We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Downtown Reykjavik Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$267
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$228
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$427
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$209
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$328
$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$218
$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$298
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$565
$493
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
154
95
43
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
95
43
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentthese apartmentslaundry room in the basementthe main streetlock boxself cateringlarge fridgeice machinecooking facilitiesnice apartmentthe busred eyeshort walkthe penthousegreat apartmentsstove toplate check
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 303 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We came here after arriving at our original hotel to be turfed out as they had a double booking. The staff were great and accommodating, the kitchen well stocked and tv channels amazing. It's at the end of the main road into town so about fifteen minute walk to centre and bit longer to the harbour but still easily doable. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at here for three nights and found everything to be first class. The apartment was spotless and large and after our experience in Amsterdam we were overjoyed to find an elevator. The beds were comfortable and the linens very good quality. Quiet at all times. It is not on the main drag but is in the downtown area and right beside the Best Western so pick up/drop off for all bus tours was very convenient and walking to the shopping area took only a few minutes. Great bonus to have free laundry (after 4 p.m.) and also there is a public swimmming pool within three blocks. Would definitely recommend this guest house. We also would recommend the Madonna restaurant right bext door.

Room Tip: Our third floor apt had one room facing the street and one facing the parking lot. Both were quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonspieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Recently stayed here for a week:

Positives:-

- 15 to 20 minute walk to everything you need to do and see
- Local supermarket, restaurants, shops and pizza takeout
- Clean inside the apartments with good facilities

Negatives:-

- Even though we telephoned before leaving to check if they provide shampoo, shower gel etc, there was nothing on arrival meaning we had to go hunting in the shops after a long trip
- The outside of the windows were absolutely filthy, could hardly see through them, please clean them!
- Limited service and welcome, i.e. no offer of clean towels, loo roll after some time, bear minimum of service
- In hindsight, we would stay in a hotel as a couple, offering breakfast

Room Tip: Don't book ground floor as the room point directly into a car park so when cars park they look straight into your eyes in your bedroom or lounge!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bew212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful 5 day holiday in Iceland where we stayed at the Downtown Reykjavik Apartments. With a fairly large group (6 guys 1 girl) and a range of budgets, the 8-person apartment suited us perfectly and allowed us to keep a keen eye on costs as the accommodation charge split 7 ways was very reasonable (almost youth hostel prices) and we were able to buy food for breakfast and dinner at the local supermarket (2-3 mins walk) which was usually pretty well stocked. The flat was very clean (apart from cigarette butts on the [superb] big roof terrace), the beds very comfy, the lounge spacious and the kitchen well equipped (although slightly lacking in cooking equipment and utensils). The location, for Reykjavik, is probably a little off-piste but at 10-15 minutes walk for all the main street’s shops, tourism offices and bars/clubs it’s hard to complain – particularly as the trade-off is a very quiet night’s sleep! The wi-fi, whilst free, is quite sketchy and could do with a boost which would really add to the overall quality/enjoyment of guests’ stay.

I've marked down the 'Service' slightly as the reception was often unmanned - the Gudjon was excellent and helpful when there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidE171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed twice in this apartment hotel, on coming and on leaving Iceland.
At first time we were upgraded to a huge apartment on the 4th floor with a view of Hallgrimkirkjn. It was an unplanned compensation for the annoyance we had earlier in the airport when our luggage didn't arrive as Iceland Express dindn't move then on the connection from Paris. We recieved a code for collecting the key on E-mail few days before arrival. However, The manager is on site 9-17 and is reachable on the phone afterwards (we had to check for the WIFI password).
On the second time we had a 2 bedroom apartment on ground floor which was still very spacious although one boy had to use the sofa bed. Some car noise from the street could be heard, but sleeping was not disturbed.
Both apartments were very clean and well equipped, large bedrooms with very comfortable beds, spacious kitchen and livingroom . A close by supermarket (11/11) on the main shopping street, the on site parking and the fast approach to the highway #1 made it a very convenient location.
The hotel is in a residential area and is a little away from city center, but since parking is free after 18 it was no problem getting there. It is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have no view and some street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zime15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews