We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food!”
Review of Rossopomodoro

Rossopomodoro
Ranked #114 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

As we entered the place though it did not seem like a very friendly place in the beginning, we were quickly escorted to a table by someone who seemed to be in a hurry while being welcoming! Nevertheless, we wanted to shift to another table and we were surprised by their willingness in spite of that evening being almost fully booked.
The food, I must say, was soulful. Served in appropriate portions, the flavours were very authentic, which is not a very easy task to achieve. The shrimp cocktail and the ravioli di funghi are must tries! The service was efficient and friendly enough.
However, the decor seemed a bit too garish and bold. An Italian radio station was being played which brings in some Italian flavour to the place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KanchM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    326
    164
    71
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“waiters in sandals, really?”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

So we went out for my birthday dinner to get a a nice pasta dish. We chose this Italian so called restaurant, and where to start? All waiters were wearing sandals or gym shoes along with definitely not elegant clothing. When we decided to change a table (because it was to much noise next to us that we couldn't even talk) waiter rose his hands in the air to express his irritation (how one can change table? Even thought there was around 10 of them free) and did few more not nice things to show us how annoying table changing was. Then we got pasta served, after 30 minutes of waiting. It wasn't lasagna or any baked dish, still half an hour. Basically pasta with sauce, maybe one sliced mushroom in and 1,5 slice of ham for this price. Well done! Nobody came over even once to ask if we enjoy our food. Well what more to say, thank you for best birthday dinner ever.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMJM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good food - friendly staff”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Excellent pizza's and very friendly staff.

Lots of room and wasn't very busy when we got there.

As ever eating out in Iceland is not cheap. 2 x Pizza's; 1 bottle water and 2 beers and 1 desert = 11.910 KR or just over £60

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good pizza and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very efficient service. Lovely decor and atmosphere. Warm and cozy. Desserts were expensive but everything in Iceland seems to be.
Very clean restaurant. We had garlic bread with cheese, desserts and drinks.
We were very satisfied and would have gone back if we had time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hcwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quick service.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Me and my boyfriend pooped in here for his birthday to have some food before going out for drinks. We did look at other places first but being fully booked we settled for here. There was a nice atmosphere in the restaurant and the food arrived very quickly. I had the spaghetti bolognese while my boyfriend had the bacon carbonara. The meals were nice but we were served by at least 3 members of staff and didn't feel it was very personal, so didn't know who to flag down when we wanted more drinks or the bill.
Good for if you want a quick bite and cheap prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmmm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossopomodoro also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Rossopomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing