We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Overrated”

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Ranked #73 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
457 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,315 helpful votes
“Good but Overrated”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I liked the hot dogs but were a little underwhelmed. We got hot dogs with everything. The combination of ingredients worked very well (especially the fried onions). The hot dog itself, though, was pretty generic. We couldn't tell that it was made with lamb - tasted like a regular old hot dog. Hard to beat the prices, however.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,418
    850
    468
    131
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
332 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hot Dog”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This is truly one of the best hot dogs in town and maybe anywhere in the world. Order it just like it comes ("the works") with the onions, sauce, ketchup, mustard, etc. Or it is also good plain, as the hot dog itself is very tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robogator0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quick and delicious”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Delicious hotdog (made with lamb). Get it with the works. Love the fried onions. Line can be long but it goes quickly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BornwithPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Hot dog!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This has to be the busiest 'restaurant' in Reykjavik. Why? Great value, great food, simple as that. Other restaurants that you pass by, one or two people in it, however, from morning to early evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MB201065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Keep making them until your hands get tired"”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

That was what one of my mates said to the guy behind the counter. We ended up here around 3 or 4 am pretty intoxicated - so take this review for what its worth. We loved the hot dogs, especially the crunchy onions and the sauce they put on top. Between 3 of us, we spent about $40USD on the dirty dogs lol. And, I will add, there were no ill after effects of the hot dog buffet....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chirag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing