We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the 3 bedroom apartment. The hotel provides breakfast every day by leaving it in the fridge the night before. The apartment was very spacious, well appointed and comfortable. Fantastic shower. Having a washing machine and dryer was good as the weather was very wet while we were in Iceland, so we could dry off at the end of a day exploring. The staff were without fail helpful and pleasant. Great central location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    135
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
265
444
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was centrally located with the main streets and harbour area a very short walk away.

The room was well cleaned each night and fresh breakfast supplied each morning. The showers and appartment was as good as new. We got a great deal here, and if I was to come back to Iceland which I hope to do some day I would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muttley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Myself and some friends from Ireland stayed here and thought it was awesome. It is definitely better than any hotels. You have your own apartment within the hotel building. Everything is really modern, cool IKEA design. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is really spacious and the shower had great water pressure which I really appreciated at the end of an activity day on the glaciers!!
They put a tray of breakfast food in your fridge every day so you can get up in the morning, make some really good coffee in the coffee machine and make some nice breakfast. You get orange juice, milk, tea, coffee, skyir yogurt, three types of cheese, bagels, bread rolls and sliced bread. Also there is cornflakes, slices of ham, butter and jam. Basically, it's a nice breakfast before you head out for the day.
There is free wifi in the building which is great cause I had my mac with me and was able to look up tours on line and if you book online you get discounts with a lot of the tours :-)
The staff are really friendly and helpful and have a great sense of humour.
The location is great!! A two minute walk to the city centre, restaurants and the sea is only a 5 minute walk away (which is great if you like to go for a morning run).
Overall, this place is better than I expected. When I go back to Iceland, and I definitely will, I will most certainly stay here again!! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idr938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Apartments and studios. Clean and quaint. Decor is typically simple scandinavian lines. Looks like everything from the furniture to the kitchenware is from Ikea. Looks newly renovated. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent location, within walking distance of almost everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quietusleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Four days in March. We were actually on our way to England and Ireland, but Icelandair has this great stopover thing in Iceland, no additional fare. We're like 50-something Americans, sort of casual humanities types, educated but not especially demanding. We're also not especially hardy or resourceful travelers, and we're not in the Romney financial class. We don't demand luxury, but we don't want to deal with challenging inconveniences. This place was awesome. The price was more than reasonable for the space and the place, a very large room with separate dining/kitchen area, located right next to the funky, off-center, downtown shopping section. Everything was very clean. Every day there was a cheese and fruit tray in the refrigerator for breakfast and snacks. The bed was comfortable. The room had windows on two sides overlooking the street. The building is a vintage style with winding stairways and strange little spaces that make it very personable. The desk manager took us down to the laundry room and showed us how to operate the washer. I never crossed paths with a condensation dryer before. That sort of threw me the first time it shut itself off. OMG, I broke it. No, it wants its tray dumped. This was the only time we have been to Iceland. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We thrive in cold weather, and it was perfect. There's nothing like tramping around in the snow, in and out of little shops, until you get cold enough to look for someplace cozy for a cup of Irish coffee. There was no shortage. Nothing was really very far away. We could have walked even to the national museum if we had the layout down a little better to begin with. Everything is kind of scaled back, but well-maintained and modern. The roads were high quality everywhere we went. They drive on the right, and there's a fair share of giant SUVs and pickups, more Mercedes and Toyotas, but it feels kind of normal for Americans. There were even a few Dodge, Ford, and Chevy trucks. I wouldn't say that drivers in Iceland were drastically more courteous than anywhere else, but they were certainly no worse. The only issue we ever had was the credit card thing at a gas station where the attendant didn't want to leave us alone to mess with it. I had this brief fear that I was about to be ripped off, but that didn't happen. Otherwise, our credit cards worked fine, and that really beats currency conversion all to hell. Parking at the hotel was a little awkward, but manageable. Access is on the narrow street behind the hotel. At the end of our stay, we had to leave early for our flight, then go back to the room for a cell phone. We had to wake them up to let us back in. All I can say is they took pretty good care of us dysfunctional Americans without complaining. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PreshusMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The appartment (nr.402) was very spacious with a lounge, kitchen, double & twin bedroom and large bathroom. Room was spotless clean, service was very good. Location is perfect: close to main shopping street and the old town. Breakfast was delivered the evening before and was ok. Only minor disadvantage was that the bathroom had no shower, only a bath.
Recommended for both a short as well as a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The room was very spacious with a kitchen corner and some fruit. Within walking distance to all major attractions. Breakfast is delivered in a basket in the room the night before and can serve as a nice picnic if you leave with it. Definitely a place to highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Property: Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing