We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were upgraded from a studio room to a 2 bedroom apartment so I'm bound to be biased, however.... The apartment was beautifully done, extremely well equipped, and in a great location. The staff were excellent and the breakfast tray was really nicely done, we thoroughly enjoyed it. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to anyone. If the rest of the rooms are up to the same standard as the apartments then I'm sure even if we hadn't been upgraded we wouldn't have been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lingheadcrumple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    136
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
269
452
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor's recommendation and we were not steered wrong. It was a fantastic location in the heart of Reykjavik, our studio's kitchenette made breakfast and meals easy, and I loved the bathroom. A shower where I didn't have to be an acrobat to shave plus a towel warmer!! We were in their new facility and had free parking in a garage across the street. We felt we were in our own luxury apartment in Reykjavik. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannabeinkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just as other trip advisors have noted, the Reykjavik residence hotel is really a must if you have the money. Having a full apartment + the tray brimming with cheeses, breads, hard boiled eggs, ham and more that was placed in our fridge daily was pretty special. It seems like any place after this is downhill. The location was also great, just a couple of blocks from the city centre, you are close to everything and no noise. The heated towel Warner's were great not only for warm towels, but when whenever we rinsed out clothes, they dries quickly. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have mobility problems, ask for the first floor...but the stairs are easy. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with five friends and we all loved it. The apartments are very central one of the best locations in Reykjavik. The staff are all friendly helpful and speak perfect English. It was all lovely and clean and the beds are so comfy. If I go to Iceland in the future I will stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed in apartment 700 it was spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magneil31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My family stayed at the Reykjavik Residence Hotel for 6 nights based on TripAdvisor reviews. Absolutely loved it! Location is perfect, apartment was spacious, beds comfortable and property was very clean. The washing machine/dryer combo was a little hard to figure out and took some time to dry, but was a Godsend. Laundry detergent is supplied. The hotel keeps the fridge stocked with juice and milk and the cabinet with tea, coffee, sugar and cereal-at no charge. There is also a wet bar with soda and various spirits (charge). Staff is fantastic-friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. While there was a little street noise (I am a very light sleeper) overall the location is very quiet. And there is free parking at the hotel. The shampoo, conditioner and bath gel are of very high quality. The deep tub is perfect for a good soak after a long day. Apartment was cleaned and towels refreshed daily. We will go back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outbacklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We enjoyed an eight night stay at this wonderful property. The suite was large, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast baskets were wonderful. We enjoyed the staff as they were very attentive and friendly. The location is perfect for getting around town. It was like our little home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend in Iceland. The hotel is in an unassuming street but is only a couple of minutes from the main shopping street with all the shops, bars and restaurants...It's only a ten minute walk also to the port where there are equally as many shops and places to eat. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment behind the main hotel...only one other apartment in our building. No noise, no traffic..perfect !
The apartment consisted of 2 double bedrooms, living area, kitchen with cooker, oven, microwave and dishwasher. The open areas had a table with 6 chairs as well as 2 settees, ipod docking station and satellite TV.
Everything is very modern and very clean and very hot if you use the heating. This is definitely more than a three star place of residence and a bit of a hidden gem.
The bathroom was spacious with a bath and over head shower. Water is piping hot but as this is piped from underground springs you'll notice an eggy sulphurous smell that you'll soon get used to. The bathroom also has a washing machine inside it too!
We ordered breakfast which arrived each day on a tray. A good selection of breads, cheese, cold meats, jams, little chocolates and boiled eggs.
We loved staying here and it was so much nicer than a standard room.
Reception staff were great as were Icelandic people no matter where we went to. Perfect manners as well as a genuine interest in where you were from.
Although this is an expensive place to visit you can find bars selling reasonably priced beers and drinks..can't wait to go back.
As an aside you must visit the Blue Lagoon, the absolute highlight of our stay !

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 402...perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,481 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Property: Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing