We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Our family of 8 stayed here over the 4th of July. The staff are very helpful, they speak English better than many people you will find in the US :) Rooms are clean and comfortable, and feel new, there is a useful kitchenette in each room. They provide a breakfast of cereal, fruit, toast and beverages in each room. Free laundry and fast internet. The location is great, one block off the main shopping and drinking and eating street of Laugavegur. Very safe area, I have no hesitation in recommending this to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drjlinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

this place is newly renovated and gorgeous. homey and beautiful. the owner and staff are friendly and wonderful people. i highly recommend it, a very modern icelandic space located in the heart of reykjavik but very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank solara-jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

There's not a chance I'd stay anywhere else if I ever get back to Reykjavik. It was absolutely beautiful, from the huge bathroom and huge bed (comfortable for my 6 foot tall son) to the lovely 2 bedroom apartment with modern Scandanavian decor. The manager, Ilhan, went way above and beyond the call of duty when I called him to ask where I could find a pharmacy open at 9pm and he came over to drive me to a 24 hour pharmacy so I could get my son some cough syrup! He also asked us what our favorite breakfast foods were so that he could ensure we had everything that could possibly make us comfortable during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lawmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Together with our 2 kids of 13 and 15 years old we stayed one night and one week later another 3 nights in this hotel. The hotel is refurbished in a most elegant and high quality way. Everything you would expect from a 4star hotel applies to this hotel and more. The owner is more than happy to help you find your way in Reykjavik and is not resting until he has made sure his guests are satisfied with everything they need. The rooms provided are spacious and equipped with an outstanding kitchenette with coffee, tea and cereals waiting for you. The fridge contains your breakfast and the bed and shower are of outstanding quality. From the hotel bars, restaurants and entertainment is just a few minutes walk away. Parking is free and just behind the hotel. We would surely come back to this residence and thank the owner again for preparing us a most pleasant stay in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have showers and no bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

If you go to Reykjavik, you want to stay at the Reykjavik Residence. Really! The hotel is super clean, everything looks new, decoration is high class. The manager will do everything to make you at ease. Breakfast is awaiting in the fridge when you arrive. The kitchen is well equiped to prepare your meal if you want. We were there on a Saturday night and were a bit afraid of the noise from the surronding bars (stayed 2 nights in a different hotel the previous week-end and were really anoid by the music, trebble & base + people partying), but we must say that the Residence was pretty quiet. Free Internet connection + access to a computer in the lobby. I'm telling you, it can't be better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CDucharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We loved the location. It is as much down town Reykjaik as you can espect. We loved to be able to visit some of the best restaurants and bars in Reykjavik with a one minute wald from the hotel. We thank the hotel manager for the buitifule room we had and we can truly reccomend this hotel to both romance and business travelers. If you like to stay in a beatifule old hose that is actualy totally renevataed then you will love this.****

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kjartanogalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank NilsBernhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,837 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,088 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $179 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Residence offers brand new apartment accommodations in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. These are the perfect choice for the independent traveller seeking a place that is more a home away from home, than a hotel. Our luxury suites are perfect for business travellers wanting to make the most of their stay, or for those seeking truly special accommodations. Our quality apartments allow guests a comfortable degree of flexibility and independence, with larger units ideal for families. Though new, our facilities are in prestigious buildings on Reykavík's Historical Registry. We offer two types of breakfast. Choose between our delightful breakfast baskets, delivered straight to your room, and the savory selection at Port 9 next door. However you like to start your day, we‘ve got you covered! A beautiful winebar Port 9 a blend of the best of wines, appetizers and hospitality in an atmosphere of unmatched classical grandeu and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing