We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yep,it's a must have before you leave Iceland!”

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Ranked #73 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
Holmdel
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yep,it's a must have before you leave Iceland!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

So we had this wonderful couple of days in Iceland, including the golden circle tour,dinner at the restaurant on the top floor of harps, to say that the natural beauty is awe inspiring might be an understatement BUT I could not leave without one of their world famous hotdogs! I must tell you
the hype is real,the woman that served me is the same woman who served president Clinton,
so do your self a favor....on the way in or on the way out, have at least one hotdog.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RealtorDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,418
    850
    468
    131
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barboursville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Hotdog Ever”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The meat tastes great not at all like an American HD (because of the lamb) The snap of the casing the mixture of the sauces, the crunch of the raw and fried onions make a symphony of flavor and texture in you mouth. Wish I could get them here in the USA.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hotdog a day keeps... sorry.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I like to eat hotdog. This hotdog stand sells one of the best hotdog I have tried. Be sure to try it the icelandic way "with everything" (eina með öllu).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hidrogenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Iconic but overrated”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hot dogs are famous in Iceland, and this is the most famous hot dog stand, but there really wasn't anything remarkable about this place. I love the texture of Icelandic hot dogs, but had more interesting gourmet hot dogs in other places around the country. Baejarins Beztu Pylsur is sort of a must-do in Reykjavik, and it's one of the cheapest meals you'll find in the city, but it's not as special as I expected.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

These hotdogs are delicious. We had it with 'everything'.

They're cheap, fast & tasty. Proper street food.

The Harpa concert hall is only a short walk away which is also well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Timberford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing