We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little cafe”
Review of Cafe Loki

Cafe Loki
Ranked #51 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Loki offer Icelandic meat soup, Icelandic plate, homemade bread and cakes. Icelandic traditional homemade dishes are our specialty. You can taste fermented shark and dried fish but Icelandic meat soup and our Icelandic plates are most popular among the Rye Ice cream and Skyr cake. Beautiful view over Reykjavik, Hallgrimskirkja church and to mountain Blafjoll. Icelandic food.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just over the road from the big church, wonderful typical Icelandic seafood, fairly extensive menu for a light meal, clean, warm (even when its -3C outside) helpful and friendly staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1777NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    840
    213
    58
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, don't eat the Shark”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Really nice food in a really nice, small restaurant/cafe with great - that's g-r-r-r-eat views of the spectacular Hallgrimskirkja (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hallgr%C3%ADmskirkja).
Nice people, too.
Food I had was great: some sort of trout cake with FANTASTIC Rye Bread Ice Cream!

My glamorous assistant had more of a taster, including shark: it was, she said, the most revolting thing she'd ever eaten - ammonia not the best taste/smell for food, is it?!
But that says more about eating shark than about this restaurant, which is wonderful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, authentic Icelandic recipes and AMAZING ice-cream”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic place - lovely, friendly staff who recommended some really delicious food. My partner and I both had smoked mashed fish on rye bread, egg and herring on rye bread and their signature rye bread ice cream. The ice cream and mashed fish in particular were top class, the best food I ate in Iceland and the price was really reasonable. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthRagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bad shark”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

was really looking for somewhere with authentic Icelandic cuisine and came across this place when looking for the Hallgrimur's church.Ordered a platter with rye bread which was delicious,mashed -up fish and potato,also delicious, smoked lamb and of course dried fish.There was also a small bowl of the famous putrified shark which wasn't bad if you ate it quickly & immediately followed it with something else.This was accompanied by their wonderful own herbal tea which could also be bought in packets containing 10 tea bags.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motabu6950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I ate lunch at Cafe Loki after seeing TripAdvisor reviews, not disappointed! My meal was Meat Soup, similar to Beef Stew but made with Lamb. I'm not a fan of Lamb, but this was very good with rye bread. This was after seeing Hallgrimur's Church (right across the street) and the Perlan Restaurant/Saga Museum. A brisk walk to see both of those and the Meat Soup warmed me up nicely. A must do if seeing the church and relax.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graybeard47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Loki also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Loki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing