We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant restaurant down by the old harbour”
Review of Hofnin

Hofnin
Ranked #21 of 463 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant down by the old harbour”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Ate her twice during a recent long weekend in Reykjavik. Excellent food and service with the set menu being particularly good value. Doesn't look much from the outside but it's really nicely decorated within. I would go back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    251
    63
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best meal in Iceland”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our Airbnb host recommended the Hofnin as her favorite restaurant in Reykjavik and I would have to agree. It was the best Icelandic food we had during our stay. It's a homey place with a great view of the harbor. The food was superb -- not cheap, but not as expensive as many of the inferior restaurants we found during our stay. We order a variation on seafood -- mussels, salmon, an excellent smorgasbord that included smoked whitefish and gravlax. We couldn't pass up dessert which was also excellent. Highly recommend the Hofnin.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Here in this out of the way place is this wonderful seafood restaurant that sits right next to the harbor. The service was great and the food was even better. This is a must go to place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I visited Hofnin with a friend and from the get-go, the service was amazing. The owner chef actually greeted us and brought us to our tables, which was very nice. The food was delicious and the suggested beers were great. I don't drink beer but the staff showed me a very nice one. The food was delicious and I will be going back next time I am in Reykjavik. Thanks for the great time!

Helpful?
2 Thank Elskan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great, fresh seafood with a great view of the harbor! A nice, quaint setting to end a day full of busy sight seeing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaminaHendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofnin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing