We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Top Travel Experiences!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue House
Ranked #8 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my Top Travel Experiences!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

First of all a massive thank you to Zeno, Jennifer and Minu for making our trip to Iceland one of the most amazing holiday experiences I have ever had! From the moment we arrived at Blue House the hospitality was outstanding. We arrived close to 2am, as we were on the late flight from London to Keflavik, and Zeno was waiting for us with Minu and gave us a quick tour of our rooms. In the morning we were greeted with a nice breakfast - help your self system to the cereals and items in the fridge :) - We then discovered Zeno was also a guide and offered to take our group of 5 around all the hot spots of iceland for the same rates that the large tour companies offer...Fantastic!!! This was an absolute plus! As we got to see the tourist spots as well as many 'local' secret areas we would have never discovered with a big tour company. I cant recommend Blue House highly enough! The fact that the place makes you feel like your at home is a real pleasure when travelling... We will most definitely be staying here again. Thanks again guys! And Jenny, extra credit for the delicious cake! YUM!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmmmmyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    50
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
31
126
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isafjörður, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Three friends and I spent a lovely two nights at the Blue House mid roadtrip through Iceland. Not only are the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, but are a ton of fun to be social with, along with the other guests. The rooms are nice and clean and the entire house well kept and very accommodating. It is very easy to feel at home and comfortable at this house! Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Meguita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I booked 2 nights, many months before our October arrival and settled our bill in Euros after our first night. The previous bad review does just not add up in my opinion, as paying by credit card before our arrival was not even an option. Anyhow, I digress...

We had rented a car, and had specifically chosen Blue House, because of its location away from the lights of the city. A short drive from the Blue House, you will be near the ocean, and will have a perfect place to see the Northern Lights should they grace you. We were very lucky, and saw them the first night of our stay.

I will admit that my husband and I do not usually stay in B&B's, I usually am tracking down the latest and greatest 4 or 5 star hotel in whatever city we stay in. That said, we had everything we could possibly need right here: a comfortable large bed with warm duvets, a bathroom immediately across the hall with all toiletries, hairdryer and other things you may need. A stack of towels for each of us that were large and new-looking. A place to hang our clothes and a small desk and chair. The bedside table had an alarm clock and lots of reading material about Iceland. Oh, and free wifi! Great!

I thought there was no breakfast offered, but there is cereal, milk, tea and coffee available in the kitchen that you can help yourself to anytime of day. Breakfast is not a big 'thing' in Iceland, but since every meal out is so expensive, it was nice to start the day off at our temporary 'home' and have one less thing to worry about.

If we hadn't of rented a car ourselves, I would have been happy to have Zeno as a guide. He is very friendly, helpful and knowledgable, and Jenn is warm and lovely. They are lovely hosts and I am happy to have chosen the Blue House.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicureangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I booked 4 nights (280euro) in August already in April, was charged immediately for the entire amount. Cancelled my booking a week in advance with full accordance with the cancellation policy [72 hrs prior arrival], and never saw my money back. They don't answer my emails, give me weird excuses over the phone [the money is on its way for the past month] and literally refuse to refund me for the nights which I never spent in the guesthouse. Beware of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MorMit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valhusabraut19, Manager at Blue House, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Reviewer.
we regret to see that you use this Website against us.

We were in contact with you and we have clear cancellation policy.
What you are writing is not true and you know this yourself.
Especially since you threatened us with bad reviews if we don´t do according as you please.

We were in constant contact with your booking site Venere.com and they backed me up with our decision.

I personally don´t think its fair how you treat us.
We are a small business trying very hard to please our guests.
Yes we are not perfect and there is still room for improvement but we ask that both sides treat each other with mutual respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before heading out on the Laugavegurinn hike. We chose the Blue House after reading all the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor and based on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there the previous year. All-in-all, we found it to be perfect for what we wanted. Comfortable, economical, and extremely flexible - they let us store our extra luggage free of charge for the week while we did our hike.

Despite the fact that the owners were both away during our stay, arrangements were made to ensure we would be as comfortable and taken car of as possible - a laptop with free internet was left for our use (to email or skype the owner) as was a cell phone for the same purpose.

The house is adorably decorated and very cozy - complete with a acoustic guitar lounging in the living room. There was lots of food made available for breakfast - which was more than ample.

Things to know: 1) you'll really want to have a rental car if you are staying here - while only a few minutes from downtown, it's in a quiet residential area and didn't appear close to any bus stops. 2) Don't stay if you are allergic to cats. We were woken by the sound of a cat scratching at our bedroom door (which we had not locked) the cat actually managed to open the door and the next thing I knew I had a beautiful grey cat in bed with me - rubbing against my face - good thing we love cats! Now, I highly doubt this is the norm - and think the cat got let in my one of the other guests - but it's a possibility I know many of my friends would avoid at all costs. 3) the bathroom is shared. We still loved it and I took full advantage of all the creature comforts (a deep soaker tub ringed by lovely jars of bubble bath, shampoo and conditioner) and had a bubble bath.

This isn't a hotel but if that won't throw you - and you like the uniqueness of someone's clean, bright, cozy home. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Blue House!

I should note we enjoyed the bed - and slept well (aside from the cat). ; )

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveler115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stopped at the Blue House on my flight to europe from boston with icelandair.
After a one day delay because of the volcano we arrived early in the morning.
Luckily we could store our luggage in the basement where we were already greeted by the house cat ;)
In the afternoon we did check in and were pleasantly surprised. The house is rather small but all was very clean and totally comfortable.
The host was very friendly and gave us all kind of information about iceland.
We had a shared bathroom but as far as i remember there were two bathrooms for two guest rooms.
Next day we booked the host to guide us with his super jeep to do the golden circle and surroundings.
The nature in iceland is sooo wonderful and I have never seen a place like this before.
Our host showed us so many spots the usual tourist buses didnt stop, also a natural hot pot in the middle of nowhere.
All in all i very recommend the accomodation and if you dont rent your own car take the tour with the host which was a fair price for our daytrip.
Thank you for this lovely time

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea-Boston1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We spent a week in the Blue House in June . How can I describe it... it was just one of the best stays we ever had. It was the second time we stayed in a B&B, usually we're used to hotels with quite a lot of luxury. When looking for a stay in Iceland, I saw there were a lot of B&B's and thanks to pictures and reviews we found on the Blue House it sounded like a perfect place to stay while we explored the "golden circle".

The hosts Zeno and Jennifer are extremely friendly and helpful. They consider you as part of the family while you're there. Our room (the smallest one) was very clean, had everything in it we needed. The barthroom was very good. Even when the Blue House is fully booked, you never have the feeling it's too crowded.

Zeno is a great host, he knows a lot about Iceland and its people and he will take a lot of time to show you the places to see, with a lot of insider information. It helped u a lot since we kinda came unprepared to the island.

Breakfast is also pretty good, the living has a projector, games, many books around and a nice garden which you will certainly enjoy. Keep in mind there is also a cat running around (but she's so nice, you'll adore her).

I would recommend the Blue House to everyone visiting the Reykjavik area. Don't expect a hotelservice, but do expect a cozy home in a quiet street a little bit out of the town. Great for walking around, great for getting a lot of good information about the island and just perfect for someone who really wants one of the best places to stay in Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
2.2 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
2.6 mi away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eric the Red Guesthouse
Eric the Red Guesthouse
#4 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Igdlo Guesthouse
Igdlo Guesthouse
#13 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House

Property: Blue House
Address: Valhusabraut 19 | Seltjarnarnes, Reykjavik 170, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set on Seltjarnarnes Peninsula, Blue House B&B with it's surrounding properties is a 5 minutes' drive from central Reykjavik. Renovated in 2015, it offers free high speed Wi-Fi, a shared kitchen and bright, simple tastefully decorated rooms with a Smart TV. This B&B is particularly popular amongst individual travellers hunting northern lights in the capital area due to it's location, which is far away from mass turism but yet close enough to downtown Reykjavik A desk, a wardrobe and a Netflix TV are standard in Blue House's rooms. Toilets and showers are shared, except for our Apartments. Additionally we have an apartment and the Yellow house close by. The views of the rooms can include: Esja Mountain, Snaefellsnes Volcano/Glacier, Valhúsabraut Park, Grotta Lighthouse and the peninsula's Seaview with beach. After office hours guest are provided with self check-in information which enables you to arrive at any time. We provide a daily self-service continental Breakfast with home baked bread if included in your rate. Upon request we will meet you for breakfast and help you with your further travelplanning. Popular nearby leisure options include northern light/bird watching, cycling and hiking. The public outdoor geothermal swimming pool is only a 5 minutes walk away and highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Blue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing