We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class street meat!”

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Ranked #33 of 92 Quick Bites in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The reviews and hype around this place are warranted. The hot dog itself is nothing special but it is the toppings that make these dogs special. You MUST order them with everything in order to see what all the hype is about.
There is always a line of locals and tourists alike and that's always a good sign!
Don't miss out on a good cheap meal or snack at this spot when spending anytime in Reykjavik!

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,899 - 3,903 of 4,738 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

Had read a lot about this place and went in search of having one of the famed hot dogs on my first day in Reykjavik. I was not disappointed. The hot dogs definitely taste different than they do in the US and the crunchy and fresh onions are a great addition. I wasn't too crazy about the brown sauce that was loaded on top heavily, but with less of it after I wiped some of, it tasted great. I miss those dogs already. At 300 kr, it's great value! Especially considering it cost me on almost 400 kr for a small coffee anywhere I went.

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chatterbox-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

At first we couldn'r find this place until a couple days later when we finally just bit the bullet and asked a local. He was a young guy and very friendly and VERY eager to tell us where this shack was. There wasn't much of a line (it was raining and cold---imagine that) but epople zipped in and out, and the service was very quick. We had been spending so much money on dinner that this was a most welcome treasure. The hotdogs come with "everything," unless you specify otherwise. And i believe the hotdogs themselves are a mix of lamb, beef and pork. They are served with a brown mustard (almost like a mild honey mustard), a remoulade sauce, chopped raw onions and french-fried onions. It was amazing--I'm sorry to see some bad reviews on here. It was tastey, cheap and maybe it was the ambience of eating hotsdogs in Reykjavik outside in the rain...but i really loved it and I count it as one of my defining Iceland moments.

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank queenchristina32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Having read about this place on tripadvisor we just had to seek it out. It is a tiny shack on the egde of a car park and there was quite a queue when we arrived. However the lady serves quick and we didn't have to wait long, ISK 300 for a dog and coke. Glad we ordered 2 each and didn't have to queue up again. Smashing!

Date of visit: April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MICHELIN-STAR-CHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

If you are in Reykjavik, go try the hot dog here and ask for it with everything. At the end of the day, it is just a hot dog, but being a Chicagoan, I like encased meat, and the toppings they put on here are unique. Way different than anything offered in Chicago. Worth a visit and the 280 kr.

Date of visit: April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dinkle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing