We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early Sept 2013.

Good location - Less than 10 mins walk from city centre and about 3 mins walk to the Grayline Iceland Excursion bus terminal. So if you have arranged some local tours there (or airport bus), it is very convenient.

Nice room - Room is clean and spacious. Have a little kitchen so you can prepare a breakfast. Like a suite rather than a hotel room. Comfortable bed and a flat screen TV with satelite and cable.

Nice staff - Friendly and helpful. We have missed a local tour due to a delay of flight and the staff arrange another pickup for me.

No elevator - you have to move your luggage around yourself.

No staff at night - You will have your own key to open the main door (hotel door) and your room door. 1 key do all and so security may be a problem you can imagine.

Advice - I have a room in the basement. Please ask for one in the first or second floor.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great staff, extremely friendly and helpful. Room was very nicely decorated, comfortable bed and very good bathroom. Feels more like a boutique Hotel rather than small hotel in Iceland as come across their description.

Room Tip: With no elevator, ground floor is recommended for those with the bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zakie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just got back from our trip to Iceland, finishing with a 2-night stay at this hotel. It was the perfect end to our trip. Very nice and helpful staff and the room was perfect. Yes, you are in the middle of the "party" district and a little loud on Sat. night, but we liked the hotel very much. Very close to all bars, restaurants, attractions and shops.

I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tutorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We picked this hotel based on TripAdvisor ratings and were not disappointed. It is a small clean hotel with large and well appointed rooms. The staff in reception were very helpful and we got into our room before 8AM when arrived tired from our overnight flight from the USA. The staff could not be more accommodating. While, during our stay, construction was taking place on the street outside, things were quiet by 6:00PM. The room was large and well equipped. It was a cozy home in a faraway place. The location is central to Reykjavik's city center so no car is necessary to get around. We had one and parking was free...another bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Best to avoid the front of the hotel during the current construction on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a lovely choice location in Reykjavik for a Vacation stay. The location was perfect walking distance from everything in town. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very comfortable. The in room breakfast service was terrific, especially for those who want to get out for an active day , as the cold items can be packed to take out , or eaten in the room, in case your jetlag has you hungry at a different time of day than 'rekyjavik' breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel for a vacation.

Room Tip: The swimming pools I reference are the many excellent ones in the town of rekyjavik, that can be wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmkmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Many of the pros and cons are already listed and I agree with most. It is in a great location-close to the main shopping street, restaurants, HARPA, etc. You will not need a taxi. We stayed on the third floor of 21 Hverfisgata-very spacious room, bathroom, wifi etc. Great sunlight (if the sun happens to make an appearance during your stay). You have heard about the breakfast tray, coffee, etc. Nice touches.

It is noisy due to the bars close by. Many times there is no one in the lobby so you need to call if you need something. Staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. There is no elevator and no bell staff so if you need to be able to carry your bags. The lack of a restaurant is negated as there are so many cafes and restaurants very close by.

We found the price to be better than most of the highly rated hotels and would stay again if we return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Residence Hotel with my 2 teenage children for 7 days. I was willing to pay significantly more for a hotel that was rated # 1 by tripadvisor as my husband wouldn't be with us and I wanted to be sure that I'd have help with whatever we needed. I selected a Christian X Suite because it had a more apartment like style for our long stay & it was advertised to have a washer/dryer & all amenities. Prior to our we had already been traveling in Europe for a week. Upon arrival, not only wasn't there a washing machine but the receptionist advised us that we could pay $40 USD for the hotel to send the laundry out or go to the laundromat (which is actually a very fun restaurant/bar in addition to doing your laundry). At approx $200 USD a night I was rather annoyed that we had to cart our laundry to a laundromat. There was also no safe to place for our money and passports. The receptionist searched our room trying to find the safe and finally I asked if we could have the hotel lock our passports up. I wasn't comfortable leaving a large amount of cash with anyone so we split the money up amongst ourselves and thankfully there were no issues there. On our last day I noticed that someone had placed a safe in our wardrobe that day but the staff did not mention anything to us and at that point it didn't matter. Do note that the building with these suites is located a couple of doors down in a separate building from their original hotel. When we unpacked we realized that we'd left 2 electrical adaptors at our last hotel, asked reception if they had any, they did not. The receptionist brought 2 in from her home for us to borrow the next day. The building is not staffed in the evening or overnight, there is an iPad left on the reception desk for you to use, I guess, to find your way around. We had friends staying at the Centrum Hotel and we utilized their hotel's front desk staff to arrange all of our trips. On the last night I asked if we could get a wake up call and our receptionist said that because there wasn't anyone at the front desk in our building she wasn't sure that we could. She was going to ask the main reception desk and that was the last we heard of that. The actual building is beautiful, but you are across from 2 bars which were quite loud on Friday and Saturday night from 12:00AM onward. There was actually 2 men fighting with bottles in the park next to our hotel at 5AM on Sunday morning. While the suite is very nice, basically an upscale 1 bedroom apartment with a pull out couch, the actual hotel experience is virtually nonexistent. The daily cleaning service comes around 9AM, due to the time change my kids slept in a few of the mornings. I asked the staff to come back in the afternoon which they did not. We had 3 days where the room was never cleaned. Our friends had a great experience at the Centrum Hotel and, given the total lack of service at our hotel, I would have much rather have spent less money & stayed there where we felt the staff was available for assistance at all times. Again, the apartment was very comfortable but if your are visiting Iceland for the first time, I'd suggest skipping the advertised luxury & instead stay at a full service hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cassandspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,809 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $177 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing