We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap and cheerful”

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Ranked #75 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
dumfriesshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

went here twice on our visit, great tasting hotdogs and we had them with everything although not quite sure what the sauces were but tasty all the same. nice to find somewhere thats reasonably priced, just be prepared to queue as its always busy

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janicejanroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,393
    834
    461
    129
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Delicious! Best hotdog I've ever had! Lots of tasty sauces and onions. Went back for a second. Busy, but great service and nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend. Didn't see Bill Clinton though :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nataliedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Maybe it's something in the sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had these hot dogs in May when we visited. We quite frankly thought they were delicious. We were really hungary....we each only had one, but, we each could have eaten another. We loved the crispy onions, a staple of Scandinavian hamburger/hot dog topping, and the remaining "works"! The place was very busy with the picnic table already filled with others, so we stood to eat. No problem. On our last night in Iceland after 17 days and some wonderful meals throughout Iceland, we were staying in Hafnarfjordur. We tried to go out to dinner, but were turned away at 2 restaurants who recommended yet another place as it was the Seamans Holiday. As we were trying to find the 3rd place while walking...we found a hotdog stand. Perfect....we got 3 hotdogs with the works...delicious, but not quite as delicious as those served at this stand. Maybe it was something in the sauce.....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sinaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Hotdogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A fun place to stop off for a quick snack- the hotdogs are hot and fresh and involve an unusual combination of mystery sauces, fresh and crunchy fries onions which was all very tasty. The staff were also very friendly and pretty handsome too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably the worst hot dog I've ever eaten”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Why would anyone wait in line for this boring junk? Yes, it is cheap compared to all the other outrageously overpriced food options in Reykjavik, but for what you are actually getting it is STILL a ripoff. I don't think I could make a more tasteless or uninteresting hot dog at home if I tried. Pass!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanks9596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnarag, Manager at Baejarins Beztu Pylsur, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Im so sorry to hear that you didn't like about our hot dogs, I am really interested to get in contact with you and hear specifically what you didn't like, please contact me at ragnar@bbp.is

We are always looking for things that we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing