We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must For Everyone! Puffin. Whale and Reindeer!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islenski barinn

Islenski barinn
Ranked #20 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Scandinavian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Description: Icelandic through and through. Icelandic cuisine with a twist. Not touristy, more the place for travelers to mix with the locals. The only bar in the world that serves all Icelandic beers and spirits.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Must For Everyone! Puffin. Whale and Reindeer!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We chose this Restaurant on TripAdvisor due to the excellent reviews and traditional dishes. IT WAS AMAZING!!! The service was great and food even better. I had the Seared Lamb, Goose and Puffin with Potato puree, with a JAR of Whale as a side dish. My mother had the Lamb dinner and my girlfriend had Reindeer Burger with fried potatoes. We all mixed and matched and the meals were perfect!!
Whale is like a tender steak - NOT FISHY, not what you expect it to taste like, Puffin is dark, rich and like Liver. The Reindeer burger was fantastic, like a proper meaty burger. The Lamb and goose were also brilliantly tasty and well cooked.
Everything was perfect. It came to about 90 Euros for everything with drinks for three of us and was worth every penny! Couldn't recommend this place any more!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Greeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    402
    65
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had the tomato soup, meat (lamb) soup, lamb cooked in beer (which came on a bun), reindeer burger, and barley burger. Everything was great.
The barley burger was not on a bun--two small veggie patties on a bed of carrot puree with a delicious salad.
Value was good, compared to other Reykjavik restaurants!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Traditional Icelandic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recommended by a fellow tourist staying at our hotel as we were searching to taste Puffin - the Icelandic Bar was comfortable, unpretentious, super service and the food was excellent! We ordered Puffin and Whale - each served in a Mason jar, on top of a mashed potato layer and the flavors were fantastic! Wonderful beer selection to go with the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pitsbrgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Icelandic Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The two of us ordered the Icelandic tasting menu which was an excellent 3 course menu at a very reasonable price (ISK4900/£25 each) especially for Iceland. Each plate was very presented and the waitress explained what each thing was to us. The first course was smoked salmon, herring and minke whale. The salmon and herring were excellent, the whale not really to our taste but we ate it all. Main course included foal steak, foal confit, arctic char with potatoes and veggies - all were fantastic! We weren't expecting a desert but were presented with a berry tart and blueberry skyr, which was a great way to finish the meal. They had some pretty decent beers on tap, including viking which was only ISK500 a pint! This must be the cheapest pint in the whole city (or they made a mistake on our bill). Highly recommended!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waffletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stopped in here for a beer, which turned into two or three. The atmosphere is nice, though the beer selection is small (go to Micro Bar down the street in the City Center Hotel for a better selection of local beers). They have an impressive list, but only a few in stock at any time, it seems. Regardless, it was warm and comfortable and the staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islenski barinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Islenski barinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing