We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location although a little damp!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grettisborg Apartments
Ranked #42 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed December 4, 2013

These apartments were great for location, pretty much in the middle of everything - coach station, the church, main shopping, restaurants and bars! Only thing was the walls were damp from condensation, not so bad in the day but with no headboard our pillows got a little wet! Even the under floor heating didn't help with this. I was also a little disappointed with no reception available - we had a great info guide with contact numbers etc and the owner was just leaving as we arrived so he did show us to our room, but apart from that we had no contact at all. Luckily we had booked all our trips prior to arrival and Reykjavic Excursions are excellent picking us up for everything outside the apartments. All felt a little impersonal. Overall the standard of the apartments was good but I would probably book a hotel next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giraffeeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 106 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

These apartments are fantastic. Perfect central location, clean, quirky, modern design. The owners are polite, helpful and friendly. In terms of cost they are also great value for money. My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights and we were really impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We received a really lovely email from the owner warning us about the lack of any shops being open as we were arriving on a Sunday. He also gave us some other really handy tips. We very much appreciated them! There was 4 of us and we had a comfy, clean, cosy and warm apartment. There was a really handy booklet that gave us tips about where to go, some cafes' and restaurants. Very thoughtful. The shower was incredible!! After a long day walking in the glaciers and hunting for the Northern Lights, the really super shower was much appreciated. My only comment would be that the 4th "bed" wasn't perfect! We gave the owner some feedback when we are checking out and he appreciated the comments. I really hope he makes the change as it is a fantastic apartment block in an excellent location!!! After all it is all about the location location and location :). We loved Reykjavik and the accommodation just made it better. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place was fantastic, I received an email the day before from the owner with lots of information he didn't have to give. Rally thoughtful.

The apartment was clean and modern. We we're very comfortable throughout our stay.

I took ill while we we're there and the owner was very helpful getting me to the Doctor.

Surprisingly peaceful considering they are bang in the centre of town. Fabulous location to base yourself if you want to explore the South & West areas.

Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: The apartments on the top floor have balcony's definitely go for those if you can it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived after 6pm so the owner arranged for us to retrieve the key by entering a code which was fine, easy to retrieve. No parking is offered and due to its good location and proximity to the centre of town, parking in the one-way street was not always the easiest to find. Whilst the hallway & staircase was rather stuffy and smelled odd, luckily this was not the case in the apartment itself which was very nice & modern. Everything looks very new. Actually the style is a mix of modern & retro revival. The artwork can only be described as....contemporary, probably not what most people would consider attractive to have on the walls (rusty pipes and industrial mess etc). However the bed was very comfortable, bathroom & shower excellent, the room nice & quiet. It was excellent value for an apartment so close to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there are stairs to the apartments if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Reykjavik and a weekend at Grettisborg apts.
We stayed in the studio apt, ground floor.
(2 adults 2 small children)
It was just right. The apartment had all we needed, it was clean, warm, had all self catering facilities.
Being central it took 5 minutes to walk to the shopping area and 10-20 minutes to walk to the waterfront (bearing in mind we were walking with two small children).
We were not bothered by any noises from the apartments above, or outside.
Would recommend to anyone, families, couples or friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio room on the ground floor which was fine - the top two floors had a balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kellykbhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great value for money. Very central location just off the Main Street but quiet enough to ensure a good nights sleep. Flats are stylish, clean, well equipped and very comfortable. Owners were extremely helpful and responsive and went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I will recommend to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymously2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 110 in Reykjavik
516 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,889 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grettisborg Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grettisborg Apartments

Address: Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $416 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grettisborg Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grettisborg Apartments are 2 self-catering apartments and one private house in the best location possible in Reykjavik. Tucked away next to the main shopping street you have peace and quiet but yet the close proximity of the shops, restaurants and night life. The fully equipped apartments are suitable for 2 - 7 guests. The private house is suitable for a family of 6 or a 5 single adults. The larger apartment and private house have a private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grettisborg Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing