We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and enjoyable stay”
Review of Blue House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue House
Ranked #10 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at Blue House for three nights in June. Very clean, quiet house in nice residential area. Price is right. There was parking on street and a VERY comfortable bed. Breakfast was good but very basic (bread, jams). Did not have the opportunity to meet owners. Good choice if you're looking for a minimal contact type of B&B. Owner follow-up/availability was average - had to reach out a couple times to arrange late arrival. None-the-less they were able to accommodate. Also-Internet was not working while we were there. All-in-all very nice place that we would recommend. Our days were action packed so most important to us was a clean, quiet, and comfy place - this is what we got. Cute as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bammls04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    52
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
32
132
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This house has great homey feel, it is located not far from downtown, especially if you have a car. You can see the ocean if the room is on the second floor. We never saw owners, but still felt welcomed. The only problem, if you wake up late, some breakfast food might be gone already (we missed delicious youguhrt).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonMashaSpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue House for a total of 5 nights on our recent trip to Iceland (April/May 3013) and loved it. We stayed in the main floor room which made it seem like we always had the place to ourselves, even with other guests in the house. Jenny was incredibly helpful during our stay and throughout our entire visit. We found the "residential" setting perfect, and its only a 20 minute walk into the city along a lovely walking/biking path next to the water. (We're fast walkers though, so its possible some guests might find it a bit too "remote" from the city center) It was perfect for us. There is a corner store one street over, and a grocery another 5 minutes away in a rather large shopping center, which also has an excellent Vin Bud store (where you purchase all alcohol in the country). We didn't find it necessary to use the bus system, Reykjavik isn't such a large city, so we just walked everywhere we needed to go. But for guests who do use the bus it is very close by and tickets can be purchased in the above mentioned corner store. We used the Blue House as a lovely base for exploring and found it wonderfully well equipped for all our activities. There is a large refrigerator for guests to store food for self catering, and Jenny always stocked fresh milk for the in house coffee (and tea), as well as orange juice and jams for the daily fresh bread (yum). I especially enjoyed that there was no TV in the lounge area, just a big sectional to sit with other guests, drink coffee or wine, and just relax getting to know people. The bathrooms are shared, so in that respect its more like the guesthouses you will find around the country, but being the only room on the main floor we didn't really have to share it very much.

We will gladly stay at the Blue House on our next visit if we stop in Reykjavik!

Oh on a side note there is a huge canvas map in the dining area where they mark with a red pen where their guests visit them from. Its fun seeing where other guests have come from, and my husband was able to contribute a new dot :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeliMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staying at the blue house was like staying at a friend's place or being back home for the holidays. The owner was very friendly, fun, and full of advices for our trip. The breakfast was delicious and filled with a lot of goodies and they even let us use the kitchen to cook dinner (which can help you save a lot of money in Iceland)

The rooms were clean very cute and charming and the house is 2 minutes away from the lighthouse which is a prime location if you are trying to catch the northern lights.

It's a great way to start or/and finish your vacation in Iceland and after seeing a lot of the other options around the country this is definitely the best value for the price!

WARNING: If you are not going to rent a car, the Blue house is a little far from the city center but if you are renting a car then this is definitely an incredible place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeusBeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here in Aug last year but the review has disappeared. We really enjoyed our short time here. They have cute bunnies in the garden. The staff were very helpful and helped us find a mini bus to take us to the airport. Lovely food and plenty of choice. The rooms and bathrooms are lovely. Away from town but not too far away.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had a grand time at the Blue House, as I was lucky enough to have the whole house to myself. The Blue House is in a residential part of Reykjavik, with only one corner store). However, it is easy enough to catch the number 11 bus into the heart of Downtown Reykjavik. The bus is only a few streets away from the Blue House, running every half hour (although not always on time) and every 15 mins during peak hours. However, make other travel plans on Sundays as the bus service is completely reduced. If the weather is fine then you can easily walk to Downtown Reykjavik - about 40 mins if you cross over the field in front of the Blue House and follow the coastal walk (or less if you walk through the residential area - but take a map if you choose this route).

The Blue House is ideal for seeing the Northern lights as it is on the peninsula. It is best to walk down to the nature reserve on a clear night. Don't bother with pre-paying for tours because viewing the Northern Lights depends on clear skies - you'll just waste your money and time.

Now if it is a really clear day (winter or summer), walk down to the peninsula past the light house and find the hot pool right on the shore. Here you can soak your feet in warm water whilst gazing at the ocean and mountains in the distance. You don't need a towel (I did this in winter). The walk is circular and takes about an hour. There is also a thermal pool about a 5 min walk from the Blue House (if you take the short cut). Again you don't need to take a towel as you can hire there and its lovely to swim in outdoor pools during the middle of winter.

Not all tourist groups will pick up from the Blue House but some definitely do (just ask the managers). I highly recommend the tour group run by the Englishman, David (who will pick up from the house). However, it is easy enough to catch a number 11 bus (350kr exact change or 900kr all day) to Hotel Saga (Radisson) for all other tour companies.

Getting to and from the Blue House to the airport and Blue Lagoon. The two cheapest ways to get to the Blue House is to take a shuttle 3000kr one way or the Flybus, which will drop in you town for 1950kr then you will need to catch the local bus (number 11) for 350kr. If you want to go via the Blue Lagoon (either to and from the airport) it costs 8000kr via Reykjavik excursions (including admission although you will have to pay extra for the bathrobe and towel). The closest they can drop you to the Blue House is the Hotel Saga (Radission), where you can catch the number 11 directly outside.

Breakfast is self-serve, continental style at the Blue House and if you are a big eater it may not be enough. Continental style means jams, homemade bread, cereals and an assortment of teas/coffees. However, if you like big English hot cooked breakfasts (or fresh fruits) then plan to eat out (which means travelling into downtown Reykjavik (or cutting across the field and visiting the bakery (or larger grocery store). You are expected to load the dishes into the dishwasher. The managers, Jenny and Zeno, aren't around much but they are extremely helpful and when Zeno realised I don't eat sweet foods for breakfast he organised some cheese and salami. Zeno and Jenny don't live in the house but the house has quite a few private areas, i.e., not everything is for the guests (e.g. some shelves of fridge and cupboards etc).

The house is very quiet. There is plenty of space and two sets of bathrooms (it really is just a house). Its great for large groups travelling together (3 double bedrooms in all) and has a large car park. There are plenty of books to read. There is Apple TV where you have to pay to watch movies (no DVD players etc). It is free to call from the house locally. You can pay your bill by paypal or cash.

Overall, I had a lovely stay here as a single traveller.

Room Tip: Pick the master bedroom (owners), which has its own private living room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SoloWomanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHouseIceland, Owner at Blue House, responded to this review, November 2, 2016
Dear guest,

thank you for your detailed review.
We are happy you're stay was overall a pleasant one!
We would like to point out that we have updated our breakfast selection since then, adding cheese, various kinds of topping plus fresh fruits to make it more varied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Such a nice little house on the hill in Reykjavik. We had a great time and felt at home for all of a week. Home made bread and a serve-yourself anytime breakfast. But the location is the best, right by the sea and up on a hill with views and open spaces, and 5 min walking to the local thermal bath and gourmet supermarket. Just 5-10min taxi or bus, or 30 min seaside walk to center of town. Feels like a little village just outside of the busy tourist and party scene.

Room Tip: Ask for the Snæfellsnes room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
988 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 102 in Reykjavik
1,081 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 102 in Reykjavik
446 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House

Property: Blue House
Address: Valhusabraut 19 | Seltjarnarnes, Reykjavik 170, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set on Seltjarnarnes Peninsula, Blue House B&B with it's surrounding properties is a 5 minutes' drive from central Reykjavik. Renovated in 2015, it offers free high speed Wi-Fi, a shared kitchen and bright, simple tastefully decorated rooms with a Smart TV. This B&B is particularly popular amongst individual travellers hunting northern lights in the capital area due to it's location, which is far away from mass turism but yet close enough to downtown Reykjavik A desk, a wardrobe and a Netflix TV are standard in Blue House's rooms. Toilets and showers are shared, except for our Apartments. Additionally we have an apartment and the Yellow house close by. The views of the rooms can include: Esja Mountain, Snaefellsnes Volcano/Glacier, Valhúsabraut Park, Grotta Lighthouse and the peninsula's Seaview with beach. After office hours guest are provided with self check-in information which enables you to arrive at any time. We provide a daily self-service continental Breakfast with home baked bread if included in your rate. Upon request we will meet you for breakfast and help you with your further travelplanning. Popular nearby leisure options include northern light/bird watching, cycling and hiking. The public outdoor geothermal swimming pool is only a 5 minutes walk away and highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Blue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing