We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely Recommend”

Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village
Ranked #3 of 20 Fun & Games in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At The Cinema, Old Harbour Village No2, are shown quality Icelandic nature films; volcanoes, northern lights, flora and fauna. The Cinema is located in the loft of an old fishermen´s dwellings, where the fishermen used to mend their nets, tar their boats, salt their fish and overnight in bed bunks. Redoing the loft the atmosphere of the old life was kept as much as possible, even so that the salt smell still lingers, but the main object was to provide ideal settings for showing quality Icelandic nature and documentary films. By reading the reviews of our visitors on The Trip Advisor pages it seems that we are having success ...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We came here only because we read about it on TripAdvisor, and we were glad we did. The atmosphere is wonderful, and the family who owns it is friendly and helpful (the son even gave us restaurant suggestions). It was a wonderful way to spend a quiet evening when you're tired from touring but don't want to sit around in a hotel room.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PalmettoDaytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinemalover, Manager at Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Illipse,
thank you so much for your very nice review of The Cinema on Trip advisor (Sorry it took so long to respond). And thank you for advising people to come to us to enjoy a different time in Reykjavík, Iceland. We aim at having a cozy atmosphere, nature and film books to browse through and an interesting rock collection. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    35
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brackenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little cinema - not only for rainy days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Cinema at Old Harbour Village No. 2 is located in the old harbour area of Reykjavik in the first of the three turquoise former fishermen's huts - so if you come back from your (almost compulsory) whale watching trip and have an hour or so left, this is the perfect location to learn a bit more about the interesting island you're obviously spending your vacation on. It is not a big cinema, but has a unique atmosphere - very cozy and homey with its brown leather couch and armchairs. You can even get your popcorn and refreshments there!

The movies shown are not the usual blockbusters, but elaborate films about typical Icelandic landmarks such as volcanoes, glaciers, waterfalls and the famous Northern Lights. Their slogan is "Films shown daily according to schedule​ - or by arrangement​". When we were there we almost got to 'choose from the menu' which movies we'd like to see (most of them are available in English, some even in German).

The owner (who actually also is the maker of the movies) and his family are very friendly and helpful with explanations to the movies and exhibits on display on one of the side walls.

If you've been stuck somewhere in Europe during the 2010 eruption of Eyjafjallajökull, this place is a MUST! :-)

http://www.thecinema.is/

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Verena165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinemalover, Manager at Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Verena,
thank you so much for your inspiring review of The Cinema on Trip advisor this autumn (sorry it took us so long to reply). We truly appreciate your good recommendations for future visitors to our little cinema, with the big movies :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must do before exploring Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend visiting this place before you travel around Iceland.

We watched The Birth Of An Island, it was really informative.

One of the best things about the cinema is the family that own it. We got talking to the son before the film, he gave us some great advice for our road trip. After the film his mother told about a fireworks display at Jokusarlon the following night. We had already booked to stay in the area but would have missed the display if she hadn't informed us.

Such friendly people, great little venue and informative films, highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwransome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinemalover, Manager at Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you - we liked very much meeting you.
We are glad to hear that you think the film will make people enjoy our country even better.
And that we were able to assist you in experiencing this unique event at the Glacier lagoon. We will post photos on our website - and the shots will be in one of our movies sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best parts of my trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had heard pretty good things about this cinema, so I decided to check it out. I showed up a little before 6pm and asked if they were showing one of the videos. They invited my up to the cinema and got me settled in. The room is kind of small, but it's wonderfully cozy and comfortable. The films were very nicely done. There's a little geology exhibit at the back of the room to look through at the end of the film. I wish I had been able to go back and catch a few more films.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kak_rugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinemalover, Manager at Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Kak,
we thank you - and all other reviewers - so much for the kind words towards our cinema and movies - and we are so glad to hear how much you like our films. We have not been good enough in responding, but will be from now on.
Please come again next time you are in Iceland - we might even have more new films (two new ones released in 2013). And follow us on our website and Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply AMAZING! Not to miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a great great place to relax for an hour and learn about Iceland, it's volcanoes, rough nature and the history of the island. Cinema No2 is a family owned place. The husband is an awesome adventurer and film-maker. His documentaries area really worth seeing. His wife operates the small cinema and is one of the friendliest people I've met on the trip.

Tips: grab some take-away food or drinks before heading to the cinema. And get ready for a great projection!

I did go to the other bigger cinema in town. Their volcano movie was not half as interesting then the "home made" films you will watch at Cinema No2.

Check them out: http://www.thecinema.is/

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli_Krapcheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing