We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great taste of Iceland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Loki

Cafe Loki
Ranked #47 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Loki offer Icelandic meat soup, Icelandic plate, homemade bread and cakes. Icelandic traditional homemade dishes are our specialty. You can taste fermented shark and dried fish but Icelandic meat soup and our Icelandic plates are most popular among the Rye Ice cream and Skyr cake. Beautiful view over Reykjavik, Hallgrimskirkja church and to mountain Blafjoll. Icelandic food.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great taste of Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ideally located opposite Hallgrimur Church, be sure to pop in and sample the local delicacies - dried fish and shark! They serve great platters allowing you to get a real taste of Iceland including the many excellent bread and cakes from the area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank michduncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    792
    198
    55
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Friendly, traditional and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Cafe Loki was our first experience in Icelandic food and what a great start it was. Lovely service with recommendations and a smile. Excellent food which offers variety and tasty options. We even tried the fermented shark which wasn't to my taste but had to be done. It was also accompanied with Brennevin (a local liquor) whic traditionally is drank with it after a kind explanation of the lovely staff. If unsure let them recommend you what to try. They will take good care of you and you will leave having learned a bit from the country. LOVELY!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adriadri_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival in Iceland we were really looking to try a traditional resteraunt or cafe and luckily we stumbled upon cafe loki whilst wondering the back streets of reykjavic. The cafe is nice and bright inside with pleasant decor. The staff are very friendly and attentive, explaining the menu very helpfully. The food itself is great, mostly healthy and very tasty. Aside from the fermented shark which is defiantly an acquired taste, worth a try however. The highlight for myself was defiantly the rye bread ice cream, absoloubtly beautiful dessert. Yes as mentioned by others it is a little price but what isn't in Iceland.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Cafe Loki is a small, pleasant cafe next to Hallgrimskirkja --I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and good service. The food was good and authentic. However, portions were pretty small, especially for the price, which I found to be a bit much for a cafe (even a classy one). We enjoyed our time there but probably wouldn't go back for a meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Icelandic food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This café is not large and has outdoor seating on the pavement outside but serves delicious Icelandic food overlooking the wonderful Hallgrimskirkja which I never get tired of looking at. They sell placemats depicting the church at different times of the day and through the year which would make lovely souvenirs or gifts. The service was friendly and the place was warm, clean and has that lovely view. We went twice in our four days in Iceland. I had the tasty lamb soup, followed by lamb pate on rye bread the first time then lamb soup, smoked trout tart and rye bread iceceam on the second visit. My husband had the same on the first visit but went for the smoked trout with cottage cheese on rye followed by excellent chocolate cake with cream the second time. We really enjoyed it all. Note the café is on the first floor so not suitable for those who cannot cope with stairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Loki also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Loki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing