We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great people, great location.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

After a red eye flight, we arrived in Iceland first thing in the morning exhausted. While I might have been disappointment that your room was unfortunately not ready, the hospitality of Alice didn't let that affect anything. She quickly booked us on the afternoon tour of the Golden Circle, gave us a great recommendation where we could grab a bite and the adventure began.

Alice took great care of us throughout our trip, with guidance of where to eat and how enjoy our time in Iceland. It was great fun after a day of exploring to be able to return to the hotel and share our experiences of the day. She definitely made us feel at home.

The room was great as well. Plenty of space in room and in the bathroom. The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to explore the shopping and the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    145
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
282
461
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol,Ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

You might find it odd that the overall rating is 5 circles considering how disappointed I was to arrive to the sound of a continuous jackhammer right in front the hotel. As others have said the construction outside has been going on for quite awhile, although I don't know if the jackhammering is still occurring.
The reason for the excellent review is because of a couple a major points. First off the property and the room/suite we were assigned was beautiful, complete with kitchenette. Very clean and well maintained. (We were in it for a short time) Secondly, the clerk ( and through her, the manager) were VERY accommodating offering to move us (after we mentioned the jackhammer issue) to their sister apartments close by (but far enough away from the noise) if space was available..which it was. As nice as the first property was, the other apartments right down the street were even better. (Reykjavik Residence Suites) Larger living room/kitchen area, separate bedroom area. Again very clean and neat. While we stayed in the Residence Suites, either property deserves a great review. You should inquire though, about whether construction is till active out front of the first hotel I mentioned.
Be advised that neither property has an elevator which was not a big deal for us, but if you had mobility issues or used a wheelchair it would be.
Bottom line is that while the construction is still active, select the suites at 21 Hverfisgata, but when construction is over (or at least the noisy kind) consider either property. They are both excellent, as are the people working there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weddingphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very comfortable place to stay. Rooms large and clean. Highlight was the provided breakfast supplies, which was more than sufficient for a picnic lunch. Only downside was the roadworks in the street outside (not the Hotel's fault). These prevent access to the Hotel's street address by car, but were very poorly marked (didn't tell you road was closed, until it was too late). We spent nearly 1 hour negotiating back streets and one-way streets to find a parking place behind the hotel. Strongly suggest that if you are staying here in the near future and coming by car, you ring the Hotel and ask which streets to use for access. It is quite easy when you know how.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Suspect all rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

lovely cosy rooms,very clean, also nice having breakfast tray delivered and fresh bread.When we stayed they were doing roadworks outside the apartments, we were at front of building and I wasnt willing to listen to it if we were in room during the day so requested to be moved, which they did which was good.I appreciate its not there fault that the roadworks are being done but I felt it would impact on our holiday if we stayed in that room.we were much more comfortable in our new room.had to phone One day to get breakfast brought up to room as it had not been left.when we left we got flybus back to airport but were not told by the receptionist who phoned to confirm it that we needed to stand on corner down the road for pick and not their suites building we were now staying at which doesn't have roadworks outside.so we missed first bus as it zoomed past and didn't stop,phoned receptionist on duty in the apartments and he got another bus to come and pick us up so we made flight ok.all in all nice place to stay,especially if there's no roadworks outside!all problems we had were sorted out,think they just need to try and avoid problems before they happen a bit better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 8am after traveling all night. Check in time was in the afternoon, so we ask if there was anyway we could check in early. The girl at the desk told us that the previous people had already left , but the room was not ready. She suggested that we go to a bakery a few blocks away for a breakfast and return at 10am and the room would be ready. The bakery was great, but is was a bit rainy out so we returned at 9:30. No problem the room was ready! We paid extra to have breakfast for the next day delivered to our room. Is was nice and quite a bit of food. In general the hotel was clean, comfortable, and staff was helpful. I would stay there again if visiting Iceland. There was roadwork in front of the hotel, but it was not a problem and is probably done by now. Loved the hand soap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Did a 3 night stay over Labor Day weekend and it was fab-u-lous!! Our first time visiting Iceland and did not know what to expect - we were blown away by the sites, but the people we meet always make our trips. And the first person to amaze me was Alice (who I think should be the Queen of Iceland Hospitality or some such title). We arrived tired and our room was still occupied. Alice waved a wand, booked us the afternoon tour of the Golden Circle, told us where to grab an excellent bite before our tour and we were off. Came back from the incredible tour - room was perfect and Alice gave us some ideas for dinner. Next day - it's a bit rainy, poof-Alice waves her wand and we are chilling at the Blue Lagoon - what rain. Again great food suggestions for dinner. Next very windy day we go exploring in town - another great day and did our laundry at the Laundromat Café - best time I've had doing laundry!! Nice frig in the room for our Iceland water (the best!!). Great bed and shower. Excellent location. Did hear the party people on Saturday night/Sunday am, but it lasted a short time and then I guess they stumbled home. Would definitely recommend staying here. Our room was across from the receptionists desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMEWALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. When we arrived we were rather concerned about the road works being done in front of the hotel but they didn't bother us at all as we were up and about before they started in the morning and back after the time they finished. If you wanted to laze around in your room all day then they might be an issue but there are so many fantastic things to see and do around Reykjavik that seems like an awful waste! The room was very comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed having breakfast in our room before setting out for the day. Freshly baked bread was delivered every morning (hung in a bag on the door like a newspaper) and it was delicious. We intend to return to Iceland for a longer visit and would stay at the Reykjavik Residence Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreaming57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
547 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
971 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Property: Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing