We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, delightful hosts! All that you need!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grettisborg Apartments
Ranked #36 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, delightful hosts! All that you need!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at Grettisbourg Apartments over 3 nights in June (2 nights then 1 night later in the week). We were warmly welcomed and given a thorough overview of the apartment and local amenities. Rosa, Snaebjorn and Harper were delightful hosts. The quiet side street was appreciated as was the view from our apartment. The laundry facilities were much appreciated too! An easy walk into the main shopping / eatery area of Reykjavik made exploring this town very easy. The self-contained apartment, with wireless access, was spacious and plentiful for our needs. Being greeted with a heartfelt "welcome back" on our return visit would seem a small matter, but a real highlight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    30
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, ri
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Clean, very spacious, and a great walkable location. Rosa the owner was very pleasant and helpful and made great suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. We made day trips in our car, returning at night and parking was never a problem. Good Wi-Fi, washer/dryer was nice to have, and it was very quiet. After our experience here, we are going apartments from now on.

Room Tip: Our apartment was on the top floor and had a small balcony. Not sure about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Clean and well-equipped, excellent location in the centre of town tucked away on a side street so no traffic noise. As a previous reviewer mentioned, you do hear all the noise from the people above you, especially if they are walking around in their shoes at 2 a.m.!
The kitchen has all the equipment you might need, the only thing I would have liked was a courtesy tray like in a hotel, with some tea and coffee.
Restaurant nearby at 73 Laugevegar, called 73, fantastic burgers!

Room Tip: go for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank u_luv_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

These apartments are very modern, very sleek. If you're staying in Reykjavik for a few days, it has everything you need. The kitchen was full stocked with all the utensils you would need and there is a Bonus supermarket just a few minutes walk away on the main street.

The owners are super helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our changing plans. There is also free wi-fi and cable tv on a modern flatscreen.

Just a few minor issues. 1) If you have your own car there is only metered on-street parking available. Most evenings we found a parking spot right outside the apartment, just once we had to park a block away. 2) We were on the middle floor (of three) and the noise from upstairs was quite loud. Unexpected from purpose-built apartments. We could hear every footstep and chair scrape. Not so great if your upstairs neighbours are a little overweight or like to shuffle about in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamBattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed in these flats 3 weeks ago, it was really good experience. location ise very close to downtown. bars, cafes and shops are very close. flats are very comfortable. you dont need to buy anything from outside to use in kitchen. everything are already thought for yourself.you will not miss your home in grettisgata. and owner ot the apartment is very friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilkeroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Located right in downtown, neat, clean and extremely friendly staff (Katla) who gave us all the directions we need. The owners live next door and are easily accessible. Free wifi is a bonus. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasi_Attili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My friends and I only stayed in Reykjavik for a night on our way to Sweden but we loved our accomodation at Grettisborg. We had great communication with Rosa, our hostess, through email before our arrival and she was super helpful in suggesting places to eat and things to see and do. The 1 bedroom apartment was perfect for a couple and a friend (on the couch). Had we been able to stay longer, we would have fully reaped the benefits that renting an apartment has to offer. Will totally stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggadeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#30 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#24 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mengi Apartments Reykjavik
#20 of 107 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Opal Apartments
#7 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Miõborg
Hlemmur Apartments
Hlemmur Apartments
#29 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grettisborg Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grettisborg Apartments

Property: Grettisborg Apartments
Address: Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grettisborg Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grettisborg Apartments are 2 self-catering apartments and one private house in the best location possible in Reykjavik. Tucked away next to the main shopping street you have peace and quiet but yet the close proximity of the shops, restaurants and night life. The fully equipped apartments are suitable for 2 - 7 guests. The private house is suitable for a family of 6 or a 5 single adults. The larger apartment and private house have a private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grettisborg Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing