We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great films on Iceland”

Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village
Ranked #3 of 18 Fun & Games in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At The Cinema, Old Harbour Village No2, are shown quality Icelandic nature films; volcanoes, northern lights, flora and fauna. The Cinema is located in the loft of an old fishermen´s dwellings, where the fishermen used to mend their nets, tar their boats, salt their fish and overnight in bed bunks. Redoing the loft the atmosphere of the old life was kept as much as possible, even so that the salt smell still lingers, but the main object was to provide ideal settings for showing quality Icelandic nature and documentary films. By reading the reviews of our visitors on The Trip Advisor pages it seems that we are having success ...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great films on Iceland”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you want to see some great landscape or volcanic eruptions films from Iceland then this is the place to go, The owner Valdimar Leifsson is a great fotographer and his film from the latest eruption´s are just outstanding. You can also buy his films on DVD at the cinema and there´s not a better gift to bring back home to your friends and family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaistorgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    36
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The cinema by the harbour”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We visited the cinema, which is located above a cafe/restaurant in the Reykjavik harbour area. It shows short films about Iceland's recent volcanic history. We were made most welcome and the whole experience was enjoyable and informative. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bbiffo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good vibe, Ok films”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I liked the room, it was well-furnished and very comfortable. I went into it really hoping to be amazed after reading so many rave reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, I can't say I was terribly impressed with the films. Maybe it was the digital camcorder picture quality, or the big, operatic soundtrack, or the fact that the narrative seemed sort of aimless. I just found myself wanting to go home and watch a David Attenborough DVD instead.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tchaikovsky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmtuk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A warm and cosy retreat”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had read about Cinema No2 before we came to Reykjavik and loved the idea of it (very DIY). We had been down to the harbour area for food before (Sea Baron and the Burger Joint) so we knew where we were going, and what time to be there. We arrived slightly early for the showing, and were welcomed by the filmmaker himself - a very polite man who apologised profusely for his coffee maker being out of action, and suggested we go downstairs to Cafe Haiti if we would like a coffee whilst watching the movie, he would be happy to wait for us. So we went to get our coffee (+cake!) and then settled into the sofa in Cinema No2.

We watched 2 short movies, both of which were interesting with plenty of history, accompanying awe-inspiring shots of the landscapes. The atmosphere was lovely and cosy - under the beams of the old fisherman's dwelling - despite us being the only people there.

I would recommend Cinema No2 as a relaxing break from other activities in Reyjkavik. It is good value and really great to have the filmmaker himself there - to ask questions/have a chat afterwards.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dmtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cinema No:2”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Unfortunately missed the show but bought DVD which I am looking forward to seeing!Lovely,cosy atmosphere and the owner was very friendly and chatted to us for quite a while!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cinema No. 2 at the Old Harbour Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing