We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark underground rooms and hostile management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Downtown Reykjavik Apartments
Ranked #16 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our Family Studio was dark, depressing-looking, and underground. It's only "window" was of an underground wall, WIFI didn't work, and management was the worst I've come across in staying at 100+ hotels! The front desk is not manned, and the owner of the complex started yelling over the phone when we called him to ask for an alternate room. Even though they had an alternate room available and going unused that evening, they wanted to charge us 2x the price for it!

We requested a change of room to something that was not underground and didn't look like a basement -- to which the management threatened to call the police and refused to honor our booking.

Stay away at all costs!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank global_traveller_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gudjon A, Owner at Downtown Reykjavik Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

These " violent-angry-vulgar" travelers. To get them out, we called the police. We feel sorry for they'r state of mind. Our apartments are not open for this type of unstable youngsters ,and what they bring with them, regardless of " threts " they now have honored, to our cost
Owner DRA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 290 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the downtown Reykjavik apartments in February this year and found the apartments to be better than we expected. We arrived around 6pm and found a parking space we had requested without any issues. The check in process was straight forward and very quick, we were given the keys and directions and left to explore our apartment. There are two bedrooms with a double bed in one and two twins pushed together in the other. Both rooms are a decent size. There are two bathrooms, one with a shower and urinal and the other with a bath and loo. The shower head didn't work in the bath so you couldn't use this but it wasn't a problem. The bathrooms are spacious and clean, along with all rooms which were very clean on our arrival. The open plan kitchen and lounge are a big size and good if you plan on spending a fair bit of time in the apartments.

The apartments are just off the main road going through Reykjavik at one end, which is useful to get into town and also access highway 1 for getting around the island especially golden circle.

I've read some reviews about the dishwasher being dirty but our was clean and useful to use during our stay.

There is little to no noise from the road outside. The area these apartments in seems safe, even if some of the houses nearby look a bit dated.

I would recommend these apartments to a friend as they are excellent, clean and spacious in a great location and with a great price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chino_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A very good alternative instead of traditional hotels when traveling with a smaller group. Spacious, clean, well equipped and within walking distance to town centre. The sound insulation between rooms could have been better, for those who go to bed early the chance of sleep is small until the entertainment in the living room is over.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 56ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We recently took a family vacation to Iceland and stayed in the Downtown apartments. Our flight arrived late in the night and had to pay extra for late check-in. When we arrived in the apartment we found it quite spacious for 5 adults, two bedrooms and one pull out couch. There were also two bathrooms one with no toilet just a urinal. We had told the staff prior to arrival there would be 5 adults however, when we got to the room there were not enough towels or any sheets for the sofa bed. Since it was so late no one was at the front desk so we had to make do with what was provided on the other beds. There was also a funky smell coming from the dishwasher because it had not been run and there were many dirty dishes from the previous people staying. The next morning we complained to the front desk and got more sheets and towels. The room apart from the dishwasher was clean and we did not have a problem with the noise level of outside. The hotel is super close to all the restaurants and bars. All in all the place was quite nice and I would definitely recommend staying!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very conveniently located self-contained apartments, not far from the main street of Reykjavik and within walking distance of the BSI bus station and hire car facilities. We had en-suite with a kitchen area, the room was very spacious for two people, especially as rooms in Iceland can sometimes be quite small. The host was friendly too. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Fantastic value two bedroom, two bathroom appartment in central Reykyavik, with parking. A very modern space with most fittings and furniture as new. The living space was big, clean and well equipped. We arrived in the early evening and the after hours self check in process was very easy. This place would make anyone from couple to families feel very happy and at home. We wished we could have stayed longer!

Two very slight drawbacks - for such a well equipped appartment it was strange that there was no toaster (although there was a toasted sandwich maker) and the parking spaces were cramped when 4x4s were parked. We were last in and couldn't fit so had to park 3 min walk away on the street.

These slight drawbacks were totally outweighed by the quality and value of the appartment. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Appt 200 was on the edge of the complex so possibly quieter than others, although there was nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSLee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have recently returned from a brilliant stay here. The beds are super comfy and cosy. The rooms are huge. The apartment was perfect for our family with three huge young men! We have no complaints at all...despite having very high standards. (The enormous television was football watching heaven.)
The host, Thora, was polite, friendly and helpful- her English is perfect too.
The position of the apartments is extremely convenient- 5 mins from a bakery/cafe and a supermarket. The main shopping street is not far away either. All in all, we highly recommend anyone who wishes to self cater to stay here.

Room Tip: The penthouse has 4 double rooms and a great view of the cathedral- room 402.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,219 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Reykjavik Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Reykjavik Apartments

Address: Raudararstigur 31, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $121 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Downtown Reykjavik Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Reykjavik Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing