely pleased with our choice of hotel. Our room was very comfortable and very clean with the highlight being the very comfy bed. We staying in room 301 and we had a decent sized room with our own hob and sink to wash our dishes in.

As the hotel is based in the city centre, there wasn't much to look at out of the window but you are a few minutes walk away from the marina with breathtaking views of snow covered mountains.

The staff were also extremely helpful and very polite. For one of our trips, our pick-up hadn't arrived and the staff kept calling the organisers for an update and made sure that we made it for our trip.

Breakfast is left in the fridge in the rooms and fresh bread is delivered every morning which was very tasty.

When we stayed, there were roadworks outside of the hotel which started very early but this was mentioned on the hotel's website when we booked and it really wasn't that noticeable when we were there.

The only downside to the hotel was the shower which wasn't the best, but that is just being really picky to see if there are any negative points to the stay. One other aspect which may bother some people (but didn't really bother us) is that for our double bed, we were provided with two single duvets rather than a double duvet. Again, this wasn't a sticking point for us but its worth considering if things like this are important to you.

Overall, for the price and location, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we were told that we had been upgraded to a larger room because there were none of the room sizes we had booked available. A great start! The receptionist showed us to the room and helped with our bags up the stairs. The room was amazing! It was more like a small apartment. A large bathroom complete with washing machine/tumble dryer, two bedrooms, and a large kitchen/dining/lounge aread with flat screen TV, freeview box, two couches, dining table and chairs. The kitchen had everything you could need. Big fridge freezer, microwave, oven and hob, utensils and pans, dishwasher and coffee maker. Everything was clean, modern and the style of the apartment was lovely. It was always warm in the apartment even in the day without the heating on. There was some roadwork going on outside the main building and I was woken by it on the first morning, but I didn't hear it again after that. We used the kitchen a lot as the hotel is close to the local supermarket Bonus, where we got everything we needed for our breakfast and other meals. It's also smack bang in the city centre. It's a short walk to the harbour, and an even shorter walk to local shops, bars and restaurants. The staff were great, always happy to chat and help out. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, it was perfect and if I return to Reykjavik I will be staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kat307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a truely wonderful stay at the Reykjavik Residence Suites. From the warm greeting on arrival to the help with arranging our airport transfer at departure, it was a delightful experience. Our large suite was luxuriously appointed and thoughtfully equipped, including the provision of a coffee maker and milk frother. Coffee, milk and orange juice were provided daily, together with the delicious breakfast trays and fresh bread. The suite's fittings provided a luxurious ambiance with a large bath, separate shower, an enormous bed, plenty of comfortable seating for relaxing, two large TVs and plenty of soft lighting to provide a cosy setting. The availability of a kitchen area meant that this was far better than a hotel room. Without exception, all of the staff here were friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They were always available when needed but were not intrusive. We were provided with several excellent restaurant recommendations. The location of the Reykjavik Residence could not be more convenient. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the main shopping/dining area and about 5 minutes walk from one of the main excursion operators. We cannot recommend the Reykjavik Residence highly enough. The obvious attention to detail and care ensures that their guests enjoy the best possible experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Reykjavik Residence Hotel in early Feb 2014. We paid £90 per night for a twin room and were very pleased with the hotel. It was well located in Reykjavik and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable and warm. Breakfast was provided by way of a basket of cold foods, fresh bread etc and there were excellent cooking facilities in the room to do toast, tea etc - even enough equipment & facilities to cook a meal at night if you wanted to. The staff were so helpful and very friendly. I would happily stay there again. No complaints!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

At Hverfisgata 45, the Residence Hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from myriad shops, restaurants and points of interest right in the centre of town. The rooms are quite plain but tasteful with comfortable twin/double beds, en suite shower rooms and a compact kitchen supplied with tea/coffee/juice and equipped for cooking, if necessary. Items for a varied continental breakfast are delivered each evening followed by fresh bread from the local bakery at around 7:30. Don't worry - they won't wake you up; it will be hung outside your door. Staff were cheerful and helpful with advice about trips etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights in February, and very much enjoyed the experience. Our unit was a suite (upgraded from studio) with kitchen. Probably because our package did not include breakfast, they had a complimentary milk, cereal, OJ and coffee/ tea in our room, which was a nice touch. Everything in the room was spotlessly clean, and bathroom amenity was of high quality. (yes, they had hair conditioner as well.) The staff at the front desk were all friendly and very helpful, and gave us some great suggestions for restaurants and else. The location is also perfect, since it is close to many restaurants, bakery and supermarket, but still is removed from the main road which meant it was quiet.
Now, the construction of the front road seem to be progressing very slowly. We did not find it noisy, and we probably had quieter nights because of it since the road was basically blocked off to the general traffic. The only slight inconvenience it caused was that some of the tour companies need to pick you up at the nearest corner, so you need to wait for them standing outside whereas normally you can simply wait to be picked up at the hotel lobby. Depending on the weather, this could be inconvenient. Even taking this into account, however, I would highly recommend this hotel and will go back anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynGirl1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for a city break . Excellent hotel and room with kitchenette . The breakfast is brought to you the night before with fresh bread hung on your door in the morning . It is delicious and there was so much we used it to make lunch to take out with us for a picnic lunch .Excellent location for exploring the city , close to the shopping streets, harbour and bus stations where the trips are based from . Divine beds cosy and comfy , perfect after a long days activities .Staff really helpful and couldn't do enough for you.I would readily recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,797 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $179 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing