We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, central no better location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grettisborg Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grettisborg Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, central no better location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place was fantastic, I received an email the day before from the owner with lots of information he didn't have to give. Rally thoughtful.

The apartment was clean and modern. We we're very comfortable throughout our stay.

I took ill while we we're there and the owner was very helpful getting me to the Doctor.

Surprisingly peaceful considering they are bang in the centre of town. Fabulous location to base yourself if you want to explore the South & West areas.

Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: The apartments on the top floor have balcony's definitely go for those if you can it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
118 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived after 6pm so the owner arranged for us to retrieve the key by entering a code which was fine, easy to retrieve. No parking is offered and due to its good location and proximity to the centre of town, parking in the one-way street was not always the easiest to find. Whilst the hallway & staircase was rather stuffy and smelled odd, luckily this was not the case in the apartment itself which was very nice & modern. Everything looks very new. Actually the style is a mix of modern & retro revival. The artwork can only be described as....contemporary, probably not what most people would consider attractive to have on the walls (rusty pipes and industrial mess etc). However the bed was very comfortable, bathroom & shower excellent, the room nice & quiet. It was excellent value for an apartment so close to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there are stairs to the apartments if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Reykjavik and a weekend at Grettisborg apts.
We stayed in the studio apt, ground floor.
(2 adults 2 small children)
It was just right. The apartment had all we needed, it was clean, warm, had all self catering facilities.
Being central it took 5 minutes to walk to the shopping area and 10-20 minutes to walk to the waterfront (bearing in mind we were walking with two small children).
We were not bothered by any noises from the apartments above, or outside.
Would recommend to anyone, families, couples or friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio room on the ground floor which was fine - the top two floors had a balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kellykbhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great value for money. Very central location just off the Main Street but quiet enough to ensure a good nights sleep. Flats are stylish, clean, well equipped and very comfortable. Owners were extremely helpful and responsive and went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I will recommend to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymously2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Having a full kitchen in a city that is expensive helped us save money to spend on other things. We also loved the radiant heated floors, having come from a warm climate it was especially nice to have a warm bathroom floor.

Room Tip: We were in Apartment One and there were lights shining into the bedroom so if you need total darknes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although I've never written a review for tripadvisor before, I felt compelled to write one for Grettisborg and our hosts after my partner and I spent a week there on our first trip to Reykjavik. The apartment was clean, in a perfect location downtown, comfortable, quiet, well appointed, and convenient to everything. It's a block away from the main drag in town, a five minute walk from the bus terminal that takes you anywhere in town you need to go, and a five minute walk from the local pool. The apartments include everything you could possibly need, and despite the fantastic location, on a relatively quiet street it is a peaceful experience and the absolutely perfect "home base" for a trip to Reykjavik.

To top it all off, our hosts were helpful, friendly, accommodating, and approachable. I really can't imagine having a better experience.

Room Tip: Apartments 5 and 6, on the top floor, have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The appartment was clean, practical and situated in the middle of town close to stores and restaurants. Everything you needed was there inkluding washing mashine in a separate building. We were very pleased with the appartment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#5 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grettisborg Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grettisborg Apartments

Property: Grettisborg Apartments
Address: Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grettisborg Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grettisborg Apartments are 8 self-catering apartments and 1 private house in the best location possible in Reykjavik. Tucked away in a cosy courtyard next to the main shopping street you have peace and quiet but yet the close proximity of the shops, restaurants and night life. The fully equipped apartments are suitable for up to 4 single adults or family of 4, the house can sleep 5 adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Grettisborg Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing