We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family friendly apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are a family of two adults and two teenagers and we stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights in February 2103.The apartment was located in a building across the road behind the main hotel. As we were away from the main road the apartment was very quiet. Our apartment was huge, with two good sized bedrooms, a large living room with two sofas and a chair and a well equipped kitchen with filter coffee machine, dishwasher, microwave and a dining room table seating 6 people. The bathroom was also spacious with a lovely deep bath, but with only a hand held shower, and we also had a washer dryer which was a pleasant surprise! There was also a good sized TV with all the popular UK channels, which was very useful for our teenage children!
Our apartment was a roof apartment with sloping windows in the roof and was on the first floor of the building, which was also the top floor. There is no lift but we managed to drag our heavy suitcases up the stairs! We were extremely lucky during our stay to have a couple of very clear nights and amazingly we could actually see the Northern Lights from the roof windows! It was about a 5 minute walk down to the sun sculpture by the waterfront from our apartment and from there we had amazing views of the Northern Lights over Reykjavik.
The hotel is in a superb location, just one street down from the main shopping street. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the main bus depot for Icelandic Excursions bus trips.
The breakfast tray provided was more than sufficient for us, with bagels, breads, cream cheese, hard boiled eggs and meat. There were also cornflakes in a jar plus you get cartons of orange juice and milk every day. I am a coffee lover so the sachets of Nescafe provided were not great. Also the tea provided in the breakfast tray was Icelandic herbal tea. But there was a filter coffee machine and in the cupboards we found some coffee filters and ground coffee, and some Earl Grey teabags, which may have been left by a previous guest but were very useful! There is a convenience store just up the road from the hotel where you can buy extra supplies if needed.
We ordered Domino’s Pizza one night and got this delivered to our apartment; the number is on a list next to the telephone in the apartment together with other popular restaurants.
When we first arrived, the free Wi-Fi was not working but we mentioned this to reception and they said they would reset it, which they did. The following day it worked perfectly and was very quick, which was very useful with teenage children and their gadgets!
The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that, although the apartment was immaculate when we arrived, the daily maid service was not up to such a high standard. They replaced towels, made beds, put the dishwasher on in the kitchen but they did not seem to wipe round the bath or sink or replace toilet rolls when we ran out. We also came back one day at 4pm to find the daily maid service had not happened, even though we had been out since 8.30am that day. We did complain to reception, who got someone to do it straight away, but we did find this annoying as we just wanted to relax in the apartment after being out all day. I would recommend that you tell reception when you are going out and ask for early maid service!
The hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport on arrival and this worked very smoothly, our driver was waiting for us in arrivals with our name on a sign. The hotel also booked the same taxi driver for the way back to the airport, which worked very well for us.
Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as the location and size of the apartments are outstanding, especially for families.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on a high floor and got a very quiet top floor room (on the first floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dinah_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

from the greeting at 2am in the morning to the room and the breakfast tray everything was welcoming and perfect.We stayed on two occasions on our visit to Iceland and we were in two different rooms - both beautifully appointed. The front desk staff were all very helpful , friendly and welcoming- we could not ask for more. The location of the hotel is so close to the main part of Reykjavik - walking to everything is easy- yet the rooms are quiet . We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will definitely go back .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ranster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a two bedroom apartment (breakfast included) and were fully satisfied. The apartment was clean and very spacious in comparison with other apartments we've been before. The kitchen was fully equipped and allowed us to prepare warm meals instead of going in overpriced restaurants. The breakfast was put in the fridge every day in a basket, containing multiple bread rolls, eggs, juices, charcuterie, cheese etc. We highly recommend this place for families that want to stay for a few nights and visit the south / west of Iceland. The residence is very close to the main shopping street and restaurants in Reykjavik. One room had a double bed and the other two single beds. We booked through expedia which was much cheaper than booking through the hotel directly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything about our three-night stay was great. We started off with a warm welcome at reception - all staff we met were friendly and very helpful. There are no public areas or bars in this hotel so it's not somewhere that a group could socialise.

The room was spotless, decorated to good standard - a bit Ikea bland but the colour scheme is in keeping with the Icelandic landscape which is a nice touch.

The beds were comfortable and the room very quiet.

Continental breakfast comes in a cute little basket which they put in the fridge the day before. A good selection of breads, cheese, ham etc. enough we found to make a packed lunch. The orange juice is not the best quality but it does the trick.

Bathroom was also really clean. The shower was one of those mixer things that don't attach to the wall - you have to sort of crouch in the bath and hose yourself over. Bit of a pain but lots of lovely really hot water.

Location couldn't be better - within minutes walking distance of everything in Reykjavic and handy to get out onto the main road if you are driving out of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

we stayed at RRH for the first half of our honeymoon. i read all of the great reviews on tripadvisor and decided to book 5 nights at RRH.

i wasn't disappointed.

location - great! we didn't have a car so we wanted a location where there were restaurants and attractions within walking distance. even the one time we needed to take the bus (we left a bag on the flybus shuttle and they actually saved it for us @ the bus station when we tracked it down 2 days later!) there were bus stops in either direction right outside.

customer service - was great from the moment we stepped in till the last moment. (we were even able to do our laundry which is always a plus on long trips!) i did utilize the option to check in early. we had a red eye and arrived around 6-7am. so we paid for 1/2 the day before and we were able to have our room ready upon 7am arrival! complete bonus since my sleeping pills were still working and i needed to crash for just a while longer before really starting our trip. upon leaving the front desk even assisted us with our luggage as we were in a rush trying to run to our shuttle. she saw we were one hand short and assisted us and wished us a good flight! i thought that was a great touch!

computer access - we did not bring a laptop on our honeymoon so having computer access in the lobby to check in for our flights and last minute tour research was very convenient. we were able to print out our boarding passes too without a prob. they also have ipads that you could rent if needed too.

breakfast - is delivered and in your frig the day before so it's ready and waiting for you in the morning. this was convenient and when you're away from home, it felt quaint to sit with your loved one and eat at the dining table. it made it feel even more like home. we also were never able to finish all of the breakfast provided, it's def a great variety and quality and quantity.

rooms - the beds were crazy comfortable. i can especially attest to this as one of the days i felt under the weather and stayed in bed all day and night recovering.

my only note was that during my booking, i asked for a quiet room/floor since i'm a super light sleeper. one of the days we were in the lobby, we heard the front desk telling the caller that the opposite side of the building was the quiet side. if i hadn't heard her mention this, i wouldn't have noticed. being on the side of the building closest to the street did not even affect my sleeping once. plus i wasn't sure if maybe the type of room i requested was only on the side closest to the street. so, i couldn't even hold this one against them! i slept perfectly!

i would def recommend RRH. i think it's a great value and location with great customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank miltonsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived the hotel at 6ish in the evening. We had to wait for a bit for the receptionist, but after that we had a great stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. Just off the main road, it was a short walk to anything we needed. The people who worked there were at hand to book both trips and transportation, and just throughly lovely.

The only thing you need to be awere of is the slightly phsoporous smell of the water, but that seems to be an issue all over Iceland.

I would give this hotel my best recomandations.

Room Tip: We had a room right next to the street, but that wasn't a problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 days in Jan/Feb 2013. This apartment hotel is an excellent chioce if you want something close to the city, but not noisy. The hotel is quiet @ nighttime (whitch is great for reykjavik who can be a really lively city @ nughttime). The bed was comfertable, the rooms where large enough. We even had some friends over and they were thrilled about the hotel. They had cute breakfast baskets in the morning with tea, coffee, milk, juice etc. Bread, some sweets and eggs, cheese etc. Great! Enough food to have 4 breakfast and bring on hiking trips or whatever @ daytime.

The service was great, we had nice recommandations about things to see and do, and also where to dine etc. We would recommend this hotel to everyone who need a chic place to stay in reykjavik.!!

<3 S & H
Norway

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanneTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
606 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $196 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing