We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base to explore Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the ideal base to explore Reykjavik. Upmarket self catering, although an excellent breakfast tray and fresh bread are, provided. Makes more sense than booking a faceless hotel chain. Hverfisgata runs parallel to Laugavegur (main shopping street/bars/restaurants etc) but is much quieter. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff with lots of local knowledge of what to do and where to eat. Renate was a mine of information for us eg Seabarron on the Old Harbour for a wonderful lobster bisque. I think they have another Residence at 21 down the street, probably equally as good

Room Tip: We had a basement room which was very quiet but light. Buy some duty free wine/spirits at Keflavik a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speriamo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I can only recommend this place to anyone visiting Reykjavik. Everything has been great. Super nice staff, very nice and clean rooms with a kitchen, big and plenty breakfast with fresh, still warm bread from a local bakery. Within walking distance to everything. Reykjavik Expeditions Bus Terminal 5 mins walk. Main shopping street 1min walk, and since Reykjavik is so small pretty much all sights of the city within walking distance. You get A++ Service for a very discount price! Staff very friendly and helpful. We left a few items when we left and they sent it to us, we had it all back within 3 days after we got home. Would stay at this Hotel again anytime!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khamsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were very happy with our choice of the Reykjavik Residence for our visit. Fellow travelers have pointed out all the pluses and we concur. Comfortable and perfectly situated with a superb staff especially the knowledgable, helpful and super sweet, Renata.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katshorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

exceptional attention to detail. we visited around xmas time - our room was decorated and they left complimentary dried meats and Icelandic xmas drink. front desk was wonderful, helpful and on top of their game. location was great, so close to everything. shower water didn't smell like other/newer hotels. I presume they heat their own water that doesn't rely on sulphur-smelling heating system that the city uses. loved our stay. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LatteAddict12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Third trip to Reykjavik; stayed at the Hilton the first two times, which was very nice but too far out of town. Booked a 3 bedroom suite, which was very comfortable, with a full kitchen; would have been nice to have a second bathroom though. The included breakfast was served in room in the form of a generous tray of breads, cheeses, meats, hard-boiled eggs, etc that was replenished in the fridge each day; it was generous enough to use to pack snack each day as well. Location was great, just a block off the main street with easy access everywhere. Should be noted that this is more akin to an apartment rental vs. a full service hotel; no bellmen to help with luggage, no concierge, when the electricity when out the front desk clerk has no idea where the breaker box was, etc. But given the space, comfort, location and price, I would certainly return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vnyrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel ( even though there are roadworks this does not effect the hotel).
We were given a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our lovely room. The room was spacious, cosy and had everything we needed. It was tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed ,good kitchen area ,in fact you couldn't ask for anymore.
The staff were helpful , on the night our trip to the Northern Lights was cancelled we were called by the receptionist to tell us there were sightings in the city, if she had not told us this we may have missed them, small touches like this make you feel like a valued guest and not just a paying customer.
Would definitely recommend the breakfast tray, plenty of choice ( fresh bread is the best ever) and sets you up for the day, also great as you are not restricted to breakfast times as you would be in a restaurant.
There is nothing bad about this hotel and would definitely recommend as very central and you are guaranteed a warm welcome and helpful staff for any questions / recommedations during your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCHUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay, fantastic location, great room and the staff were exceptional providing us with lots of great information for our trip. Staying here really enhanced out holiday, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahkelly267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
601 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $201 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing