We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special About These Dogs”

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Ranked #25 of 90 Quick Bites in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mioborg
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Sorry, but I don't see what all the hype was about. I've read such great reviews on many websites recommending that this was the best place to go for hot dogs. We stood on the long line like all the other tourists. Maybe I had too much expectation on how amazing it should taste. But it's really just an average boiled hot dog, that reminds me of the ones you get at any hot dog stand in NY. They need to put it on the grill to get a bit of smoky flavor. It's ok to try it just once. No lost because it's a cheap eat.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Food
Thank FlorenceLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,701 - 2,705 of 5,321 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

When ever I have been away from Iceland on travels. Bæjarins Beztu is the place I have to visit for the best hotdogs to charge my Icelandic DNA :)

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 751hilmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

It is over-hyped, but so are a lot of things. The part lamb hot dog is better than most baseball park dogs, and no more expensive, and the sometimes long line moves fast. They take credit cards, too. Only drawback is lack of sitting space outside, though you can find a spot at the picnic table if you have sharp elbows.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Redfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Fresh and delicious Hot Dogs and Sodas!
Cheap and clean and always fresh.
I am ready for more!
The sausages is made from lamb

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Probably the best hot dog hut in North of Europe, if not the world. I take my colleagues from other countries and continents to Bæjarins Bestu whenever I can, even post fine dinner if we are located in the neighbourhood.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Krilli57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.