We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Yummy”

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Ranked #77 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cheap and Yummy”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am not a hot dog lover but I had to check this place out since reviews raved about how good it was. It is indeed very yummy! You should try at least one while you are there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,497
    907
    502
    134
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best dog in Iceland”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We sampled hot dogs all around Iceland and I preferred these the best. There always seems to be a line
here. If you need a snack or a quick cheap meal, this is the place.

The Icelandic hot dogs and accompaniments are different from other hot dogs I have had.
Be prepared for something unique and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I am sorry, but I cannot see why this hot dog stand has the international fame that it has. The roll was by far the worst bread that we had tasted in Iceland, being sweet and with the texture of cotton wool. The hot dog was tasteless and the sauces were over sweet and thin. The best bit was the crunchy onion. (The boiled sausage that we had at home last night with chicken was far more tasty).
With the restricted time that we had in Reykjavik, it was a wasted meal. I understand that some people might like this food but I could not recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Old Tyme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I Wish I Had One Now”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A couple of days into my trip I stumbled on this hot dog cart with a large line. I didn't realize that it was the famous hot dog stand. It was so delicious. If you get one with everything (recommend) it comes with crunchy onions and two kinds of sauce. With a coke it costs 500Kr ($4), such a deal. I thought about it all the next morning and couldn't wait for lunch to get another. The dog does have lamb in it, which give it a rich flavor. There is only one small picnic table and no cover, so if it's raining it's not the best place to be.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2Reise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Is this really an Icelandic favourite??”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

If this is Icelands favourite dish then im appalled! We tried to say we'd tried.... Nothing special... A warmed hotdog in a small bun with tasteless gunk on top!?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emmashaw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing