We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay at. It was actually once the Norwegian Embassy!
Location: Excellent location. It is right off the main shopping strip, so its not loud at all. Also, it is an 8 minute walk to the harbor from here.
Service: Everyone was very helpful and we had them call for trip/bus reservations a few times.
Comfort: The room was perfect for two people. We had a little fridge with breakfast in it each day (included). It had breads, meat, skyarr (yogurt), jams, tomatoes. Plus there was tea and coffee in the room. The bed was the most comfortable one I have slept in on my travels (and I have done a lot of traveling). The shower did not have a curtain, so it made that a little difficult, but there was plent of pressure! The only complaint I have was that the internet wifi didn't work very well and that the walls were a little thin.
Yes, I would go back there and stay again. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    143
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
281
460
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is perfectly placed, just off the main drag and hence very quiet but within walking distance of everything in Reykjavik. The rooms have mini kitchens with comfy beds and smart and clean bathrooms. The staff are all really friendly and are very knowledgable about their charming city. They dealt well with the fire alarm (from the foolish lads burning bagels at 05:30!), they rebooted the router whenever the wireless played up and were generally very helpful. The only tiny criticism is that the lighting in the bathroom could be better and the toiletries provided were a little meagre (2 small pots of shower gel / shampoo for 2 of us for 4 nights).

Room Tip: We had 102, it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful stay at this inn. I'd rate the employees 5 star and the inn 4 star. We arrived there at 7:30am, and knew our room would not be ready until later. Fellow working at reception stored our bags for us, and at his suggestion offered us a nearby place to grab coffee and a danish before our tour of glacial hiking started.

When we arrived back that evening, he had put our bags in our room, and asked if we'd like help finding a place for dinner. We had heard about the great mountain lamb so asked for tips there. He gave us a map with directions to a place easy to walk to. And that served great lamb. Finally, the night before we left he said "I noticed you took a cab from the airport (very expensive). Would you like to save some $ by taking the bus to the aiport. We said yes and he reserved seats on the bus (bus was 1/10th cost of cab and much more comfortable). As we left we tried to tip the employee who had been so helpful and he refused. Said he was just doing his job. We thank him for making our stay in Iceland so much better.

Room was great. Nits--everyone who has reviewed this place said the next day's breakfast was in the fridge the night before. Not us. Also, crack in one window--made it drafty.

Room-great size. Nice to have full kitchen there. Everything was in great shape. Big room, nice bathroom. Great location to everything in downtown Reykjavik. Very small "boutique" hotel. Think they only have 15 rooms. Not sure how they make money but would stay there again. Also have a laptop for email/web check in.

Room Tip: Room in back of hotel was very quiet. First floor was nice, so not have to take stairs. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugarloaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Loved everything about this place, from the friendly helpful welcome at reception to the superb rooms and perfect location (set one street down parallel to the main street). We stayed in a room on the first floor (although the room numbers are 300). Lovely and light, modern and a great size. Also quiet (although you do get a little bit of traffic noise but it isn't an issue- im a light sleeper and it didn't affect me). Our room had a small kitchen attached to it. And as we were leaving at 7am the next day when we arrived we found a lovely ready to cook/prepare breakfast in our fridge. This was very thoughtful. The room it slef felt more like a nice room in a nice rather than a hotel room. If this hotel chain could replicate this hotel in every city in europe i would stay no where else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robthewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everything about our stay was wonderful. The staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating. They definitely go the extra mile in making your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and it was beautifully decorated to a high standard, stylish and modern. The beds were very comfortable too! It is also equipped with a washing machine if you choose to do some laundry - very handy!! The kitchen cupboards were full of tea, coffee, sugar etc and the continental breakfast was delicious and sufficient. It is replenished every day and waiting for you in your fridge :-) It felt like you were going home at the end of your day and to achieve that from a hotel is simply superb! I don't often write reviews but this hotel deserves all the praise it gets. I recommend it to everyone as it is suitable for families, couples and groups of friends. I will most definitely be going back there. I stayed there with my Mother and two Sisters and I can most certainly speak for them too! A very happy customer :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank erica500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the 3 bedroom apartment. The hotel provides breakfast every day by leaving it in the fridge the night before. The apartment was very spacious, well appointed and comfortable. Fantastic shower. Having a washing machine and dryer was good as the weather was very wet while we were in Iceland, so we could dry off at the end of a day exploring. The staff were without fail helpful and pleasant. Great central location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was centrally located with the main streets and harbour area a very short walk away.

The room was well cleaned each night and fresh breakfast supplied each morning. The showers and appartment was as good as new. We got a great deal here, and if I was to come back to Iceland which I hope to do some day I would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muttley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Property: Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing